We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't rate too highly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Can't rate too highly”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday. We took advantage of one of the special offers of £75 per person dinner bed and breakfast. A really friendly young lady showed us around the hotel and took us to our room, 111 on the first floor with a lovely view of the gardens and you could just about see the odd boat sailing on the lake. As the room was on the corner, we had views front and side. The young lady happily took our suitcase for us up the stairs. Everything was immaculate with bottled water and lovely bath robes, White Company toiletries. I saw someone remarked that the inside looked like an old people's home but it felt comfortable and charming with the high ceilings and cornices and lovely views over the gardens. Sitting before dinner in a comfy chair, looking at the menu and being served drinks and canopes was a lovely treat. Dinner was absolutely delicious, with many wonderful flavours. I cannot praise the staff too much, nothing was too much trouble and they easily got on the wavelength of my husband who likes 'plain' sauces etc etc!! He even tried food that he thought he wouldn't like and loved them. Again the lovely dining room overlooking the gardens was a pleasure. Returning to our room, the turndown service was great, and especially the choccies on our pillows! Breakfast had an excellent choice. Location is very handy close to Bowness and surrounding areas. I enjoyed a swim in the pool, although a bit small, it didn't matter as there was only one other lady there. Loved the sauna.

Only 'small' thing I would say was that when we arrived a bit early we weren't offered the option to sit in one of the lounges or take afternoon tea as is mentioned in the brochure. Although we were offered to leave our luggage. Think it could have been a bit friendlier, but everything else far outweighed this.

I have heard about these boutique hotels and their prices but you can't fault good English service and politness, and attention to detail. You can see that I really am a convert to Lindeth Howe! We feel totally relaxed, after a busy few months of house renovations we really needed a break. Thank you LIndeth Howe, if you will have us back we will return!

Room Tip: Our room was 111 and only had one adjoining bedroom. It had views to the front and the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbasec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Abbasec

Thank you for your fantastic response about the Lindeth Howe Hotel.
We are so pleased that you choose our hotel to celebrate your husbands 60th birthday and that you enjoyed it so much, espeically after your busy last few months.
We at the hotel pride ourselves on high standards of service and friendliness to our guest, and are so pleased when it is recognised by others.
We will look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon.

Regards

Paul Holden
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    226
    71
    22
    20
See reviews for
133
610
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

There is nothing wrong with this hotel but after a week of travelling in the Lake District we had been spoilt. The hotel makes a big deal about being the ex-home of Beatrix Potter but in reality the building has been expanded beyond recognition and now feels nothing like the beautiful home seen in the old pictures. Its more like a bland city centre hotel on the inside now and the gardens were very neglected once you got past the immediate terrace areas. The lounges had the feel of an old people's home about them, crammed with high-backed chairs. The food was ok but very bland and expensive for what it was at over £50 per head for the evening meal. Looking at other reviews I'd suggest this hotel would appeal more to older clientele who would appreciate the location close to Bowness and Lake Windermere and the main tourist attractions. If you are younger and more energetic skip Bowness and head out to the hills proper where there are hundreds of more authentic country house hotels and luxury boutique B&Bs for the same price. (£175 for 2 people B&B on Sat night in May)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank advice55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Advise 55

Thank you for your comments about the Lindeth Howe Hotel.
We at the hotel our so sorry that your experience of the Lindeth Howe it didn't live upto your expectations. I will pass on your comments to our heads of department ofr then to look at.

Regards

Paul Holden
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

This is the fourth time we have stayed at this lovely hotel. We like room 111 which has a great double aspect. The hotel offers such good value for money, comfort, very good food, excellent staff and wine that is reasonable priced the black shiraz being my favourite. The hotel is located in a wonderful position, great for walking and site seeing. We visit the lakes whenever we can, Lindeth Howe makes for a great stay.
Thank you to all the staff looking forward to seeing you all again soon.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sparkey_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear sparkey 55

Thank you for your kind words about the Lindeth Howe hotel.
We at the hotel aim for high standard of service and a freindly and comfortable stay for all our guests. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us agian and will look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kindest regards

Paul Holden
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Had afternoon tea at this hotel as a treat for my mums 70th birthday. It was lovely. We also got a tour of the hotels rooms by a very friendly member of staff. Will definitely be booking a few days break here !

Room Tip: 105 was my fave room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voodoosue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Voodoo sue

We at the Lindeth Howe are so happy that your mum enjoyed her 70th birthday at the hotel and are pleased that you enjoyed the afternnon tea.
We at the hotel pride ourselves on high standards and are always willing to help any of our guest.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your show round of the hotel and will look forward to you staying soon.
Regards

Paul Holden
Assistant MAnager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

A special offer at this hotel gave is dinner B&B for £75 and at anything near this price you can't go wrong. You can park your car for two or three days and find great walks and places of interest all straght out of the hotel. Food is excellent. The hotel's gardens are a little neglected and subject to a small amount of road noise, but not enough for any great concern. The modern extension blends in well from the outside, but inside is a characterless business type accommodation. Perfectly clean & comfortable. But not special. The dining room & bar are also a little commecial, (gas log fires etc) but service and food are impeccable. At £75 you can't go wrong. I'll be back at anything close to that offer.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Phil of cilcain

Thank you for your comments about the Lindeth Howe. I will pass them on to the heads of department.
We will look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Regards

Paul holden
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Got a good deal on Travelzoo for 1 night stay, afternoon tea , dinner, B& B and a bottle of wine ! Nice welcome on arrival - with someone taking the trouble to show us around and then up to our room (106) with a lovely lake view. Hotel well looked after - beautiful gardens, lovely seating areas inside and out and rooms to very good standard. All staff were attentive and helpful. The afternoon tea was a real treat and then a nice relax in our room in nice fluffy white dressing gowns provided. Weather was poor that particular weekend , but it didn't matter to us, snuggled up watching TV or using the free wi-fi.If you are wanting a bit more activity nice indoor pool and sauna available. The evening meal was a revelation- you've seen it on Masterchef but now you're really eating it ! Very imaginative dishes with excellent combinations of flavours, each dish a voyage of discovery ! We really enjoyed the whole experience and thank all at Lindeth Howe.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeandVerity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear George & verity

We at the hotel are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Lindeth Howe so much, even though the weather let you down. Thank you for your kind words about the food in the restaurant, I have passed on your comments to Sunil our restaurant manager and Rob our head chef, who will let the rest of there teams know.

Once again thank you and we will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Paul Holden
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbrian in cumbria
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I have never been disapointed with the food or service at Lindeth- how, the location is an extra bonus.Check in is at 3pm and checkout at 11.00am so a nice lazy brakfast served in the room starts the day. As a special suprise for hubby we spent one evening including dinner and breakfast for an amazing £150. The hotel has a pool and sauna which on this ocasion we did not use.They also have a onsite salon offering massage ect.The bedroom was large with a bed filling a quarter of the room . The room was located on the ground floor, very acessible for guests with a wheel chair or reduced mobility.The room was spotless clean, tea and coffee are available.The one disapointment which I had was being seated near a large group of middle aged people who were rather loud during the whole evening. I love to see people enjoy their evening ...but.... not so I cant hear my husband talking to me... or me to him. I should have asked to be seated elsewhere and I am sure it would not have been a problem to the staff.. next time I will.I did request a quite area for couples on the hotel response questionaire. On whole I cant wait to go again, if your a foodie, like comfort and being waited on hand and foot look for the special offers for the hotel and dont hesitate.

Room Tip: I have no preference for room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mini66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Property: Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Address: Longtail Hill Lindeth Drive, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. Guests are also invited to relax by our indoor pool, sauna, fitness room and indulge themselves in various body treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing