We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mildly Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mildly Disappointed”
Reviewed 5 February 2009

We recently spent one night on a Dinner, Bed & Breakfast basis under the terms of a national newspaper's Wine, Dine and Stay promotion. Given this we did not expect our room to be in the top category. Our 'Superior Double' was a loft room, inadequately lit and with only just sufficient space. The ensuite facilities were fine.

Regretfully dinner did not meet our expectations: my wife's smoked trout remoulade was spoiled by an excess of vinegar in the dressing, and my sauteed wild mushrooms on a toasted brioche was undistinguished. We both had Goosnagh duck for our 'main' course. The leg confit was tasty and succulent, but the breast verged on being tough. The plum sauce, however, redeemed this course overall. Our dessert of lemon meringue slice was pleasing, although to our palate the meringue topping would have benefited from being more crisp. At £ 38. 50 each we felt that dinner was a tad expensive. As a plea in mitigation we overheard that the Head Chef was on holiday.

The swimming pool was ideally suited to our level of swimming; the public areas of the hotel were clean and tastefully furnished, and the heavy snow outside made the log fire in the lounge bar all the more warm and welcoming. The dining room staff were friendly, but on occasion Reception seemed understaffed.

Overall, however, our experience did not match some of the glowing comments in the visitors' book.

  • Liked — Warmth and comfort of public spaces
  • Disliked — Very limited bedroom space
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoungPensioner67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    227
    71
    23
    21
See reviews for
133
613
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2008

My Husband ,10 month old Daughter, Mum in Law & family friend, plus myself have just returned from a four night Christmas Special Package . From the moment we arrived, we had a very warm welcome from the staff. We have to say, the staff were fantastic from Reception, Retsaurant Staff, Hotel Manager to House Keeping etc., all very friendly and nothing too much trouble. The staff worked extremely hard over the festive period. The hotel itself was very cosy and the Christmas decorations made it feel very homely. We had a Garden View room, which had a glimpse of the lake, it was a good size and comfortable. We think we were above the Kitchen and at night, we could hear a couple of doors being shut below our room, but , it did not interfere with our comfort. The food was excellent, the Full English Breakfast very nice! A big thank you to Reception (Mickela, apols about the spelling!) who offerred a listening in service while our Daughter slept in our room in the evening. We felt happy to leave her in the room while we had Dinner in the Restaurant. All I wanted to say was that we fully recommend this hotel, we have provisionally booked for Christmas 2009, we had such a good time at the hotel. Thank you Lindeth Howe for a lovely stay.

  • Liked — The service, location and ambience of the Hotel.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julesdbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2008

My husband and I booked our stay at Lindeth Howe at the last minute (9pm on the day before arrival) and got an excellent deal. On arrival we were warmly welcomed and escorted to a lovely room with views of the lake and gardens. Dinner was excellent both the food and the service. All the staff we had contact with were very friendly and helpful and I would definitely return.

The hotel throughout was very clean, the turndown service included replenishing of the hospitality tray and the little extras like bottled water and bucket of ice made it an excellent stay.

  • Liked — The attention to detail
  • Disliked — The orange juice at breakfast - it wa OK but not the "freshly squeezed" type.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_hard_to_please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2008

This is a small hotel but perfectly formed!
My husband and I stayed here for a weekend with our 15 month old daughter. I had bought the weekend explorer package which included evening meals and packed lunches.

We both were very impressed by the hotel. I had some queries about the hotel prior to our arrival. They could not have been more helpful.

On the day we arrived we were shown round the facilities, whilst our bag was taken to the room, and boy what a room. We stayed in room 106. It had absolutely fantastic views of lake windermere. The room itself was well apointed with a lovely en-suite bath. There was not much space, but we did have a full cot in the room for our daughter and the views more than made up for any lack in space in the room itself. We have enquired about other rooms and have been informed there are larger family rooms, but they obviously get booked up early.

The gotel itself had a swimming pool, sauna etc. We used the pool which was great, particularly if you have the odd spare hour to waste.

In the evening the various lounges had fires, which was lovely to relax by, whilst our daughter went tearing round the place having great fun. The staff were far from being stuffy about our daughters antics and made her feel just as welcome as we were.

Children were not permitted in the main dinning room after a certain hour, which suited us. Our daughter had her dinner in the lounge between 5-6pm. We would then take her up to our room and put her to bed. We then came back down with a baby monitor! Staff were again superb at dealing with our request to be moved in the dinning room in order that we did not lose the signal on the monitor.

Dinner was a real treat and I can highly recommend the venison and ALL of the puddings! Again it suited us to eat in the hotel, but neither of us were disappointed that we had done this. All the food we ordered was excellent.

The situation of the hotel is perfect. We enjoyed it's quiet location so we were not disturbed by traffic noise or noise from town. It was just away from the ferry across windermere and had lots of walking etc at your doorstep. We enjoyed Bowness very much, although beware of the swans - they like to bite!

Overall we loved this hotel, its location and hospitality very much, so much so that we fully intend to return there. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR A WONDERFUL STAY!

  • Liked — The views from our room, open fires, wonderful retreat.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Zeki-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

Having searched TripAdvisor at length for a really good hotel in the Lake District, I very nearly gave up. Very few had been given glowing reviews and those who had pleased their guests accepted dogs in the rooms which is something I wanted to avoid.

So, finding that the Lindeth Howe had great reviews and did not welcome pets was a relief but did it turn out to be as good as it seemed ?

Actually, yes it did. Lindeth Howe is an old house, once owned by Beatrix Potter and offers spectacular views across Lake Windermere. The staff were helpful on the phone and warm and welcoming upon arrival. Our cases were whisked up to our room (106) which was smaller than some but beautifully furnished, warm and quiet. The en-suite bathroom was modern and again, very clean. There is a really nice indoor swimming pool and fitness room as well as relaxing lounge and bar. The house itself is surrounded by well-kept gardens.

We had a very minor problem with the room which was too insignificant to detail here but when I advised Reception, it was remedied immediately.

If I was forced to find a fault, it would be that the restaurant only offers a 5 course or 3 course set dinner. There is no a la carte menu. It is therefore not possible to have a light dinner except if one chooses from the room service menu which can only be served in your bedroom. I did ask if I could eat from this menu in the bar but this request was declined. This meant that unless we were prepared to eat in our room, we had to go out to a local restaurant. So, although we did not have sufficient appetite to dine in the hotel restaurant, if the breakfast is an indicator of quality, I would say that dinner there is probably excellent.

All in all a most excellent hotel and one that I not hesitate to return to.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Set Dinner Menu only
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SezandElzDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2008

We have just returned from 3 nights at the Lindeth Howe Hotel. If you get chance to visit the Lakes then I would suggest you stay at this Hotel. The rooms were all very tastefully furnished and decorated especially the lounge and dining room. However there were 2 aspects I really should mention,. Firstly nothing was too much trouble for the professional and friendly and helpful staff. They went out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Secondly the restaurant food was exceptional and we looked forward very much to having dinner in the evenings. The chef and his kitchen staff should be highly commended on the quality and presentation of their meals. The bedroom we stayed in was a lake view room and very nice.

  • Liked — Food and Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank duggyblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2008

Fantastic, Fabulous a wonderful weekend away.

My boyfriend and I wanted a weekend away together, somewhere nice and I came accross Lindeth Howe on the GoLakes website. We booked a superior lake view. Reception were excellent when we arrived, carried our bags and showed us round telling us all about the house and Beatrix Potter (her mother lived there). We ate in the restaurant in the evening. Excellent food and service. I have to disagree with the man below, we had the lamb and it wasnt what he said at all, it was really tasty. Just what you need after being out all day. The pool and sauna was also great to relax in and the opportunity to have a massage always a bonus, but do book before you go.
I would definitely reccomend it to everyone.

  • Liked — The food, pool and people
  • Disliked — nothing at all
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,831 reviews
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
980 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,356 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Property: Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Address: Longtail Hill Lindeth Drive, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. Guests are also invited to relax by our indoor pool, sauna, fitness room and indulge themselves in various body treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Lastminute, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing