We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cream tea, but no clotted cream”

Monties Cafe & Guesthouse
Price range: US$7 - US$18
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: At Monties we offer clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation, together with a fantastic breakfast! We are open daily, serving breakfast, lunches, afternoon tea, drinks and homemade cakes. We always aim to use as much local produce as possible for our dishes. Monties also have a great wine list so you can enjoy a glass of wine and watch the world go by!
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Popped in for cream tea, which was ok. I don't really know what cream tea is like in Windermere but it's not the best I've had. The tea was good, the scones were warmed which is nice and came with some fresh strawberries. I didn't really like the fresh cream though. For me, scones have to be eaten with clotted cream and unfortunately they didn't have any when I asked. The scone itself was ok.

All in all, nice place to stop but nothing special.

Thank swctraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah C, Owner at Monties Cafe & Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm afraid the clotted cream is not a selling poit of the Lake District, traditionally jam and cream but Monties touch is the fresh strawberries and has proven to be very popular.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 152 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

We visisted Monties Cafe twice during our weekend visit and the staff were very warm and welcoming and their sausage butties were delicious. A great stop-off point in a very pretty location and worth a visit if you're passing

Thank GemCheshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah C, Owner at Monties Cafe & Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. Two visits in one weekend - our sausage butties clearly have a draw! Maybe on your next visit you could come and stay with us. We do hope to continue to welcome you to our cafe and I will be sure and pass on your comments to our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We have always found the service efficient and friendly, the food is good quality and reasonably priced and I love the chandeliers! Where did you get them?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 573denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah C, Owner at Monties Cafe & Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2015

Denise from Bolton, you may be interested to know Monties in Bowness is currently undergoing a transformation and as such the chandeliers you so admired are being replaced - if interested in them, please email or telephone us at Monties.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We saw in the window that they did afternoon tea for 2 for £9.95, We thought we might as well try it at that price.
Wow!!! Nice big cup of coffee and tea, with a big fresh warm scone and the usual butter jam and fresh cream with a nice touch of fresh strawberries in a little pot.
Well worth the money!!!!! I was also looking at other plates of food coming out, and they all had plenty on.
Defiantly give a try I don't think you would be disappointed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah C, Owner at Monties Cafe & Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we are delighted you enjoyed Afternoon Tea at Monties. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed at a hotel nearby and there breakfast was not very good. We stumbled across Monties and were so happy we went back the next day! The poached eggs are amazing and service was really good too

Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah C, Owner at Monties Cafe & Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review and we are delighted you enjoyed our breakfasts so much. Hopefully we can entice you to stay with us on your next visit to the Lakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monties Cafe & Guesthouse also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Monties Cafe & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing