We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Weekend Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our Weekend Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

On the 22nd to the 24th July we had a weekend break here, and as a Travelzoo special we were a little sceptical as to what it would be like, well we need not have worried because the hotel itself was charming, the staff were superb in every department from check in, lounge, retaurant all the way to check out.
As it was a Gourmet offer again we were sceptical, but worry not the food was superb on both nights, and again the staff were never pushy but always around should you require anything at all.
I would really recommend this hotel and will certainly go again in the future.
Thank you Lindeth Howe for a super stay.
Colin and Vera Hardy

Room Tip: ask for a King size BED and if possible Windermere view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinHardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Dear Colin Hardy

Thank you for your kind words about the Lindeth Howe Hotel. I have passed on your coments to the heads for department, who will let there teams know you enjoyed your stay so much.
I am so glad that we exceeded your expectations and will look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards

Paul Holden
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    217
    70
    21
    18
See reviews for
125
594
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

I thought that our recent stay in St. Andrews would never be bettered until I arrived here. Typical english lakes weather, cool and wet in July, did not detract from this wonderfull hotel. Everything from the welcome to goodbye "thanks for coming" was superb. If you take the afternoon tea, book your dinner for 21:00, because it will keep you going till then! As for the dinner, the portions are perfect, the selections just sufficient and the quality fanfastic, finished off with coffee and a wee treat in the lounge. All the rooms are great, but if you can book a front view so much the better. The whole atmosphere in the hotel is heavenly, once the home of Beatrix Potter her self, apperently a bit of a "sour face", would be cheered by the lovely staff. Do not be put off by the round about twisty road to the hotel, there is a short cut through the garden and along a quiet lane that brings you out at the Bownes Bay Marina in just 15 minutes and a further 15 minutes along the lake shore brings you to the steamer piers at Bownes. A perfect place for a fairy tale romantic holiday or weekend break.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gooders47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Gooders 47

Thank you for your kind words about the Lideth Howe Hotel. I will pass on your comments to our heads of department who will let there teams know how much you enjoyed your stay.
We will look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the lake district and hope the wether is better for you.

Regards

Paul Holden
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

During a family summer vacation to the UK, we were fortunate to stay at this beautiful Bed and Breakfast on our last night. Even though our stay was short, we really enjoyed our stay and loved the wonderful dinning and hotel grounds. Our room was among the best we stayed in during the trip. We had a beautiful view in a fairly spacious room. Anything you could need was in the room... coffee, tea, and cookies. There was a slight mix-up in the rooms upon our arrival, but it was corrected quickly by the hotel staff.

Since we only stayed one night we didn't get to explore the grounds thoroughly, however we did take some pictures outside in the gardens and had tea in the afternoon. We had dinner in the dining room, which was marvelous. Everyone loved what they got and we were served the BEST sticky toffee pudding I have ever had (still dreaming about this one). Breakfast was also good. I really liked the chocolate croissants.

Since I didn't pay for this stay, I cannot comment on the prices. I did think the dinner was a bit expensive, but the service and food quality were excellent. All in all, I wish we got to stay here longer. The Lake District looked lovely and it would be nice to come back and explore the area a bit more. If I come back, I will definitely try to stay at this establishment again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfoodie1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Travelfoodie 1018

Thank you for your wonderful comments about the Lindeth Howe hotel. I will pass on your comments to the Head chef Marc & Our restaurant manager Sunil who will inform there teams how much you enjoyed your stay.
We will look forward to seeing you on your next visit to England were hopefully you will be able to stay longer and be able to enjoy our facilities more.

Regards

Paul Holden
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

I stayed at this property with a hiking group. Unfortunately, I was sick and had to stay in my room to rest. The staff at the hotel was very nice. The restaurant staff was exceptionally nice and helpful. The room was beautiful with amazing views.

Room Tip: For a better view, get a room on the second floor overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJSanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear SJSanders

Thank you for your kind words about the Lindeth Howe Hotel. I will pass on your comments to the hotel staff. We will look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to England and hope you will be able see what the lake district and the hotel have to offer.

Regards

Paul Holden
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

After a horrendous journey driving through torrential storms we finally arrived at Lindeth Howe and was greeted by welcoming staff and shown to our very comfortable room.The evening meal was superb and served by courteous staff who knew how to serve which might sound silly but we are sure that people will understand as in some hotels it seems that staff are not sufficiently trained .On opening the curtains the next morning we were greeted with sunshine and a spectacular view. The breakfast was good and the afternoon tea a delight, sitting in the gardens just enjoying the wonderful ambience.
We booked this break through Secret Escapes and was a bit dubious as it was our first time with them, how wrong to even doubt. The whole weekend from arrival to departure was an absolute joy made extra special by the lovely attentive staff, the skill from the kitchen staff with their food and of course the beautiful hotel and grounds and the surrounding areas that just lifted your hearts. How could anyone not enjoy being there,we loved every minute and will definately return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NisaField
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Dear Nisafield

Thank you for your lovely review about the Lindeth Howe Hotel. We at the hotel pride ourselves on high standards and a friendly service and are so pleased to here when our guest have enjoyed there stay with us. I will pass on your comments to Sunil, Marc, Elaine & Niki our heads of department, who will let there teams know that you enjoyed the service they all give.
I will look forward to seeing at the Lindeth Howe in the near future.

Regards

Paul Holden
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

We were very confused about where to stay in the Lake District since there were so many locations with so many hotels. We chose Lindeth based on tripadvisor reviews and were not at all disappointed . We felt welcomed at all times .
The rooms are impeccable and have a wonderful cosy feel . The only drawback is that accessible rooms situated on the ground floor do not have a view.
We took the breakfast and dinner option and enjoyed a delightful spread even though we are vegetarian .
We also enjoyed dressing up for dinner and the formal atmosphere at meal
Times . Definitely worth the price .
Would love to visit again

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manishagkannur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
dear Manishagkannur

Thank you for choosing The Lindeth Howe Hotel for your stay in the lake disrict. We at the hotel pride ourseleves on high stadards and a friendly service. I have passed on your comments to all the heads of department, who will let there team know how much you enjoyed your stay.
I will look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the lake disrict.

Regards

Paul Holden
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

What a surprise!!! Went not expecting this, so wonderful surprise to have such lovely service (table waiters) and the food was superb. Well done Chef!!! There was four of us in the party. I don't mind admitting that we had a taste of each others food.
Started with beautiful gravalax served with fresh proper bread. nicest sorbet I have had. Pork (very tender) with air dried ham lovely sauce and beautiful veg, puddings were absolutely delicious. The best thing was the food just left you with wonderful tastes for ages after.
Delightful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Dear Anne a

Thank you for your kindest comments about the Lindeth Howe Hotel. I have passed on your comments to our Head chef Marc and our restaurant Manager Sunil who will let there staff know how good you thought everything was during your stay.

Regards

Paul Holden
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Property: Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Address: Longtail Hill Lindeth Drive, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. Guests are also invited to relax by our indoor pool, sauna, fitness room and indulge themselves in various body treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Agoda, Superbreak UK and TravelUp so you can book your Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing