We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This is the fourth time we have stayed at this lovely hotel. We like room 111 which has a great double aspect. The hotel offers such good value for money, comfort, very good food, excellent staff and wine that is reasonable priced the black shiraz being my favourite. The hotel is located in a wonderful position, great for walking and site seeing. We visit the lakes whenever we can, Lindeth Howe makes for a great stay.
Thank you to all the staff looking forward to seeing you all again soon.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Sparkey_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Dear sparkey 55

Thank you for your kind words about the Lindeth Howe hotel.
We at the hotel aim for high standard of service and a freindly and comfortable stay for all our guests. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us agian and will look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kindest regards

Paul Holden
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,002)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

771 - 777 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

Had afternoon tea at this hotel as a treat for my mums 70th birthday. It was lovely. We also got a tour of the hotels rooms by a very friendly member of staff. Will definitely be booking a few days break here !

Room Tip: 105 was my fave room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank voodoosue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Dear Voodoo sue

We at the Lindeth Howe are so happy that your mum enjoyed her 70th birthday at the hotel and are pleased that you enjoyed the afternnon tea.
We at the hotel pride ourselves on high standards and are always willing to help any of our guest.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your show round of the hotel and will look forward to you staying soon.
Regards

Paul Holden
Assistant MAnager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

A special offer at this hotel gave is dinner B&B for £75 and at anything near this price you can't go wrong. You can park your car for two or three days and find great walks and places of interest all straght out of the hotel. Food is excellent. The hotel's gardens are a little neglected and subject to a small amount of road noise, but not enough for any great concern. The modern extension blends in well from the outside, but inside is a characterless business type accommodation. Perfectly clean & comfortable. But not special. The dining room & bar are also a little commecial, (gas log fires etc) but service and food are impeccable. At £75 you can't go wrong. I'll be back at anything close to that offer.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Dear Phil of cilcain

Thank you for your comments about the Lindeth Howe. I will pass them on to the heads of department.
We will look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Regards

Paul holden
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Got a good deal on Travelzoo for 1 night stay, afternoon tea , dinner, B& B and a bottle of wine ! Nice welcome on arrival - with someone taking the trouble to show us around and then up to our room (106) with a lovely lake view. Hotel well looked after - beautiful gardens, lovely seating areas inside and out and rooms to very good standard. All staff were attentive and helpful. The afternoon tea was a real treat and then a nice relax in our room in nice fluffy white dressing gowns provided. Weather was poor that particular weekend , but it didn't matter to us, snuggled up watching TV or using the free wi-fi.If you are wanting a bit more activity nice indoor pool and sauna available. The evening meal was a revelation- you've seen it on Masterchef but now you're really eating it ! Very imaginative dishes with excellent combinations of flavours, each dish a voyage of discovery ! We really enjoyed the whole experience and thank all at Lindeth Howe.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeandVerity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Dear George & verity

We at the hotel are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Lindeth Howe so much, even though the weather let you down. Thank you for your kind words about the food in the restaurant, I have passed on your comments to Sunil our restaurant manager and Rob our head chef, who will let the rest of there teams know.

Once again thank you and we will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Paul Holden
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I have never been disapointed with the food or service at Lindeth- how, the location is an extra bonus.Check in is at 3pm and checkout at 11.00am so a nice lazy brakfast served in the room starts the day. As a special suprise for hubby we spent one evening including dinner and breakfast for an amazing £150. The hotel has a pool and sauna which on this ocasion we did not use.They also have a onsite salon offering massage ect.The bedroom was large with a bed filling a quarter of the room . The room was located on the ground floor, very acessible for guests with a wheel chair or reduced mobility.The room was spotless clean, tea and coffee are available.The one disapointment which I had was being seated near a large group of middle aged people who were rather loud during the whole evening. I love to see people enjoy their evening ...but.... not so I cant hear my husband talking to me... or me to him. I should have asked to be seated elsewhere and I am sure it would not have been a problem to the staff.. next time I will.I did request a quite area for couples on the hotel response questionaire. On whole I cant wait to go again, if your a foodie, like comfort and being waited on hand and foot look for the special offers for the hotel and dont hesitate.

Room Tip: I have no preference for room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mini66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We have visited this hotel as a couple a few times over the past couple of years and have never been disappointed, so this time decided to bring our friends along with us. The staff were as usual were friendly and helpful. The food was outstanding, great value afternoon tea that is described as small (sandwiches, cake & Scones) but any more and we would not have had room for that terrific dinner mmmm!!! The menu was so yummy we all had trouble deciding what to choose, Hopefully we will be back soon. Definitely not one to miss x

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Gill H
Thank you for your lovely review of Lindeth Howe Country House, it’s great to hear that you and your friends have had an enjoyable time with us. I have passed on your kind words to all the Team at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe in the very near future.
Kindest Regards
Tony Holden
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We had a lovely stay over the Easter long weekend at the hotel. Its got lovely grounds on the hill nearby Bowness, which is also a lovely setting on the river. This was a trip with our daughter who is coming on two.

The room itself was huge (was the garden room) with a nice modern TV. It looked like it had two single beds pushed together to make a king bed, I say looks because I normally hate that but the bed was very comfortable and I didn't notice it at all! The rooms are clean and the cleaners are, well, they're ninjas. We would go to breakfast and the room would be made up by the time we were back. Also a good turn down service which is a nice touch. Had a nice view out the room which I would post but camera troubles prevent.

The hotel is a conversion so stairs up and down, but a maximum of two floors so manageable. It has a nice looking pool, although we didn't find time to try it. It has ample parking which is near the hotel.

Breakfasts are excellent, with a great mix of buffet options, or cooked to order. The full english breakfast is excellent and while the dining room is busy in the morning the staff are both efficient and friendly. They were especially helpful with out little one.

The hotel doesn't allow children in the dining room in the evening but if you book they will set up the full restaurant experience for you in the library. This was actually quite fun as the parents had a sort of collegial discussion as their offspring were either polite or misbehaving a little. This was well worth it. Take them at their word, its a small space so book this either before you get there or immediately on arrival. If I had a criticism for this area its that they time their table service as you would want in a nice restaurant. I would suggest asking parents if they want to accelerate it a little to get people in and out and little ones to bed.

Food is great, although I would advise to order anything like steak a level or two below what you want. Ie Medium-well should be medium or below. My steak was incinerated. This isn't unique to this hotel, seems to be relatively common in the North (inc Scotland).

Limited room service menu but the cheese plate is incredible value. Great range of cheeses, grapes etc and very reasonably priced!

One downside of visiting with children (their were lots of families who seemed to be having a cracking time) is that there are other guests who commented that they didn't expect kids in the dinning room for breakfast (no doubt mentally referring to the dining restrictions) and we had a complaint to our room when our daughter woke up in the morning and cried inconsolably for 10mins. These didn't ruin our experience but would make me wonder if this is perfect for a young family. Given its proximity to the lake and lots of great things to do with kids I wouldn't be too put off, and on balance would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Dear Greg2003

Thank you for your fantastic reveiw on the Lindeth Howe Hotel. We at the hotel pride ourselves on a very high standard of customer care, professionalism and friendlyness and are so pleased when shows through. I will pass on your comments to all our staff at the hotel (even the ninja housekeepers if i can catch them).

I will look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.

regards

Paul Holden
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,471 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,964 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Address: Longtail Hill Lindeth Drive, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £84 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. Guests are also invited to relax by our indoor pool, sauna, fitness room and indulge themselves in various body treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing