We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Posh Faulty Towers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lindeth Fell Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Posh Faulty Towers”
Reviewed 26 June 2011

My Husband & I went for dinner on the 24th June.
It is a beautiful hotel & I can't say the staff aren't friendly but I felt some of them including the owner could dress more smartly, her daughter however was dressed very smartly.
The food was good but not outstanding, we both had duck which the owner said the chef would be delighted we both wanted served pink but when it came it was cooked through.
The puddings were very old fashioned & heavy so we both opted for the cheese board which was good.
The service was very good but I felt some staff were overdoing it with the smiling & it all felt rather false.
There was little ambience as all the other diners where much much older than us & we felt we had to whisper but we had a lovely view from our table.
I can see from the visitors book that everyone loves staying here & looking at the photos of the rooms I can see why.
I expect it will be perfect for us in about 30 years!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nellybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    26
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
50
167
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

have just returned from a 3 day stay at lindeth fell.
the visit was to celebrate my partner's birthday and also to propose(which she accepted)
the hotel is beautiful,the gardens wonderful,the welcome excellent(superlatives galore already),the room spotless,the food worthy of/no equal to a london restaurant.
polite staff,immaculate service(down to the lit candle that came with the cheese course,plus a rendition of happy birthday from kate our waitress)a very polite and helpful young lady.
sheena the manageress and her staff have a hotel they can justifiably be proud of,and one i will have no hesitation in returning to in the very near future.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j51midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bunbury
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed here during our recent trip to The Lake - we loved it. Room was spacious and tastefully decorated. Staff were very accommodating - considering we arrived late due to break-down. Restaurant was exceptional and service to match. Overall, the feeling was one of "being home" except up were waited on hand-and-foot. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharks_r_ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We have just returned from out stay at Lindeth Fell where we celebrated our 30th Wedding Anniversary. What a fabulous place, it was like staying with family in the country rather than a hotel. The staff are first class, without being obtrusive, they have a wealth of knowledge and nothing is too much trouble. We received a very warm welcome on arrival. We had booked the 'Windermere' room. Wow !the view over the gardens and the Lake were just breathtaking, we have never spent so much time looking out of a hotel window, watching the ever changing landscape. Our bedroom was very large and spacious beautifully furnished and decorated, with a very 'comfy' bed. The bathroom was immaculate complete with power shower, bath and nice toiletries. the room was extremely quiet with no noise from the rest of the hotel. We had booked dinner on all our three nights stay and the food was beautiful, english cooking at it's very best with an extremely good choice, and very well balanced. The breakfast was just as good with a choice from the buffet of juices, cereals yoghurt and fruit, followed by a cooked choice ordered at the table. Overall we could not find any fault with this hotel, this was a rare gem situated in a beautiful part of the Lake District.

Room Tip: Master rooms have lovely views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheffield_Lucy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

This country-house hotel is an extended Victorian-style country house located in a lovely sylvan setting with views over Windermere. The decor is traditional with deep sofas, floral wall papers etc. The welcome from the two sisters who run the house couldn't have been warmer. Our room, up two flights of stairs had a great lake view, was spotless and had all mod con; bathroom equippped with a small shower cubicle - but powerful shower. Very comfortable bed. The dining room was again very traditional in decor, and in menu choices. Breakfasts included a full range of freshly cooked breakfast dishes; outstanding - e.g. lovely smoked haddock with a perfect poached egg. Dinner menu was traditional British in approach, mostly very good (especially a starter of pan-fried chicken livers with bacon and shallots), although the main dishes we found were slighly variable. For our taste one or two of the meat dishes were a bit overcooked, somewhat on the dry side! But that is probably our taste; many guests were of an older generation who probably expect that style. Fish dishes were good. Excellent wine list, at very reasonable prices. But a very nice stay, quiet, terrific service and hospitality.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor and splash out on a lake-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

A family reunion of 10 enjoyed a fabulous weekend at Lindeth Fell, a real country house hotel near Bowness with excellent facilities, staff and meals. It was a real pleasure to 'live' here in great comfort. Highly recommended and will return. Geoffrey Lord.

Room Tip: Discuss with the owner on booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscovererEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

This was our second visit to Lindeth Fell and it won't be our last - so relaxing!
Wonderful room and views, efficient caring and friendly staff, delicious food, relaxing ambiance and beautiful grounds - I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for relaxation, elegance and comfort. Just what we needed to recharge our batteries.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wabbodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
971 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,878 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,364 reviews
1.0 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Fell Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Fell Country House

Property: Lindeth Fell Country House
Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lindeth Fell Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindeth Fell is a luxury bed and breakfast, perfectly located overlooking Lake Windermere. This is the ideal hideaway for those wanting to relax and get away, but at the same time enjoying the convenience of being a few minutes from the hustle and bustle of Bowness with its boutique shops, cinema and lively restaurants. Lindeth Fell is an elegant Edwardian country house, with high ceilings and beautiful architecture, stylishly restored with both period and contemporary features. There are 14 individually designed bedrooms each with its own modern bathroom with luxury amenities. Many rooms have superb lake views. Start the day with a delicious breakfast served in our sunny dining room, overlooking 7 acres of beautiful gardens. On arrival enjoy complimentary tea and scones in the lounge by the fire, or on the sunny garden terrace. Platters are available to pre order, and we have a fully licensed bar for residents. We can provide picnics for walking days, and offer complimentary passes for use in a nearby spa & pool. We provide a friendly relaxing place for you to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lindeth Fell Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lindeth Fell
Lindeth Fell Country House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing