We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night away on a deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Night away on a deal”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed 1 night at Lindeth Howe on a Travelzoo deal. We paid an extra £25 for a Saturday and £20 for an upgrade to a deluxe lake view room which was well worthwhile as we had a beautiful room with a gorgeous view over the gardens and lake beyond, so lovely to wake up on the Sunday morning to such a view! The staff were all so friendly and plenty of staff on hand. The hotel is a little tired In places, for example the carpet throughout the main reception and stairs/corridors but please don't let that put you off staying as everything else is excellent. The lounges are lovely with big roaring fire throughout the day and evening. The dining room is also lovely with many windows giving fabulous views over the lake and the dinner and we had was excellent which was included in the deal, it wasn't a set menu you could choose from anything off the a la carte some which had a slight supplement. We also had afternoon tea in the afternoon with a glass of bubbly, inc in our deal. All in all an excellent, relaxing stay. Very good value on the deal, we would definitely return whether with a deal or without.

Room Tip: Book a deluxe with lake view, well worth it as the views are beautiful. We stayed in the Potter room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cookiemamaManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Dear CookiemamaManchester
It’s wonderful to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us here at the Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Wishes
Tony Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    227
    72
    23
    21
See reviews for
133
614
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The hotel was very welcoming with a real fire in the well decorated lounge.We had afternoon tea which was extremely tasty and catered for my gluten free diet superbly,even having freshly cooked scones,jam and cream(which is a treat for me-not many outlets have gluten free scones!)
Bedroom was very clean,well decorated and warm with selaction of teas and coffees.
The only criticism is that the breakfast was a little bit disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcliff_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Dear Kcliff_12
Thank you for your review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. We do are very best to cater for all dietary requirements here at Lindeth Howe, it is a little disappointing to hear that your breakfast was not of the high standards that we set for ourselves, I hope this little disappointment will not prevent you from returning to the Lindeth Howe Hotel in the future.
Kindest Regards
Tony Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This was our third stay at Lindeth Howe and standards were as high as ever. The rain poured down and the wind blew as only they can in the Lake District but the hotel was warm, with fires in all the public rooms. The bedroom was immaculate, as was the bathroom. The food was excellent, both at dinner and at breakfast. All the staff were friendly and efficient. We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Hello Sue D

It’s great to hear that you have had another great stay with us at the Lindeth Howe Hotel and the Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the very near future.

Best Wishes
Tony Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Booked for afternoon tea here from a voucher we had for Christmas as our friends knew we liked our tea.On travelling be aware the sat nav sends you the wrong way down a private road with potholes, so make sure you get clear directions.On arrival the reception was not very clear and the receptionest failed to acknowlede us we were then left standing alone for some time.After being sent into the lounge we were given some very tired cardboard menus that clearly needed replacing.The waitress was very pleasant and asked us what sandwichs we would like.I enquired about the choice of teas available unfortunatly she had no knowledge of tea but she did say I could change it if I did not like it .The spread came out and was what I would expect however scones were rather over cooked.It was a shame that nobody checked on us during our visit .We enjoyed our company but not sure we were wanted as we did not feel the four star treatment

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at this lovely hotel. My wife and I wanted a nice short break at a quality hotel, secret escapes had this on offer at a very nice discount, so off we go.

A nice drive up the M6 and a shortish time later pulled up in front of the hotel, with a 1st impression of very nice thank you. We had hoped it might have been a little closer to Bowness, but never mind. Receptionist was very nice, but there wasn't really a reception, which was a bit odd, but fine. We were shown to our room and got settled in. Great room, massive bed and very comfy to. Loads of space, storage, great bathroom and facilities. Overlooked the rear of the hotel, so not the best view.

Afternoon tea was included on our 1st afternoon, with the deal, and we enjoyed the freshest cake and scone ever. We stayed on a b&b and evening meal deal, thankfully, as the food here is very expensive. Pizza and pasta it ain't, more fine dining. The food is lovely though. The menu didn't change over the 2 days, and there wasn't much choice to suit the wife, but I was fine haha. We didn't go hungry, quite the opposite in fact. All meals were of a very good quality, 5 course, so be prepared. All staff very friendly and polite throughout.

We had bad weather whilst there, of course, so we didn't get out and about as much as we wanted, but didn't let it spoil our stay.

Diet for a few days prior to your visit !!!

Thank you Lindeth

Room Tip: Ask for lake / garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Dear Ian H

Thank you for your wonderful reveiw about the Lindeth Howe Hotel. We at the hotel pride ourselves on high standards with a freindly, comfortable service and are so pleased when our guest's acknowledge this.
I will pass on your comments to Marc our head chef who will let his team know how much you enjoyed the food here.
I will look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon and i will try and order some sunshine for you.

Regards

Paul Holden
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

From the moment you walk through the large wooden front door into the welcoming hallway, you feel totally at home. The rooms are very comfortable and the food and service spot on. Can't fault this hotel in any way.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBillsSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Hello TheBillsSouthport
Thank you for your lovely review of the Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel great to hear that you had a great time with us and we look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel in the coming months
Kindest Regards
Tony Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Have stayed at this hotel before but on this occasion visited with friends for afternoon tea and one night stay.

Everything was just as we expected. The staff were very friendly and welcoming without exception. The hotel was warm and cosy , perfect place to relax on a cold snowy day.

The afternoon tea was delicious , top marks for the scones . Have got to say that the food here is excellent and the evening meal did not disappoint....beautifully presented and totally scrummy.

In all we had a lovely stay and it though it was short it was very sweet........the ideal venue for a meet up with friends , relaxing atmosphere, fabulous food and beautiful scenery .....to top it all off down came the snow ....just magical.

Thanks to all the staff.....we will be back .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear MargaretCumbria
Thanks you for your kind review of Lindeth Howe Country House its great to hear that you and your friend enjoyed your stay with us.
I have passed on your comments about the afternoon tea to jenny our pastry chef who is very happy with your feed back.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Lindeth Howe Hotel.
Kindest Regards
Tony Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,836 reviews
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
980 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,359 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Property: Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Address: Longtail Hill Lindeth Drive, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. Guests are also invited to relax by our indoor pool, sauna, fitness room and indulge themselves in various body treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing