We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Christmas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We have stayed at Lindeth Howe several times and this was our second 4 night Christmas stay. Yet again we were extremely well looked after, ate very good food of ideal proportions, slept in a comfy bed in a lovely room and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We have always found members of staff to be very good, friendly, and welcoming. This is a perfect place to stay in the Lake District and we expect to be back again for Christmas 2013.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet61_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

DearJanet61_12

Thank you for your lovely review of Lindeth Howe Hotel. Christmas is such a wonderful time of the year especially in the Lake District and it’s great to hear that you enjoyed our Christmas package.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the coming months as well as Christmas 2013 hopefully

Kindest Regards
Tony Holden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (990)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

689 - 695 of 990 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

We have just enjoyed our sixth stay at Lindeth Howe. Its location and stunning grounds with manicured gardens make any stay memorable. The open fires and the attentive, friendly staff make it difficult to leave. The restaurant fully deserves its 2-rosette status as the food is imaginative and extremely tasty. From breakfast to afternoon tea to dinner, we can honestly say we have enjoyed every morsel! It is difficult to fault anything with this hotel as the attention to detail is given the highest priority.

Room Tip: The delux rooms face the gardens and lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidSuttonSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Hello DavidSuttonSmith

as ever it was great to welcome you back to Lindeth Howe Country House, as we spoken about in the lounge before dinner you have been coming for six years and I been here for over seven now so we both must really enjoy coming to the Hotel.
I have passed on your comments to Sunil our Restaurant Manager and to Rob our Head chef who always like to get great feedback from our guests.

I look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.

Best Wishes
Tony Holden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Firstly we had booked a cottage in Outgate for a week from the 28th. We love The Lakes and visit several times a year. When reaching the cottage late Friday afternoon we found it extremely damp and it was with great disappointment we obtained a refund from the rental agent and left with nowhere to stay! Lindeth Howe is a favourite on my phone so made a call and found that we could have a room for a couple of nights. We love this hotel, it is a relaxed, homely, extremely well run hotel. The staff were very attentive and as always the food was excellent. This is a timeless property with plenty of charm.
Thank you Lindeth Howe for accommodating us so well, room 106 was perfect. Look forward to visiting during 2013!
Best wishes Jane & Mark

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sparkey_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Hello Sparkey_10

It’s great to hear that you had an enjoyable two night stay with us at Lindeth Howe and it’s good to know that we are one of your favourites. Next time you are thinking of coming up to the Lake District remember to think of Lindeth Howe first.

Best Wishes
Tony Holden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay, dinner, bed & breakfast, a wedding present. First time we stayed in a four star hotel and what an experience. The hotel itself was exclusive but homely. Excellent, friendly & helpful staff, made our staff a time we will always remember. Even though it was cold outside the welcome was as warm as the roaring fires in both of the lounges. The food both at dinner & breakfast was excellent The views of the gardens & windermere were breath taking. The room was warm, comfortable and had everything you needed for a perfect stay (even turning down the bed at night), wonderful service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stokebt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Hello Stokebt

Thank you for your wonderful review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel it great to hear that you enjoyed your first time with us and hopefully we will see you again in the very near future.

Kindest Regards

Tony Holden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I booked this hotel last minute for a one night midweek stay with my wife on the dinner bed and breakfast deal which included afternoon tea. We arrived about 1pm but our room was not ready so we were invited to wait in the snug little lounge beside the fire where we had afternoon tea which was lovely.

The first thing that struck us when we entered the hotel was the beautiful Christmas decorations throughout the public areas. The staff were friendly and pleasant in all areas of the hotel.

We came down to the lounge for a drink before our evening meal and enjoyed the canapes before being taken to the dining room which was very well presented. The food was lovely and we really enjoyed everything. We then retired back to the lounge for coffee which was served with three lovely little treats.

Our accommodation was a standard room which was perfectly adequate.Nothing out of the ordinary, just a good sized clean room with a massive bed - I think it was maybe two singles pushed together. Tea/coffee, TV, trouser press, iron etc. All good quality and in good condition.

Breakfast was buffet style for the cereals, fruit, pastries etc but waiter service for cooked food. Once again the quality of the breakfast was excellent.

Our only gripe would be with the pool/sauna. The pool is very small - I could push off from one end and reach the other without taking a stroke. The sauna was not working, although as I was leaving I overheard another guest saying he had asked for it to be turned on?? Very strange - but if their policy is to only turn it on when required I would have expected a notice displayed to advise guests of such an unusual arrangement. I should probably have queried this with reception but forgot to do so.

In summary - a lovely hotel with a really nice atmosphere, friendly staff and excellent food. I should probably give it only four stars because of the pool/sauna but that would be picky when everything else was so perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allymax27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

Dear AllyMax27

Thank you for you lovely Review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel I have passed on you comments to the team at the hotel.

Sorry about the mix up with the sauna when you signed it to the swimming pool we should of asked if you required the sauna.

And we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Tony Holden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We have just returned from a one night dinner, bed and breakfast deal which included afternoon tea with a glass of champagne. We heard about it via Travelzoo but when I phoned the hotel to check availability, they said they would match the deal. We arrived at lunch time but were told our room was available. We were in 118 which had a partial view of the car park but also a good view of the garden and the lake through the trees. The room was spacious and the bed absolutely huge. We walked into Bowness which took just over 10 minutes. After a walk round the shops, we returned for our afternoon tea, which was excellent. My husband said they were the best scones he'd ever eaten. We sat in front of the roaring log fire, very cosy. The evening meal was excellent. Canapés in the bar first then 5 courses followed by coffee in the lounge. The services throughout was excellent. We didn't use the pool in the end as it's very small and there were already two people in so would have been too crowded. All in all, brilliant value for money and we would definitely go back. Just a note, we could hear a bit of noise from the kitchens in room 118 but it didn't spoil the experience. If you want to lie in you might ask for a different room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PetaLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

Hello PetaLaura

Thank you for your lovely review of the Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel I have passed on your comments about the afternoon tea to Jenny our Pastry Chef who is really pleased that you enjoyed your afternoon tea. I’m sorry about the noise that you could hear in your room I have had Simon our Maintenance Manager to have a look were it maybe coming from and he assure me that he has fixed the problem.
It’s great the hear that you enjoyed your evening in our Restaurant and I have passed on you lovely comments to Rob our Head Chef and Sunil the Restaurant Manager
Best Wishes
Tony Holden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Just spent two nights at this wonderful Hotel. First class Hotel, room, service and food. Very clean and spacious room with a view over Lake Windemere. Located close to the Lake and walks. Very attentive staff. Excellent evening meals having a comprehensive menu. The Hotel will cater for special dietary needs, (gluten free meals). Warm and comfortable room. Wide choice of breakfast menu. We will visit again.

Room Tip: Lake side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnGrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

Dear JohnGrice

It's great to hear that you have had an enjoyable time with us at Lindeth Howe Hotel, I have passed on your kind words to the Team at the Hotel and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the coming months

Kindest Regards
Tony Holden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
726 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,033 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,447 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Address: Longtail Hill Lindeth Drive, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £124 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. Guests are also invited to relax by our indoor pool, sauna, fitness room and indulge themselves in various body treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing