We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old- fashioned hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lindeth Fell Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Stayed here for one night for my Parents' eightieth birthday celebration and they loved it! The weather was absolutely gorgeous which added to our enjoyment of the stunning views from the hotel. We were greeted warmly by the Manageress and made to feel at home straight away. The large master bedroom occupied by my parents was beautiful as were the other rooms, although one of them was rather small, but as past reviewers have commented, the place was spotless.The evening meal was delicious,with attentive service.Some light background music would have created a bit more atmosphere but with eight of us chatting away, it didn't really matter. Breakfast was very good and served until nine forty five: very civilised! The hotel is definitely a place for older people and was just right for my Parents. It is a well- run and beautiful establishment.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eliza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2010

Its hard to add any more comments which about this Hotel/Lodge/B&B that havent all ready been said in other reviews, all of which i would agree with. We booked the Windermere room which did give us great views of Windermere Water[Not a lake if you have seen QI] along with the old man of conistion. The owner/receptionist/restaurant manager/bar maid/ seem to be involved in the complete running of this hotel, which shows through. There is a great deal of consideration and care given to all people who stay with a good eye for finesse. Try the afternoon tea and it will be like stepping back in time, you could almost be enjoying it with Miss Marple, fresh leaf team, home made scones, really enjoyable. Evening meal was fantastic, we didnt have it the second night of our stay but i can report it did change quite considerable, so you would never get bored of eating in. Breakfast which wasnt huge, but plenty for us, was very thoughtful and i must admit the best scrambled eggs i have ever eaten. I know this fact, that we will be staying again here, treat yourself and stay in a little slice of good old England.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haltoi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We visited Lindeth Fell for a birthday/anniversary break and could not have chosen better. We agree with all of the positive reviews posted here from other guests and found those comments to be the same for our stay; so what else to add? Our personal experience:
Arrival: Drove from Scotland through constant rain and glad to find free parking at the door, dashed into hotel. Lovely cosy panelled hall, cheery fire and an even warmer welcome from Dominic who gave us a brief tour and carried our luggage to our room, Ennerdale on first floor. Reasonable size, cosily furnished, traditional in style, great view. Small bathroom, well equipped, fluffy towels, toiletries and everything immaculately clean.
Settling in: Went down to lounge, log fire, beautifully and comfortably furnished. Served wine from dispense bar, settled onto couch facing out through large windows. And then the rains stopped and the view changed as a wonderful sunset built up. See photo.
Dinner: Served pre dinner drinks in lounge while choosing from menu. Taken through to beautifully laid table. Both of us had different dishes and found the food first class in taste and presentation. Friendly efficient staff. When these folks ask you if everything is alright, they actually hang around for an answer and spend time listening. No have a nice day attitude here. Manager or owners personally ensure everyone is being taken care of. Coffee and Kendal mintcakes set out to help yourself and take into lounge to relax and chat before bed.
Bedtime: Up to room to find bedside lamps lit and bed turned down. Even jammies thrown across bottom of bed were placed neatly on pillow, how lovely. (I kept shifting them before dinner each night as a test, but they were always located and placed on the pillow) Quiet, peaceful, comfortable bed, slept like a babe.
Breakfast: Amazing. Wonderful buffet and wide choice cooked to order menu. Again, they find no problem in meeting requests to mix all the available options to build your own choice of breakfast. I found the Lindeth grill perfect; probably the best tasting, best cooked "full breakfast" I have had anywhere. At last fried eggs as they should be; not the almost perfect circle of pure white with round anaemic yolk but rather perfectly cooked with a slightly frilled petticoat edge just colouring. Large meaty mushroom, I suspect done in butter, and carefully grilled sausage, bacon and black pudding. As much toast as you wish, marmalade, teas or coffee
The standard was maintained in absolutely everything,for the three days we stayed.
Negatives: None really.
We will likely join the many guests who apparently return time and time again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fifer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

From the moment we stepped through the front door and into the inviting reception hall, we felt truly and warmly welcomed. Sheena Kennedy is a witty, friendly, charming lady who did everything and more to make our visit memorable. Wet coats and shoes were put in the drying cupboard, and luggage taken up to our rooms, while she showed us around. Any request or question was cheerfully answered. Thanks also to her Mom, another wonderful lady with a great sense of humor (and who makes delicious jams and marmalades!) The rooms are lovely, with beautiful fabrics and furniture, views of the gardens and Lake Windermere, and everything is sparkling clean. One of our rooms had a small bathroom, while the other had a large one, so it just depends on the room. It feels just like staying at a friend's country house (if one was lucky enough to have a friend with a country house!) The landing for the ferry that takes you over the lake to the bus that goes to Beatrix Potter's Hill Top house is within walking distance, and the walk is lovely (uphill on the way back, so we opted for a taxi back!) We had dinner at the house one night. It seems a bit pricey at first glance, but the food, the service and the setting is so perfect and impeccably done, that it was well worth it for a little treat. The staff is great. Thanks to them all for their good humor. I would definitely save my pennies to stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peachycoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

I found this hotel on the internet and having read the reviews decided to give it a go. Although we know Windermere quite well we have never really stayed in this area.
Well what a find...! its situated just outside busy Windermere in the Bowness area but is a little "Oasis". The hotel is quite high up the hillside so has fantastic views of Windermere Lake and further over to "Coniston Man" in the distance. The morning sunshine and evening sunsets were beautiful. It is set in 7 acres of landscaped gardens including a small tarn with beautiful water lilies which you are welcome to wander around.
The hotel has only 14 rooms but I think that this adds to its charm. Many of the people we spoke to were repeat guests who have been returning for years. We had the "Thirlmere" room and although it wasnt huge it was very well furnished with ensuite but being on the front of the building we had views to die for. We loved it.
The staff were more than helpful and you were treated like a personal house guest in a lovely county house. The food was excellant with a choice of at least 5 starters and main courses each night. There were 5 courses including coffee and mints at the end. Breakfast was from cornflakes and fruits to the full english with a delicious home made marmalade (made by the owner !) for your toast. We bought 3 jars to bring home it was that good.
We found the hotel to be delightful and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. If you like peace and quiet in a tranquil setting with good food and fantastic views... give this a go. We will definately be repeat guests very soon.
Oh and for anyone who cant leave their Laptop at home they have free Wifi too...
Thank you to all the staff for making our few days so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALLNATT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Lindeth Fell Country House to celebrate a wedding anniversary and my birthday.
The location: about one mile outside Bowness so too far too walk out into town. Easy to find with Sat Nav.
The hotel: lovely old country residence set up on an elevated position with good views towards the west, with partial views of Lake Windermere through the fir trees. You walk into a panelled hall which sets the atmosphere for this family run hotel. In the winter (Oct onwards) there will be a fire in this hall. You will quickly feel there is some RAF connection, this coming from Mr Kennedy, (who I believe retired after many years in the service as Air Commordore), but who died quite recently
The hotel is run by the Kennedy family assisted by several really nice young people of various nationalities, who all make you very welcome. The atmosphere is one of informality. Mrs Kennedy is lovely and so are two of her daughters who run the hotel.
Parking: adequate and very secure
The rooms: beautiful and well appointed without being over the top. Bathrooms are very good withy super power showers. There is an on-going refurbishment program (not that you would know) to ensure the hotel is kept up to modern standards. Flat screen TV's to the rooms. Carpets very clean.
The grounds: about 7 acres, and lovely to walk around
Facilities for the young ones: good golf putting extending over the lawns, plus croquet, so the children can show their competiive skills. Also a small pond to discuss water life.
Board games too for other family fun.
Food: the breakfast is really good, the Lindeth Grill is just the right size. Most tables are by the window with views towards the west.
Dinner: after pre-dinner drinks in one of the two nice lounges (with a fire in one lounge during winter),...dinner dress can be semi-formal if you wish,..or just as relaxed and casual. Both forms are not out of place
Service: excellent and cheerful without being stuffy
Value: not cheap but then this is a lovely hotel to come to
Would I come again?: most certainly,....and in the winter months,..would prove a relaxing break with the dark winter nights just to mainly hang out in the hotel, enjoy the news papers, many magazines and books,.....and just take life easy for a few days and renew your friendship with that special loved one. After a lifetime of flying the world and living in some of the best hotels there are,...this is a good home in the Lakes.
Captain & Mrs John Mitchell, Tynemouth, NE England

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Small family run country house hotel just a few miles away from the crowds in Bowness. Set in peaceful gardens overlooking the lake. Well located to tour the area. Two very comfortable lounges with many books/magazines. Terrace/summerhouse with lake views. Bedrooms very well appointed with everything you could want. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good value for the quality and comfort. Dinner not inexpensive (£36) but also good value for the quality with service to match; breakfast and afternoon teas also excellent. Only criticism is that dining room a bit stuffy/lacking atmosphere in the evening - not sure how to improve this. Clientele mostly 'mature'.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Downsouth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 mi away
Lindeth Howe
Lindeth Howe
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,010 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,073 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,447 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Fell Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Fell Country House

Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £148 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lindeth Fell Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindeth Fell is a luxury bed and breakfast, perfectly located overlooking Lake Windermere. This is the ideal hideaway for those wanting to relax and get away, but at the same time enjoying the convenience of being a few minutes from the hustle and bustle of Bowness with its boutique shops, cinema and lively restaurants. Lindeth Fell is an elegant Edwardian country house, with high ceilings and beautiful architecture, stylishly restored with both period and contemporary features. There are 14 individually designed bedrooms each with its own modern bathroom with luxury amenities. Many rooms have superb lake views. Start the day with a delicious breakfast served in our sunny dining room, overlooking 7 acres of beautiful gardens. On arrival enjoy complimentary tea and scones in the lounge by the fire, or on the sunny garden terrace. Platters are available to pre order, and we have a fully licensed bar for residents. We can provide picnics for walking days, and offer complimentary passes for use in a nearby spa & pool. We provide a friendly relaxing place for you to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lindeth Fell Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lindeth Fell
Lindeth Fell Country House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing