We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Above the Bay
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Royal Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
White Lodge Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
15
4
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
4
3
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at this lovely dog friendly B&B. Would return again anytime and would not hesitate to recomend to anyone. A few minutes walk from Bowness centre, spotlessly clean rooms, good breakfast and an ideal base for exploring the lakes.
Bowness is very dog friendly, plenty of places to eat and drink with your dog. Shame Trevor and Claire are selling up.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donkeylasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Stayed here on our way up to Scotland and on our return journey. Great outlook across the lake from the huge balcony. Rooms were spacious, very comfortable, very clean and cosy, with great en-suite facilities. Breakfast was delicious and everything done to make our stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This was the third time we had stayed at Above the Bay. We visited with friends and had two double rooms, overlooking the Lake and with patio doors leading out onto a lovely patio area.

The rooms are clean, breakfast provided by Trevor and Clair set us up for the day and to return late afternoon and sit out on the patio with a bottle of wine fitted the bill perfectly.

Thank you Trevor and Clair for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: The Swift and Tern rooms overlooking the bay were very good with direct access to the patio.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed over for one night & we are going to stay again, We found Bowness a nice place to stay over & there was plenty to see & do, the boat trips are worth a go. At night time we ate at the "Ship Inn" nice meal & dogs are welcome. The B&B is very clean & well maintained with parking. The room has everything you need to relax after a days sight seeing, slim TV mounted on the wall, a settee, power shower & a great view of the bay from the balcony.
The breakfast is really nice :)
Over all the B&B is in a great location, clean high standard rooms at the right price, parking & with a warm/friendly welcome

Room Tip: We stayed in the room called "Teal"
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Great bed & breakfast cannot fault this B&B have stayed now about 4 - 5 times and would go back everytime. Perfect location just down some steps and you are right there in the centre and breakfast is always a friendly atmosphere and lovely food. Very clean and comfortable rooms and they have a great family room.
On a lovely clear day the view is amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilda88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews