We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely,lovely,lovely.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely,lovely,lovely.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

After a horrendous journey driving through torrential storms we finally arrived at Lindeth Howe and was greeted by welcoming staff and shown to our very comfortable room.The evening meal was superb and served by courteous staff who knew how to serve which might sound silly but we are sure that people will understand as in some hotels it seems that staff are not sufficiently trained .On opening the curtains the next morning we were greeted with sunshine and a spectacular view. The breakfast was good and the afternoon tea a delight, sitting in the gardens just enjoying the wonderful ambience.
We booked this break through Secret Escapes and was a bit dubious as it was our first time with them, how wrong to even doubt. The whole weekend from arrival to departure was an absolute joy made extra special by the lovely attentive staff, the skill from the kitchen staff with their food and of course the beautiful hotel and grounds and the surrounding areas that just lifted your hearts. How could anyone not enjoy being there,we loved every minute and will definately return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NisaField
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Dear Nisafield

Thank you for your lovely review about the Lindeth Howe Hotel. We at the hotel pride ourselves on high standards and a friendly service and are so pleased to here when our guest have enjoyed there stay with us. I will pass on your comments to Sunil, Marc, Elaine & Niki our heads of department, who will let there teams know that you enjoyed the service they all give.
I will look forward to seeing at the Lindeth Howe in the near future.

Regards

Paul Holden
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    222
    71
    21
    20
See reviews for
131
604
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

We were very confused about where to stay in the Lake District since there were so many locations with so many hotels. We chose Lindeth based on tripadvisor reviews and were not at all disappointed . We felt welcomed at all times .
The rooms are impeccable and have a wonderful cosy feel . The only drawback is that accessible rooms situated on the ground floor do not have a view.
We took the breakfast and dinner option and enjoyed a delightful spread even though we are vegetarian .
We also enjoyed dressing up for dinner and the formal atmosphere at meal
Times . Definitely worth the price .
Would love to visit again

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manishagkannur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
dear Manishagkannur

Thank you for choosing The Lindeth Howe Hotel for your stay in the lake disrict. We at the hotel pride ourseleves on high stadards and a friendly service. I have passed on your comments to all the heads of department, who will let there team know how much you enjoyed your stay.
I will look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the lake disrict.

Regards

Paul Holden
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

What a surprise!!! Went not expecting this, so wonderful surprise to have such lovely service (table waiters) and the food was superb. Well done Chef!!! There was four of us in the party. I don't mind admitting that we had a taste of each others food.
Started with beautiful gravalax served with fresh proper bread. nicest sorbet I have had. Pork (very tender) with air dried ham lovely sauce and beautiful veg, puddings were absolutely delicious. The best thing was the food just left you with wonderful tastes for ages after.
Delightful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Dear Anne a

Thank you for your kindest comments about the Lindeth Howe Hotel. I have passed on your comments to our Head chef Marc and our restaurant Manager Sunil who will let there staff know how good you thought everything was during your stay.

Regards

Paul Holden
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

My wife and I spent two wonderful days at the Lindeth Howe and even though the weather was awful we could not fault it. The staff were so welcoming and couldn’t do enough to help. The food was fabulous both in the evening and at breakfast, and afternoon tea was a real wow. We felt totally relaxed even though we spent a large amount of time in the hotel and pool, and when we did have a chance to venture out we found lovely, well kept gardens.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverfox468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

My wife and i stayed two nights in room 122 through secret escapes.Enjoyed every minute.We seemed to pick the only sunny days in june!!! The staff were all excellant,the room was spacious and very clean,the huge bed was very comfortable.The food was exceptional.The gardens were well maintained and very relaxing to use.Bowness town was about a mile away.The only two negatives for us were the drinks were expensive (we would have spent more if cheaper)and we only had a view of the car park from the bedroom window,two very minor negatives....we will stay again,we loved the hotel and loved the lake district.(Btw one of the channels on the room tv was a live feed of the swimming pool !!!!!!)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan-SharonT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Dear alansharontaylor

Thank you for your wonderful comments about the Lindeth Howe Hotel. We at the hotel pride ourselves on a high standard and friendly service, and are so pleased when guest pass on there comments. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and will look forward to seeing you in the future.
The cctv of the pool area is for your convience so that you may check if the pool is free for you to use.

Regards

Paul Holden
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Nothing was too much trouble, from greeting, to the gardener to the restaurant team. One of our best ever experiences. The foods was excellent and brilliantly served from unexpected canapes to the petit fours. It really was a gastronomic experience.

Our room had excellent views of the garden and Lake Windermere, It was spacious, comfortable and peaceful.

Great indoor pool, and extensive and interesting gardens. Easy to park and and also that wonderful experience where everyone wanted to please you.

We will go again.

Room Tip: Room facing Windermere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beech79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We booked into the hotel with friends for a one night stay bed breakfast and evening meal £170.
Upon entering the front door the room to the left being the library was being used as some sort of craft area, which gave us the impression of a nursing home. Not a great start.
We were allocated our room straight away which was acceptable but nothing special.
The evening 5 course meal started with the complementary aperitifs which were pleasant, however upon entering the dining room we were then given the amuse Bouche which appeared to be tepid packet soup served in a small coffee cup. The main course was average but made worse by the fact that the staff got the order wrong twice. The puds were ok but nothing special.
Breakfast was adequate but not a great selection.
All in all I feel the price paid did not reflect the service given.
Oh one more point there is a web cam in the pool area which can be accessed by all the hotel rooms, very bizarre. WHY.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flexibler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Flexiber

Thank you for your comments about the Lindeth Howe Hotel. We are so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I have passed on your comments to our heads of department who will be investigating this matter futher. We pride ourselves on high standards and are so disappointed you didn't experience this during your stay.

I do hope you will return to Lindeth Howe in the future and would be grateful if you would contact me direct to make a future reservation.

Regards,

Paul Holden
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Property: Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Address: Longtail Hill Lindeth Drive, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. Guests are also invited to relax by our indoor pool, sauna, fitness room and indulge themselves in various body treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, HotelsClick, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing