We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Excellent Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Excellent Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Very nice peaceful setting, very clean, excellent food and attentive and friendly staff. We stayed for 2 nights to celebrate our Ruby Wedding anniversary. Slightly too far away for a stroll around Bowness, but only 5 minutes by car. However, away from the crowds and no problems with parking

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P_Smith1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Good Evening P_Smith1947
Thanks for your lovely review of Lindeth Howe Hotel, I have passed on all your kind comments to all at the Hotel and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Best wishes
All at Lindeth Howe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    217
    70
    21
    18
See reviews for
125
595
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We got to Lindeth Howe by chance as we were looking for another closeby hotel....

We liked the place at first sight and we really enjoyed our stay in this slightly secluded country house with its beautiful view on Windermere lake and the surrounding woods.
The staff was very friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Go for a lake view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GT-london-007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hello GT-london-007
As they say you never get a second chance to make a first impression so it great to hear that you decided to stay with us at Lindeth Howe and we look forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe on your next visit to Bowness on Windermere.
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a fab 2 night stay on a travelzoo package. We upgraded to the potter room which was lovely, just missing a bath which would have made a great room fabulous! Dinner was AMAZING! Cannot fault it at all. Breakfast was good and the staff were all very friendly. We took a lovely stroll into town, through the beautiful gardens. The Lindeth Howe has a special place in our hearts as we got engaged here. This time we were back to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary. We will definitely be back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dandylion77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hi danddylion77
It’s always great to welcome back are regular guest back to Lindeth Howe and we look forward to seeing you both again very soon.
Best Wishes
All a Lindeth Howe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

4th stay at this hotel - can't fault it! The staff were lovely, (not sure who other reviewers were met by at reception - as they were not happy)! However, the lovely Marta is a gem! She dealt with our Travelzoo telephone booking very efficiently. The dinner was excellent as was the breakfast.
We had a beautiful room - huge, comfortable bed and superb lake view, spotlessly clean! Another Travelzoo deal not the cheapest but still good value - we will return!

Room Tip: Lake or garden view - not had a bad one yet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hello Orville
Thanks for your great review of Lindeth Howe Hotel, I have passed on your comments to the lovely Marta and the rest of the Team at the Hotel and we look forward to seeing you for your 5th visit very soon.
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Sadly we only spent one night here, as it was a lovely hotel in a quiet location away from the hustle and bustle of Bowness.
The hotel had a lovely relaxed atmosphere which was enhanced by the friendly staff.
Our room was clean, spacious and sympathetically decorated.
Dinner was superb and breakfast spot on.
We enjoyed a lovely walk through the garden down to the lake and into Bowness.
I was disappointed that it was too wet to enjoy sitting and relaxing on the garden swing chair!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wiltshiremoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hello wiltshiremoose
Thanks for your lovely review of Lindeth Howe Country House I have passed on your great comments to the whole team, and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe
Ps
I had a go on the swing chair for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The good:

Excellent customer service - very polite, attentive and capable
Internet access - fast FTTC access BUT not in all rooms - see the bad
Made a mistake in overcharging me - the matter got resolved very efficiently
Very quiet location and warm comfortable surroundings
The dining experience really is second to none - superb

The not so good:

Room 204 had non-existent wifi access - in my opinion these days, every room in every hotel should have decent free wifi access
Although it's a nice hotel, I personally wouldn't stay here again due to the fact that it is situated over a mile from Barrow and you realistically need to drive to get into town. Let me say this - parking is a nightmare in Barrow so my advice would be to get a hotel much closer.
One annoying thing about the stay was that during breakfast, the waiters/waitresses constantly ask you if you want a cooked breakfast. I don't mind being asked once but three times (each on consecutive days) makes me think that the hotel is pushing hard as part of it's overall business model to get you to pay £15 per head for a vastly over priced cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: The top floor with the nice views (or at least the room I stayed in) had terrible wifi reception. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hello Mike D
Thanks for your review of Lindeth Howe Hotel, I have passed on all your good comments to the team at the hotel and I have been looking in to the not so good comments you have brought to my attention. We have recently had fibre optic broad band installed into the Hotel and there has been an issue or two with it but this will be remedy very soon, with regard to the waiters asking if you would like a cooked breakfast on more than one occasion I can only apologise to you as this should not be happening and is clearly a training issue and I will make sure that the restaurant manager will retrain his team to make sure this does not happen again, as for the price of the breakfast it is included in all hotel guests packages and there is no extra cost to any of our hotel guest. The price of £15.00 only applies to non-resident guest who come along and enjoy breakfast with us.

As for parking in bowness (barrow) I can get a little crowded in the summer month but there is several pay and display car parks for visitors to use, but we would recommend to our guests to either have a stroll down to bowness or take a taxi which is only about £4.00 to £4.50.
Best Wishes
Tony Holden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed here for a weekend of Mountain Biking. Arrived early Friday and requested somewhere to store the bikes, the staff soon organised a secure place and took them from my car.

Lovely historic old house with great views and surroundings. Dining areas and facilities top notch.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyandbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Good Afternoon AndyandBell
It’s great to hear that you have had a good time with us at Lindeth Howe and I’m sure you found some great places to go biking while you were here.
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Property: Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Address: Longtail Hill Lindeth Drive, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. Guests are also invited to relax by our indoor pool, sauna, fitness room and indulge themselves in various body treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Superbreak UK so you can book your Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing