We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb holiday. wish could stay for a few more days”
Review of Above the Bay

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Above the Bay
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“superb holiday. wish could stay for a few more days”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

it was our first experience at a B&B, & it ws well worth it. we were a it sceptic of the concept, but having driven around Scotland & landing at windemere, we had got a fair idea of what to expect.

Above the bay, actually surpassed all our expectation. it is quite a cozy little place, actually, just a couple of minutes walk from the bowness. with 4 large guest rooms, with two (including ours) run by trevor & his wife. the advantage of the B&B was that it has the personal touch & trevor made all efforts to make our stay comfortable. he guided us well about the town & things we could do with our 2 kids. even though we had researched & planned well, yet his inputs helped.
wish we could stay for a couple of days longer, but had to leave for Manchester since there was no tour show on friday hence we had to be back on Thursday, cutting short our trip by a day.

oh yes, must thank trevor for the lovely breakfast, which also took a bit of an extra effort since we were vegetarians
my next visit is surely booked at "above the bay". & surely deserves 3-4 days, for the B&B as well as the place - windemere. there's so much to do

Room Tip: for a B&B it is a great place, with superb location. actually can get to see the lakes & the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pravinism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    4
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Me and my husband have just returned after a one night stay at this B&B. Great location, very clean room and lovely breakfast. Owner very friendly and welcoming. Would recommend and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed for one night. The owners were away, met by their friend who was friendly and helpful. The suite was comfortable but the decor was a little twee for me. My issue were with issues relating to stuff toys on the beds and carpet in the bathroom . Good powerful hot shower. The noise from the pipe work may disturb light sleepers.

Tea and coffee available in the room. I enjoyed my breakfast fruit, yoghurt, cereals, juice but ate alone as I had a early start. However my family ate at the only dinning table and shared with other guests. They enjoyed their cooked breakfast.

The B/B is a very short walk from the centre but many steps involved., Could be a problem if you have mobility problems. Separate access from the balcony which was helpful with bags and not disturbing other guest and a excellent view, lovely to sit out in the evening.
Having access to the local spa was a added bonus.
Ideal location for exploring Bowness.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ushi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Great location close to the centre with all of it's pubs and restaurants, shortcut up an down the private steps shared with the B&B next door.

Clean room with old fashioned décor, including carpet in the bathroom, a stuffed toy on the bed and an interesting selection of pictures. But having said that we could not fault it for value for money and the fact that it is dog friendly. Would definitely stay again for the location alone now that we have got over the shock of having to share the breakfast table with six complete strangers!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

just returned from a two night stay at this great B/B with our dog and two grandchildren very clean food was delicious and the owner very friendly would recommend to anyone. great location and everywhere was dog friendly .The only snag was the short cut down to centre was having to climb the stairs back upto the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at this lovely dog friendly B&B. Would return again anytime and would not hesitate to recomend to anyone. A few minutes walk from Bowness centre, spotlessly clean rooms, good breakfast and an ideal base for exploring the lakes.
Bowness is very dog friendly, plenty of places to eat and drink with your dog. Shame Trevor and Claire are selling up.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donkeylasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavendish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Stayed here on our way up to Scotland and on our return journey. Great outlook across the lake from the huge balcony. Rooms were spacious, very comfortable, very clean and cosy, with great en-suite facilities. Breakfast was delicious and everything done to make our stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Nagoya Country House
The Nagoya Country House
#24 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holmlea Guest House
Holmlea Guest House
#33 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
May Cottage
May Cottage
#16 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Above the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Above the Bay

Property: Above the Bay
Address: 5 Brackenfield, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Above The Bay Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing