We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Brilliant - only the weather could have been improved”
Review of Lindeth Howe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lindeth Howe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Myself and my wife and her sister and husband took her mother to this hotel for a couple of nights as part of her 80th birthday celebrations. I can only say that this hotel is absolutely brilliant. The rooms were fantastic, really comfy beds and a great view, the foods was excellent, the breakfasts and dinners were superb and the staff were some of the best I have ever had the pleasure to meet - very professional and very helpful.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a bit of luxury in the Lake District.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roywad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you for your fabulous review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, it’s great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe in the very near future.
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on Saturday night after booking a special offer break through Groupon.

We started with a light afternoon tea and then checked into our room which had a lovely view of the gardens and down towards the lake. Dinner was amazing. We had the 7 course taster menu which was exceptional, thoroughly enjoyed the stone bass in particular.

Would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Hello Melissa O
Thank you for your Lovely review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, it’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe in the very near future.
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

For Christmas my daughter paid for us to have an overnight stop at this hotel, everything from first being greeted at the door was perfect. Very friendly staff, lovely room, comfy bed and superb food.I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Totally agree with 'Theadewalsh' I've never tasted scones so good!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Hello Barbara H
Thank you for your great review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe in the very near future.
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend & I stayed for her birthday & everything (except dessert) was perfect, we arrived early & although our room wasn't ready, (we were 2 hours early) we were warmly invited in, we had afternoon tea in the lounge, the scone was simply the best I've ever had biscuity yet light, the room was lovely & when we went for our evening meal it was simply delightful, the starters, I had pigeon were beautiful, tasty, well presented & well balanced, the pork main course was superb, perfectly cooked with good textures & flavours. The desert was a little disappointing, croissant ice cream didnt taste of croissant & the caramel on the chocolate ganache was far too much & made the dessert sickly, this however didn't at all spoil what was simply a fantastic weekend, also the best wine I've drank for a long long time

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Theadewalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Hello Theadewalsh
Thank you for your review of Lindeth Howe Hotel, i am sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your full dinning experience with us and I have passed on your comments to Rob our Head Chef about your desserts. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe in the very near future.
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Have stayed a few times at this hotel in the past and took advantage of the Travelzoo offer. The room we had was spacious and clean, the bed was really comfy with good quality bedding on it. We had a small afternoon tea near the real log fire which was lovely. The hotel was very quiet as it was the second weekend in January and it was great having the swimming pool area to ourselves. The dinner included with the deal was very nicely presented with canapés, amuse bouche and chocolates afterwards. Top marks to the service, the staff were very pleasant and professional. It was a lovely stay and well recommended .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clairee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Hello clairee21
Thank you for your lovely review of Lindeth Howe Hotel, i have passed on your kind comments to all at the Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe in the very near future.
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I have just spent a 5 day break for Christmas at the Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. What a splendid time we had, nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff, everyone was couteous, the food was fabulous so were the surroundings. I would thoroughly recommend a stay there at any time of year. Thankyou everyone, see you again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sylvia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Hello sylviaj
It’s great to hear that you have enjoyed your Christmas break with us at Lindeth Howe Hotel, i have passed on your lovely comments to all at the Hotel and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

My husband recently treated me to a surprise weekend away at Lindeth Howe. We have been there a few times before and as usual everything was excellent. Room with a view of the lake, good food and a relaxed atmosphere. All the staff were very efficient and friendly

Room Tip: Well worth paying extra for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Hello Pauline M
Its great to read That you had a great stay with us at Lindeth Howe Hotel, I have passed on your lovely comments on to all at the Hotel, and we hope to see you again very soon.
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
768 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3,037 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,508 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Howe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe

Address: Longtail Hill Lindeth Drive, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £119 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. As of January 2nd 2018, Lindeth Howe will no longer have any leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lindeth Howe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing