We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the Lakes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

A two day stay here was thoroughly enjoyed. The helpful staff gave us a warm welcome and the room was spotless and well appointed although a loose light fitting wobbled when someone walked around in the room above. WiFi did not work in the room as advertised but we were able to connect in the cosy lounge area.

We had dinner in the main restaurant. Food was for the most part first rate, the scallops beautifully prepared and the lamb cooked to perfection. The duck was cooked exactly as ordered and the accompanying garnishes entirely appropriate. Dessert of Tarte Tatin was not a success however as it had been incorrectly prepared.

Breakfasts were delicious, hot and tasty. Coffee however was too strong for our taste. Service in the dining room in the evening could be improved by some more hands on direction but the overall experience at the hotel was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Latachevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Hello Latachevin
Thank you for your Review of Lindeth Howe Hotel. I have passed on your comments to all at the Hotel.
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (990)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 990 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

What more can I say other than from the moment we arrived to the minute we departed we were well looked after by the friendly and professional team at Lindeth Howe.

On arrival we were greeted with a very warm welcome, the rooms were not quite ready as we had arrived a couple of hours early however this didnt stop us enjoying a very nice lunch with coffee.

We were allocated a delux room with a view of the lake (107), the room was great, a nice size, very well presented with superb views.

We stayed on a DBB basis and my wife and I decided to go for the taster menu - we made a very good. We have stayed before at Lindeth however my wife and I both agreed the food was even better than the last visit and it was excellent then.

Breakfast was very nice with a good choice and again as with our evening meal the service was superb (and friendly).

All in all despite terrible weather we had a great weekend break made all the better by the staff at the Lindeth Howe.

We will definitely be back to stay soon.

Room Tip: Couple go for room 107 if you can, great view and a nice size room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Good Evening Mike L
Thank you for your lovely Review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. I have passed on your great comments to all at the Hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the very near future
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Lindeth Howe overnight on a Travelzoo voucher, which was excellent vfm. Afternoon tea on arrival, 3-course dinner, bed and breakfast. The hotel itself is homely and comfortable...makes you want to stay indoors and hunker down! We were greeted warmly and offered afternoon tea as our room wasn't quite ready. The set menu included a hazelnut brownie and we asked for a nut-free alternative, which we did manage to get but were made to feel a bit of a nuisance.
The room itself was very pleasant; on the small side but warm and comfy. Filter coffee and hot chocolate were a nice touch and were very welcome. The evening meal was very good and the service excellent. After dinner drinks were taken in one of the many sitting areas. This is where I think the Lindeth Howe has missed a trick: each sitting room/area was welcoming and filled with comfy furniture but only one had an open log fire; the others were imitation gas and there was one electric.
Breakfast the following morning was excellent, as was the service.
All in all, a lovely short break and good value for money. Don't go expecting a 'grand' house; Lindeth Howe is more of a sumptuous country home.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Carrolls_Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Hello Carrolls_Lancashire
Thank you for taking the time to review Lindeth Howe Hotel. I have passed on your comments to all at the Hotel and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe very soon.
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Previous reviews say it all - worthy of a stay even for a couple of nights. Food excellent, dinner top end of price range for locality. Wi-FI a bit erratic on 2nd floor but other than that niggle, cant fault the hotel.

Room Tip: 203 has good views over lake, bit quirky but being at top of hotel, ideal for that extra quality and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgb1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Hello tgb1959
Thank you for your review of Lindeth Howe we all look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Member of Road Scholar during October.. The front desk staff were outstanding' especially the blond lady with a limp; she was very, very helpful and always had a wonderful smile....

Hotel in a very good location for visiting The Lakes District.

Room Tip: Beds were alittle too hard....used a blanket to soften it up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaleSequim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Hello DaleSequim
it’s great to hear that you had a lovely stay with us I have pass on your comment to Liz from reception I’m sure she will be really pleased you had a great stay.
Best wishes
All at Lindeth Howe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My Husband, myself and three other couples have just returned from a weekend visit to the Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. This visit was thoroughly enjoyed by all of us from start to finish. the staff couldn't do enough for us and were all extremely pleasant and helpful especially Liz who works on the front desk, we missed our road and she talked us through all the directions staying with us until we arrived at their front door. the rooms were lovely and and well appointed with large comfortable beds and a lovely bathroom. The meals were excellent the only small downside to them was the menu didn't vary from Friday night to Saturday night but as there was a good selection there were other things that we could choose. The Hotel is a wee bit away from the busy part of Bowness on Windermere but it is walkable if you like walking but if you don't then taxi's were on hand at a reasonable price. This is a Hotel that we, and also our friends would definitely return to if going back to that region. None of us used the spa but it also looked very nice from what we could see.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and room 122 was a bit larger than our friends rooms, but all rooms were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lady70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

thank you for your lovely review of Lindeth Howe Country house Hotel I have passed on your great comments to all the Team at the Hotel and we all look forward to welcoming you all back to Lindeth Howe in the very near future.
Best Wishes To You All from All at Lindeth Howe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I think the title probably says it all!

We spent a short weekend break here with friends, and found it about the best hotel we've ever stayed at in the UK.
Beautiful setting, spacious and elegantly furnished rooms with all ameneties, quiet, comfortable and relaxing lounges, and superb, innovative and delicious food.
Staff were efficient and charming.

What else can I say, other than commend this hotel as highly as possible.

Room Tip: Full lake view marginally better, but all had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Hello David F
Thank you for your fabulous review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. I have passed on your great comments to the whole Team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
717 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,030 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,446 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Address: Longtail Hill Lindeth Drive, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £123 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. Guests are also invited to relax by our indoor pool, sauna, fitness room and indulge themselves in various body treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing