We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lindeth Fell Country House
Certificate of Excellence
cumbria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely stay”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I wanted a hotel with a single room which are few and far between. The Lindeth Fell has 2. I had the one on the second floor and was absolutely delighted with it. Beautifully furnished with a large shower bath and spotlessly clean. I could not fault it. The hotel was very welcoming with a lovely open fire and very attentive staff. My bag was carried up to my room for me. I was given all the information I needed regarding dinner and breakfast times. I came down to dinner at 7pm and was greeted with a menu full of wonderful choices. My table for one had a view over the lake and attentive but unobtrusive service. My melon starter was just the right size followed by a very tasty cherry sorbet. The main was pork fillet cooked to perfection. Dessert consisted of tiny doughnuts with a vanilla panna cotta, strawberry sorbet and strawberry soup. Delightful. All this was followed by a very tasty decaf coffee and chocolate covered kendal mint cake. The whole one night stay was superb. Breakfast was just as tasty as dinner. I am a porridge fan and my bowl came with cream and honey - just perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elvisaaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    26
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
165
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

me and my partner stayed at this hotel one night only as a part of our visit to the lakes. such a great location and beautiful views overlooking the lakes. staff were very friendly and the management was excellent very friendly people.. when we first arrived the manager lady was very organised and she gave us all the details about the area..she also offered us to have the key for the night if we were to come back after 11.00pm.. the room was as we expected very clean overlooking half of the lake and half of the gardens.. it was old fashioned decorating which we liked because thats shows the real character of this house.. our room had a modern bathroom.. room was very cosy and warm and bed was comfy..we didnt try dinner so cant comment on it but breakfast was nice and healthy, good selection of hot and cold breakfast and the waiters and waitresses were very polite and professional.. we will definitely come back for the summer..
Zeynep&Simon

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canarijaune00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This is an incredibly special and welcoming hotel, which went out of its' way to make an initimate family lunch to celebrate my mother-in-law's 90th birthday into something that, in her words, she "will remember forever".

Many others have mentioned the extraordinary position, and the stunning house. The dining rooms are filled with light (even on a grey day!), and the food is exceptional - as well as very well priced.

The Kennedy's make the experience so personal, scatterng mini 90's and "Happy Birthday" table decorations, on the table (with less than 24 hours notice, and with no special request to do so), and generally making us feel very special indeed.

Having come here for lunch, I am now looking forward to coming back to stay here with my husband!

Thank you so much to the Kennedy's (I hope you will see this) for making today's lunch celebration an absolute triumph.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southkensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

we stayed here in March and were looked after really well by the owners. the food is second to none and the welcome and warm friendly atmosphere made us feel we were friends visiting rather than paying guests. there was a problem with the water pipes which made a noise in our room and had developed during our first afternoon, the owners moved us to another room to sleep that nigt and when the issue was sorted we were back to our original room which was comfortable and larger.
as we had a problem we were given free drinks in the evening of our second day and some tea and shortbread biscuits which was a really nice gesture on the part of the owners.
we will certainly return here for a visit and will look forward to it very much.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramblerWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I've stayed here three years running now, and I don't know of a nicer or better value small hotel anywhere in the UK. The Kennedys and their staff are utterly delightful. Nothing is too much trouble, everyone is extremely efficient, and there is an atmosphere of welcome and calm civility as soon as you walk in. It is in a most beautiful spot, overlooking Lake Windermere with the hills of Coniston behind it ,and and the garden is spectacular. The food, both at breakfast and later in the day, is consistently good in an unpretentious way with generous portions, and the wines are varied, well chosen and extremely good value. Some of the bedrooms are quite small, but the there are two extremely nice sitting rooms downstairs, one with a spectacular view and with some unusually interesting books to read. It has won many awards, both locally and nationally, and it absolutely deserves them. I strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: There are only 2 single room, and only one ("Loweswater" not "Derwent"), I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline E, Manager at Lindeth Fell Country House, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Richard C,
That to me says it all – guests that return to stay! What a lovely read, thank you!
We always look forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Fell.
Best wishes,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a short break at Lindeth Fell. A fabulous location with amazing views. The owner Sheena & her family are super hosts that cater for your every need. Expect to have your every need catered for but take some comfy clothes as the food is so good your waistline may expand during your stay.
The room was so clean & the views amazing. We stayed in Rydal room & the view was lovely.
Thank you to Sheena & her family and a special thank you to her staff. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClareM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline E, Manager at Lindeth Fell Country House, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear ClareM4,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
We are very lucky to have the most amazing views!
The chefs are superb and we are very proud of our hardworking housekeeping team.
Hopefully we will welcome you back soon.
With best wishes,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

I first visited Lindeth Fell around 2 years ago and have not had the opportunity to repeat it since, spite visiting the wider Cumbria area at least monthly (work commitments dictate hotels in other areas). Then, it was excellent. I was therefore anticipating my return, and was not disappointed. It remains superbly well run, spotless, quiet and very welcoming and professional. It is a credit to its owners and its staff.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajm123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline E, Manager at Lindeth Fell Country House, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Ajm123456789,
Thank you for such a lovely review.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.
With best wishes,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
958 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
980 reviews
1.0 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Fell Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Fell Country House

Property: Lindeth Fell Country House
Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lindeth Fell Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindeth Fell is a luxury bed and breakfast, perfectly located overlooking Lake Windermere. This is the ideal hideaway for those wanting to relax and get away, but at the same time enjoying the convenience of being a few minutes from the hustle and bustle of Bowness with its boutique shops, cinema and lively restaurants. Lindeth Fell is an elegant Edwardian country house, with high ceilings and beautiful architecture, stylishly restored with both period and contemporary features. There are 14 individually designed bedrooms each with its own modern bathroom with luxury amenities. Many rooms have superb lake views. Start the day with a delicious breakfast served in our sunny dining room, overlooking 7 acres of beautiful gardens. On arrival enjoy complimentary tea and scones in the lounge by the fire, or on the sunny garden terrace. Platters are available to pre order, and we have a fully licensed bar for residents. We can provide picnics for walking days, and offer complimentary passes for use in a nearby spa & pool. We provide a friendly relaxing place for you to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lindeth Fell Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lindeth Fell
Lindeth Fell Country House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing