We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful comfort, care at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Sedbergh, cumbria
1 review
“Wonderful comfort, care at its best”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The food was imaginative, memorable and very tasty, the room was very comfortable and catered for our needs, the facilities were suited to our needs. The hotel staff were very supportive, professional and always ready to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. The only flaws we found is that the dinning staff didn't speak English as well as needed, and during dinner and breakfast, at no time were we asked if everything was to our satisfaction. Also another table at breakfast had their plate whipped away whilst their partner was still eating!! Maybe they do things differently abroad. This did not detract from our stay but it did let the hotel down as everything else was very well done to a high standard. Can't wait to go back again!!

Room Tip: Go on line for deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2011
Dear Melanie M
Thank you for your kind words I have passed your comments on to the team at the hotel who are all so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
I have passed your comments on to Sunil the Restaurant Manager who take on board all feedback from the Hotel guests and has implemented a new training scheme with in the Restaurant for all the waiting staff, so on your next visit to Lindeth Howe Hotel you will enjoy you dining experience even more.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the very near future

Kindest Regards

Tony Holden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    229
    73
    23
    21
See reviews for
134
619
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My mom and I stayed for three nights at Lideth Howe. The most impressive features are the 30 acres of gardens . . . we found ourselves every day taking books outside to read in the gardens, and walking around the property, just to enjoy the landscaping and flowers. We also very much enjoyed the top-notch food; we had both breakfast and dinner in our package, and thought the dinners in particular were excellent, with changing and creative menus. The rooms were fine; we had a garden view. (I would suggest not having windows open with lights on at night, though, as we attracted quite a few tiny bugs the night we didn't draw the curtains while lights were on.) The only drawback (for us) is that we did not have a car, and the hotel is not very close to the city center. I think everyone else staying there had a car. It was really an idyllic location for relaxation after a hectic week in London.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becwa62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Dear becwa69

Thank you for kind review of Lindeth Howe Country House, David our gardener will be thrilled that you have enjoyed you afternoons in the garden.
I have passed on your lovely comments about the Restaurant to Marc our Head chef and Sunil the Restaurant Manager and the hole of the team at the hotel.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe next time you are in the Lake District.

Kindest Regards
Tony Holden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

First class in every way ,faultless service food excellant Main rooms very comfortable

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irvingnothumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Dear Irvingnorthumberland

Thank you for your great review of Lindeth Howe Country House, I have passed on your lovely comments to all the team at Lindeth Howe and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe in the very near future.

Kindest Regards

Tony Holden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We had a two night dinner, bed and breakfast package which proved to be one of the most economical parts our our two weeks in England and Scotland. The hotel is exceptionally comfortable with gracious public rooms and an absolutely superb restaurant. The gardens are beyond beautiful and the view of lake Windermere is fantastic. The only little quibble is that room windows can't be opened fully which somewhat limited airflow.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnikikw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Dear pnikikw

Thank you for your lovely review of Lindeth Howe Country House, the team and I are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I have pass on your great comments to David our gardener who is over the moon that you enjoyed your time in the garden.

Kindest Regards

Tony Holden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We spent a couple nights here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The restaurant was wonderful and we certainly enjoyed the splendid breakfasts that set us up for a day walking. Set within view of the lake this property once owned by Beatrix Potter is a perfect base for a relaxing, pampered weekend. We'll be going back soon!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roubiliac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Dear Roubiliac

Thank you for your lovely review of Lindeth Howe Country House, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, I have passed on your great comments to Sunil our Restaurant Manager and Marc our Head Chef who are both so pleased you have enjoyed your time in our Restaurant.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe in the very near future.

Kindest Regards

Tony Holden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

If you want classy, country house, English chintzy comfort this is the hotel for you.
We came for a night without kids last weekend to celebrate our anniversary and it was absolutely perfect. Our room(204) was spacious and had stunning lake views which were even more spectacular in the fantastic weather. Sitting on the garden terrace drinking champagne before dinner was lovely . The service was friendly, good humoured and discretely attentive. We ate later and did not feel the service lacking in any way, on the contrary there seemed waiters everywhere!
The food was delicious with some quirky extras thanks to the adventurous French chef...the chocolate mousse in the tiny flower pots were inspired and in keeping with the Beatrix Potter feel. Ham hock foie gras starter was amazing.
Finally the personal touch provided of the anniversary card in our room made it a memorable and very special 24 hours. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claireh98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Dear Claire98

Thank you for your lovely review of Lindeth Howe Country House, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Lindeth Howe and yes the views from room 204 are certainly spectacle, I do agree drinking Champagne in the garden is a very nice way to spend an hour or so before going into the restaurant. I have passed on your great comments to Marc our Head Chef and Sunil our Restaurant Manager and who are both so pleased you have enjoyed your evening in the restaurant.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe in the very near future.

Kindest Regards

Tony Holden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTLAND
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Didn't actually STAY at Lindeth Howe.....but having visited the hotel earlier in the year, decided that this was the perfect venue for a special birthday dinner with family and friends.
Over all, I felt well looked after - the meal selection was very good indeed and the ambiance....relaxed and understated. One comment I would make was regarding the service - pre-dinner, dinner and post dinner....I had occasion to chase up waiters/attendance a couple of times...whilst there is a balance between not being rushed during such an evening, and being 'forgotten' about....this needs a bit of watching and attention.
I would certainly recommend to potential diners to try this venue, and to make it the perfect venue for a special occasion, the service needs 'sharpening' up just a little.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celtic-Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear Celtic wanderer. Thank you for your reveiw about the Lindeth Howe Hotel. I have taken your comments on board and will look into them. We at the hotel will look forward to your next visit.

Paul Holden

Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,857 reviews
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
994 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
564 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Property: Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Address: Longtail Hill Lindeth Drive, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. Guests are also invited to relax by our indoor pool, sauna, fitness room and indulge themselves in various body treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing