We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hide away.. Great for some together time”
Review of Lindeth Howe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lindeth Howe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Lindeth Howe on 16th August. This was a birthday treat for my husband. We arrived at noon and although checki-in wasn't until 3, we were invited to leave our luggage with reception and advised we could use the leisure facilities if we wished to do so.

The hotel is beautiful, quiet, in lovely grounds and the restaurant serves excellent food. We were in room 114" a superior room overlooking the gardens which was really spacious, spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. Nice touch is that the hotel placed a birthday card in the room and offered a turn down service.

The lounge has comfortable arm chairs, as does the bar. We had afternoon tea served by a very polite and attentive staff member before going to spend some time in Bowness.

We spent some time in the bar before dinner being served with an aperitif whilst we perused the menu and was served by a pleasant and chatty staff member, Warren. Our order was taken and we were shown through to the restaurant which offered a relaxed pleas ant ambiance with excellent service and quality of food. We have eaten in many high class restaurants, including Michelin starred and I believe the restaurant at Lindeth Howe to be one of the nicest for style and presentation. The food was of an excellent standard and the service was very good.


Overall, a lovely hotel with very pleasant staff, beautiful grounds, very good service and a bit of a hidden gem. Great for a special great. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaznfozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

613 - 619 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

I purchased 2 afternoon tea experience vouchers at the cost of £60 for My Mother's 83rd Birthday and my Husband's 65th Birthday, the hotel was beautiful but the tea consisted of 2 finger sandwiches of our choice a scone with cream and jam and a very small brownie and a pot of tea certainly not worth £60 I was very disappointed and will not be repeating this experience at this hotel again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Our second visit, where this hotel offers charm and character, avoiding the business of Windermere. It offers a cosy, country charm which for me is very relaxing. We had the taster menu which was delicious, admittedly we are foodies and enjoy experiencing new tastes and treats. The staff are professional and pleasant.
There is, as other reviewers have mentioned, the Beatrix Potter connection is tastefully presented and not commercialised like Windermere sadly appears to push in your face everywhere you go....There is a pool which is an added bonus and treat for a country hotel.

Room Tip: "Rooms with a lake view are obviously a bonus"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEAN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Myself and my partner were booked for an afternoon tea for two using a gift voucher my partner had purchased for me. The hotel is located high above Lake Windermere and overlooks the lake with splendid views. The hotel is very well maintained and has the style of an earlier age which forms a great setting for a traditional afternoon tea.
We chose a seat by the window looking out into well kept gardens and were offered tea or coffee and given a menu to choose our sandwiches from. Everything sounded so good it was difficult to choose but we both decided on ham and mustard.
The food arrived in good time and look spectacular. A three tier stand with sandwiches, scones with jam and clotted cream and a good selection of inviting looking cakes. They tasted as good as they looked.
We had a leisurely lunch unhurried by the gentleman who served us, he was attentive offering us more tea but did not intrude. After our meal my partner asked some questions about the history of the house and he was very happy to talk to her about its past and the fact that it had been purchased by Beatrix Potter for her mother. There are many period photos on the walls of the Potter familly which add to the athmospere.
My partner and I have had many afternoon teas as you will see from my other reviews and this was definately one of the best. I would highly recommend that yop pay a visit especially if you are a visitor from abroad wanting a taste of a traditional English tea, you will not find better.

Room Tip: We did not stay overnight but from what we saw the rooms would be amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Breathtaking views added to the ambience of a warm summer evening when we celebrated a friend's birthday at this Country House .
From the start our visit flowed with a quiet charm .Drinks served on the lawn with yummy canapés ,then into the dining room for our meal .
The dinner was excellent from start to finish ..we asked for smaller portions and received them from efficient and friendly waiters
Because of the lovely weather we were fortunate enough to have coffee outside while watching a pink and peach sunset over the hills
Truly an unforgettable evening ...just as if we had been at friends for dinner
Yes e I'll go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorningEdinburghuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

just been to this lovely hotel for afternoon tea 4 two. it was wonderful . excellent value for money and in a beautiful setting. hotel staff all very pleasent and helpful. will visit again. weather helped as we were able to enjoy our tea outside., but it woul have been very nice inside such a lovely building

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek-SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Booked a night in a partial lake view room (at a supplement). When I booked I mentioned that it was my partner's birthday and wanted it to be a special treat for him.
Our welcome was distinctly lack-lustre and alas the room we were shown to was dated, dark, dreary and depressing. I'm sure you could have caught a miniscule glimpse of Lake Windermere if it had been possible to open the window more than an inch and stick one's head out but as it was we were looking across to staff caravans and the very unkempt gardens. Upon request we were (a tad reluctantly I felt) moved to a very nice room at the top of the house with a view of the lake which saved the day!
The hotel is not smart, elegant or in my opinion four star. It's more homely in decor and service is just not friendly enough.
The house must once have sat in beautiful extensive grounds with magnificent views towards the lake but the trees are now so high the view is diminished and the surrounding area quite built up with other houses. The grounds have such potential but the hotel clearly does not employ a gardener as they were in a terrible neglected and unloved state. Also at the front of the hotel are two aviaries full of poor little birds trapped in filthy conditions which I frankly found rather distressing!
The small indoor pool was full of local kids having a swimming lesson when we looked in and was not tempting enough to warrant a return visit to swim.
Dinner was quite enjoyable and I don't recall the portions being excessively small as other reviewers have mentioned but then the overall experience at Lindeth Howe was so unmemorable that very little stands out in my memory! Breakfast was quite good and the Spanish staff were very nice.
The only nod to my partner's birthday was a computer printed greetings card placed in the room sent "with Love" from the staff at Lindeth Howe! A nice enough gesture but rendered insincere by the somewhat inappropriate "love" to a customer who is a complete stranger! A complimentary glass of Prosecco would have put us more in celebratory mode!
Overall OK stay but with a final bill of £300 for one night, it was just not good enough and I wouldn't return.

Room Tip: Request a front facing room at the top to ensure a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank champagnesliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3,039 reviews
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
772 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,511 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Howe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe

Address: Longtail Hill Lindeth Drive, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £120 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. As of January 2nd 2018, Lindeth Howe will no longer have any leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lindeth Howe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing