We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ASSummer evening of delight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Breathtaking views added to the ambience of a warm summer evening when we celebrated a friend's birthday at this Country House .
From the start our visit flowed with a quiet charm .Drinks served on the lawn with yummy canapés ,then into the dining room for our meal .
The dinner was excellent from start to finish ..we asked for smaller portions and received them from efficient and friendly waiters
Because of the lovely weather we were fortunate enough to have coffee outside while watching a pink and peach sunset over the hills
Truly an unforgettable evening ...just as if we had been at friends for dinner
Yes e I'll go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorningEdinburghuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

597 - 603 of 991 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

just been to this lovely hotel for afternoon tea 4 two. it was wonderful . excellent value for money and in a beautiful setting. hotel staff all very pleasent and helpful. will visit again. weather helped as we were able to enjoy our tea outside., but it woul have been very nice inside such a lovely building

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek-SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Booked a night in a partial lake view room (at a supplement). When I booked I mentioned that it was my partner's birthday and wanted it to be a special treat for him.
Our welcome was distinctly lack-lustre and alas the room we were shown to was dated, dark, dreary and depressing. I'm sure you could have caught a miniscule glimpse of Lake Windermere if it had been possible to open the window more than an inch and stick one's head out but as it was we were looking across to staff caravans and the very unkempt gardens. Upon request we were (a tad reluctantly I felt) moved to a very nice room at the top of the house with a view of the lake which saved the day!
The hotel is not smart, elegant or in my opinion four star. It's more homely in decor and service is just not friendly enough.
The house must once have sat in beautiful extensive grounds with magnificent views towards the lake but the trees are now so high the view is diminished and the surrounding area quite built up with other houses. The grounds have such potential but the hotel clearly does not employ a gardener as they were in a terrible neglected and unloved state. Also at the front of the hotel are two aviaries full of poor little birds trapped in filthy conditions which I frankly found rather distressing!
The small indoor pool was full of local kids having a swimming lesson when we looked in and was not tempting enough to warrant a return visit to swim.
Dinner was quite enjoyable and I don't recall the portions being excessively small as other reviewers have mentioned but then the overall experience at Lindeth Howe was so unmemorable that very little stands out in my memory! Breakfast was quite good and the Spanish staff were very nice.
The only nod to my partner's birthday was a computer printed greetings card placed in the room sent "with Love" from the staff at Lindeth Howe! A nice enough gesture but rendered insincere by the somewhat inappropriate "love" to a customer who is a complete stranger! A complimentary glass of Prosecco would have put us more in celebratory mode!
Overall OK stay but with a final bill of £300 for one night, it was just not good enough and I wouldn't return.

Room Tip: Request a front facing room at the top to ensure a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank champagnesliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My wife and I had an overnight stay at this lovely hotel and spar.

The welcome was good and inviting, even though we were an hour early.

Our room was ready and after a short tour of the facilities we were taken to the room, which was spotlessly clean, a very good size, the bed was excellent, (as well as enormous) and there was a very nice bathroom.

The windows opened fully, so that there was a good flow of air, and perhaps the only downside was that it overlooked the kitchen entrance, meaning that there were plenty of early morning comings and goings

The swimming pool was a modest size, but very pleasant. Changing facilities are limited, and a slight complaint was that there were no towels for us when we got out. After a telephone call to reception and requests to a couple of staff we were finally able to change.

Afternoon tea was good and nicely served.

We ordered the evening meal over a pre dinner drink in the bar, and I have to say that the food was exquisite and the restaurant service first class.

Many of the guests were foreign, and all appeared very happy with the hotel.

Breakfast was excellent and served by a very happy and pleasant staff once more.

All in all an excellent hotel for a short break, it is certainly not the cheapest, but then you expect to pay for quality.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John2495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I took my parents here overnight and for dinner for their Diamond Wedding Anniversary. The hotel is a little tired, the windows didn't open more than six inches and it was a hot summers day so very stuffy. The portions at DinnEr were very small and quite pricey so overall I don't really consider it value for money. Nice but don't think I'd return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spackers18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed here for a saturday night after buying the deal on travel zoo which included afternoon tea, a 5 course meal and breakfast. Our room was on the top floor ( a lot of stairs, but didnt bother us)
and had a lovely view over the lake, spoiled by the fact the window only opens a couple of inches.
Also we had a good view of the garden, which could look quite spectacular with a little tlc. The lawn was long and the borders needed some flowers, also there were a few tables and chairs on the lawn but no one was sat on them as it all looked a bit jaded. The afternoon tea was ok, but the chocolate brownie was tiny and rock hard. It was classed as the small afternoon tea and was
ample enough. The meal in the restaurant, however was not! The portion sizes are SMALL!! The canapes are lovely, indeed all the food is cooked to perfection, you cannot fault the food, but we nearly laughed out loud as the waiter brought each course, the portions are so small.
My starter was the terrine, it was about 2" long, 1.5 inches wide and 2mm thick, infact how the chef sliced it so thin without it falling apart is a miracle. The restaurant was almost empty, to me this speaks volumes for a saturday night. Whilst the hotel is old and charming it is not 'posh'
enough to serve this kind of food, im sure they would do better with a normal menu serving 'proper' food and 3 courses of proper sized portions. Times are hard, people want value for money these days and this hotel isnt nice enough for a 'special' treat. Also Beatrix potter once lived here but you would never know, they need to play on this more. The national trust house nearby where Beatrix potter once lived as well, charges £8 to get in and was packed!
The cooked breakfast was lovely though, plenty of it and lots of toast. But when i got up to help myself to a croissant i was informed by the non english speaking waitress, " NO NO, you
full english!" I couldnt believe it! Even at lower priced b and b's you usually get croissants, muesli, yoghurt and fruit!! Im sorry but i wont be back, we were totally underwhelmed and there
are far better places to stay with updated bathrooms and decor and better breakfast! Even though we got this stay as an offer on travel zoo, i do not think we got value for money.

Room Tip: Any that has a window that opens!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alisont2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The short break price was higher than our usual range at £140 per night for two persons, but well worth it. The hotel is 15-20 minutes quite easy and pleasant walk from the centre of Bowness and boat piers, initially through its own gardens. The deal included a 1 day "freedom of the lake" ticket each, valid on all the Windermere boats so we could go all the way round. The main boats have a bar and toilets, and choice of outside deck or inside sheltered seating.
Back to the hotel.... fine breakfast, 10m indoor pool satisfactory, but the sauna took 25 minutes to make it from warm to properly hot; no steam room or jacuzzi. The highlight was dinner: true AA 2 rosette standard, with setting, food quality, presentation and service all on the fringes of fine dining. We were there only for 2 nights as a stopover between north and south, but definitely want to stay again for longer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
726 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,033 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,447 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Address: Longtail Hill Lindeth Drive, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £124 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. Guests are also invited to relax by our indoor pool, sauna, fitness room and indulge themselves in various body treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing