We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Cosy and welcoming”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Lindeth Howe overnight on a Travelzoo voucher, which was excellent vfm. Afternoon tea on arrival, 3-course dinner, bed and breakfast. The hotel itself is homely and comfortable...makes you want to stay indoors and hunker down! We were greeted warmly and offered afternoon tea as our room wasn't quite ready. The set menu included a hazelnut brownie and we asked for a nut-free alternative, which we did manage to get but were made to feel a bit of a nuisance.
The room itself was very pleasant; on the small side but warm and comfy. Filter coffee and hot chocolate were a nice touch and were very welcome. The evening meal was very good and the service excellent. After dinner drinks were taken in one of the many sitting areas. This is where I think the Lindeth Howe has missed a trick: each sitting room/area was welcoming and filled with comfy furniture but only one had an open log fire; the others were imitation gas and there was one electric.
Breakfast the following morning was excellent, as was the service.
All in all, a lovely short break and good value for money. Don't go expecting a 'grand' house; Lindeth Howe is more of a sumptuous country home.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carrolls_Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hello Carrolls_Lancashire
Thank you for taking the time to review Lindeth Howe Hotel. I have passed on your comments to all at the Hotel and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe very soon.
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    226
    71
    22
    20
See reviews for
133
610
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Previous reviews say it all - worthy of a stay even for a couple of nights. Food excellent, dinner top end of price range for locality. Wi-FI a bit erratic on 2nd floor but other than that niggle, cant fault the hotel.

Room Tip: 203 has good views over lake, bit quirky but being at top of hotel, ideal for that extra quality and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgb1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hello tgb1959
Thank you for your review of Lindeth Howe we all look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Member of Road Scholar during October.. The front desk staff were outstanding' especially the blond lady with a limp; she was very, very helpful and always had a wonderful smile....

Hotel in a very good location for visiting The Lakes District.

Room Tip: Beds were alittle too hard....used a blanket to soften it up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaleSequim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hello DaleSequim
it’s great to hear that you had a lovely stay with us I have pass on your comment to Liz from reception I’m sure she will be really pleased you had a great stay.
Best wishes
All at Lindeth Howe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south lanarkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My Husband, myself and three other couples have just returned from a weekend visit to the Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. This visit was thoroughly enjoyed by all of us from start to finish. the staff couldn't do enough for us and were all extremely pleasant and helpful especially Liz who works on the front desk, we missed our road and she talked us through all the directions staying with us until we arrived at their front door. the rooms were lovely and and well appointed with large comfortable beds and a lovely bathroom. The meals were excellent the only small downside to them was the menu didn't vary from Friday night to Saturday night but as there was a good selection there were other things that we could choose. The Hotel is a wee bit away from the busy part of Bowness on Windermere but it is walkable if you like walking but if you don't then taxi's were on hand at a reasonable price. This is a Hotel that we, and also our friends would definitely return to if going back to that region. None of us used the spa but it also looked very nice from what we could see.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and room 122 was a bit larger than our friends rooms, but all rooms were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lady70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
thank you for your lovely review of Lindeth Howe Country house Hotel I have passed on your great comments to all the Team at the Hotel and we all look forward to welcoming you all back to Lindeth Howe in the very near future.
Best Wishes To You All from All at Lindeth Howe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I think the title probably says it all!

We spent a short weekend break here with friends, and found it about the best hotel we've ever stayed at in the UK.
Beautiful setting, spacious and elegantly furnished rooms with all ameneties, quiet, comfortable and relaxing lounges, and superb, innovative and delicious food.
Staff were efficient and charming.

What else can I say, other than commend this hotel as highly as possible.

Room Tip: Full lake view marginally better, but all had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hello David F
Thank you for your fabulous review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. I have passed on your great comments to the whole Team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhossili, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Lindeth Howe is a superb location for exploring the South Lakes in particular Lake Windermere. We were advised that it was only a few minutes walk into Bowness but it was a good 15 minutes at a quick pace. The hotel staff were very attentive and our five course dinner was excellent and certainly exceeded our expectation. The pool is quite small but adequate for a quick dip after a day out walking, if using the sauna get it switched on 20 minutes before use!
We enjoyed a light lunch at the Boathouse in the Marina, this was very good value in a modern contemporary setting overlooking yacht dock.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anagada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hello Anagada
Thank you for your review of Lindeth Howe Hotel. I have passed on all your comments to the Team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe very soon.
Kindest regards
All at Lindeth Howe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, Lancs.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here on a deal with Travelzoo. Hotel is in a great spot on the banks of Windemere and we had a great view from our room. The room itself was a decent size, although the décor was a little dated and more like a retirement home. The room was clean though and the bed was comfy. There's a nice bar area with an open fire and the staff are generally pleasant. The range of draft drinks is limited but it is a small hotel.
The thing that let it down for us was the food. I got the impression that the hotel is trying too hard to impress. The portions, even for a-la-carte are ridiculously small, and I felt quite cheated by the food I got, especially when paying for the selection of deserts which was so small it was frankly laughable. On the bright side there is a pianist in the dining room who takes requests and adds a nice atmosphere.
This is a nice getaway for a break from it all, but I wouldn't have felt comfortable with our child here. It is one of those places that you feel you have to whisper your conversations and not be too loud. Overall a nice pleasant stay though.

Room Tip: Pay for an upgraded room for the extra space and views over Windemere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom1ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hello Dom1ski
Thank you for your review of Lindeth Howe Hotel it’s good to hear that you had a nice and pleasant stay with us. I have passed on your comments to Rob our Head Chef about the portion sizes in the Restaurant and he feels what he offers in the Restaurant is of the very highest standard and is sure you will enjoy your dinning experience on your next visit.

Best Wishes
Tony Holden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Property: Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Address: Longtail Hill Lindeth Drive, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. Guests are also invited to relax by our indoor pool, sauna, fitness room and indulge themselves in various body treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing