We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Darwen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed for one night last weekend.The location is excellent to access all the main sites in the Lakes, our room was stylish in a subdued style, the staff were very attentive and the food first class.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Hello AndrewR
Thank you for your great review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, I have passed on your kind comments on to all at the Hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you both back to Lindeth Howe very soon.
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    217
    70
    21
    18
See reviews for
125
594
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Have stayed here a few times and we have always enjoyed the fabulous 5 course 'taster' menu. This time of the year it is such a treat because the fires are lit, the trees dressed and the location perfect. The menu is first class as is the service.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janelledarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Hello janelledarwen
Thank you for your review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, I have passed on all your great comments on to all at the Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you both back to Lindeth Howe in the very near future.
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Arrived early to enjoy small afternoon tea included in deal with travelzoo. We were taken to our room which was ready even though we were an hour early. We were given a fab room with a lake view. We enjoyed a delightful aft tea choice of sandwich, scone and cake. Also offered another pot of tea without asking. Canopies were served prior to dinner whilst we enjoyed per dinner gin & tonics. Good choice for dinner including chef's recommendations. Pork, lamb and beef cooked to perfection. Compliments to the Chef. Food was very good on our last visit and we were so pleased it was just as good this time. After coffee and chocolates served in the cosy lounge it was off to bed. Slept very well in our cosy bedroom no problem with the heating, checked the radiator in the bedroom and checked towel rail was off in the bathroom. Excellent shower and towels. After good nights sleep we had a delicious breakfast, with an extensive choice. Plenty of toast and pots of tea. We had another lovely stay at the Lindeth Howe and are looking forward to our next visit. We asked for our compliments to be passed to the Chef. We had a perfect break. Thank you so much. Angela & Peter

Room Tip: Ask for Lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smiler080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Hello smiler080
WOW thank you for your great review of Lindeth Howe Hotel, I have passed on all your great comments on to Rob our Head Chef and the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you both back to Lindeth Howe in the very near future.
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Beautiful hotel but didn't see a lift and we were on the top floor. Fine for us in our 30s but tricky for the less-able, perhaps, or those with much luggage (maybe we just didn't see it). Stunning location, friendly welcome, nice little pool (but not much room for more than a few people and no towels!! Had brought our own though). Would urge cleaning staff to remove the ancient bunion plaster located on the back of the door to the changing cubicle on the right as you go in. Nice.
Gorgeous dining room where we had a delicious breakfast but oddly, the chairs were arranged around the table facing in towards the room rather than out towards the lovely gardens.
Great views of the lake and the fascinating history of Beatrix Potter's former home is explained in your welcome pack in the room.
On a less-positive note, we were a bit miffed to have gone out for a drive and returned to find we couldn't park our car anywhere. Cars were left on the verge, in the gardens, up the lane... we circled the car park at least 10 times hoping for a tiny space to squeeze into. Eventually, I went inside and my husband waited for someone to leave. Turned out the hotel is open to non-residents for evening meals.
Room was nice but a bit warm, had to fiddle with the window latch for ages to get some air in.
Would return if residents-only parking was available.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bumblebeeluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I booked this via Secret Escapes as wanted somewhere a bit special to break our journey up on our way to Scotland for a week's break. We had afternoon tea on arrival (lovely) and then a taster dinner, which was a bit different. Our room was very nicely furnished and comfortable. We finished our stay with a full English breakfast and left feeling totally blown out from all the good food. Would definately stay here again, but it would have to be another special occasion due to the cost.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Latebooker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Hello latebooker123
Thank you for your lovely review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, I have passed on all your great comments on the whole team and we look forward to welcoming you both back to Lindeth Howe in the very near future.
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We have stayed here a number of times before, although it has been a few years since our last stay, and we were delighted to find that it remains a superb experience. The very warm welcome on arrival and the lovely presentation of the hotel made us feel relaxed straight away. The room we stayed in was superb, lots of space, all the facilities we could possibly need and an amazing view of the lakes. The public areas and the room are spotlessly clean and are a real credit to the housekeeping team. The restaurant has to be experienced to be believed, the food and the staff are five star, the presentation is fantastic and the atmosphere is relaxed and very comfortable. All of the staff were extremely friendly and eager to ensure our stay was as good as it possibly could be. The quality of everything provided, from the towels in the bathroom to the tea and coffee provided in the rooms, is high, which is a nice change from the basic provisions in many hotels. For a relaxing break I dont think Lindeth howe can be beaten, a perfect place to get away from it all. If we ever have a big win on the lottery we are moving in!

Room Tip: A lake view room is well worth specifying, wake up to a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkandCathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Hello markandcathryn
Thank you for your wonderful review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, I have passed on all your lovely comments on the whole team and we look forward to welcoming you both back to Lindeth Howe in the very near future.
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed for one night dinner bed and breakfast with a Travel Zoo voucher. The voucher also included a small afternoon tea. The food was excellent - everything about it - the service, quality, presentation were all superb. The room we had was very nice, lovely view of the lake and very nicely appointed. Very nice towels and toiletries. Really comfortable bed with chocolates left on the pillow in the evening. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room. There is a swimming pool and spa but we did not have time to use these. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit more for a lake view room. Sitting in bed with morning cup of tea looking over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolAnneD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Good Evening CarolAnneD
Thank you for your wonderful review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. I will pass on your great comments to all the team at the Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe in the very near future.
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Property: Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Address: Longtail Hill Lindeth Drive, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. Guests are also invited to relax by our indoor pool, sauna, fitness room and indulge themselves in various body treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing