We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible - don't stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We stayed here for one night and have to say that we won't be returning! When booking we were told they only had one double room left, which to be fair we were told was very small with only a shower. As such we were offered a discounted rate of £130 on a dinner, bed and breakfast rate.
Having read the reviews regarding the food and general standard of the hotel we were looking forward to our stay.
However... upon a arrival we were shown to a room which was drastically below the standard you would expect from a hotel with these crudentials - or indeed any professional establishment - it had damp patches, peeling wallpaper, chips out of the furnishings and stank of bleach!
The bathroom hadn't been decorated/upgraded since at the 1960's and bed linen was 100% polyester.
When we raised the issue of the bleach/chlorine smell we were told that housekeeping could spray some air freshener to see if this would rectify the situation - which we declined! Unfortunately there were no other rooms available so we were stuck with what we had!
Despite the severe disappointment with our room, we looked forward to sampling the 'fine dining' experience. We have eaten a number of restaurants which held the same accrediation as Lindeth Howe - however the standard of food and service was well below what we would have expected - especially at £40 a head!
Even though we were told our rate had been discounted, I feel like I was severely ripped off!
Both myself and husband left with a stomach upset - which we can only attribute to something we consumed during our stay, as we had spent the previous week apart.
In summary - we would have paid to avoid this hotel - don't believe the reviews and book into Storrs Hall - which really does do what it 'says on the tin!'.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank hannahb19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindeth_Howe_CHH, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2010

Dear Hannahb,

I feel so sorry you felt you wouldn’t be returning to Lindeth Howe. When you made the reservation we had a couple of rooms available, one being a twin superior room and one being a single / small double standard room with shower only. The single / small double standard room was requested and after trying to persuade you to take the twin bedded room which would be more comfortable for yourself and your husband for just an extra £10.00 per person supplement, you opted for the single / small standard double room as you had been away from your husband for the week. You were offered £130.00 as you rightly expressed which is £50.00 bed and breakfast for both of you and £40.00 per person for our two rosette dining experience. I agree the room is in need of an upgrade but the standard of cleanliness and hygiene is impeccable. The twin bedded superior room was still available on your check in, however you still required the small / double standard room. Unfortunately when you finally decided you would like to have a look at the alternative room a couple of hours later, the room had been sold.

We are extremely proud of our food and service at Lindeth Howe and are open to feedback good and bad from our guests, but I find it extremely difficult to hear both yourself and your husband left with a stomach upset allegedly from your stay here, when we are confident that this upset would not have come from Lindeth Howe due to the extreme lengths we go to, to ensure all our food and services are of the highest standard of hygiene and control and received a 5 star award for excellence in food safety performance from the Cumbria Food Liaison Group. No other guests have complained, including a vast amount of our regular guests who were staying with us on the same weekend as yourselves.

We would love to change your perception of Lindeth Howe and hopefully will look forward to welcoming you both back to Lindeth Howe soon.

I will be contacting you direct with regards to a future stay at Lindeth Howe.

Kindest Regards,

Alison Magee-Barker,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (990)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

877 - 883 of 991 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2010

Our room had an excellent view and very well presented and equipped. The whole hotel is very clean, staff are excellent, couldn't do enough for us, location is ideal for a romantic break to get away from it all, but is close enough to Bowness & Lake Windermere to enjoy the local amenities. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveDebs2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

If you are looking for an ideal (and virtually idyllic) country hotel in England's Lake District, this is it! Everything about this place -- even if it is a bit old-fashioned -- is well well exexcuted. Our room was spacious -- with windows opening onto a back garden complete with three ducks at a pond. There were two luxurious lounges and a great -- trhough expensive -- diningroom. The front desk could not have more helpful and cheerful. The only quibble -- and if you want tranquillity, you have to be out of town -- is the location -- a long walk into Bowness -- or a relatively short taxi ride with cheerful -- and informative -- drivers. This hotel was absolutely satisfying and delightful!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosstucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Stayed one night, had a family room which was very spacious. The weather was wonderful so really nice to sit out and enjoy the garden. Staff friendly and attentive. Very chilled out, relaxing break.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fikel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

We enjoyed three delightful days at this hotel; after being re-directed here from one up the road with a similar name!
From the start, and our warm welcome,we were shown to our beautifully clean and spacious room overlooking formal gardens and the hills in the distance. The compliamentary drinks table sported every kind of tea, coffee imaginable plus hot chocolate and Ovaltine sachets. The White Company bathroom goodies were a lovely touch, as were the huge, fluffy dressing gowns and the full-sized bath to boot!
We felt that this was a place that would have been horrified if anyone had suggested cutting corners in persuit of extra company profit!
The breakfasts were very good, apart from an initial language difficulty with the bright, attentive young, imported staff.

Unfortnately the garden didn't have the care and attention it deseerved. It is huge in area and needs a greater workforce - certainly initially - to put it back into shape, lthough I sure that the present ground staff works hard.
This being said, we had a lovely time and would love to return soon - perhaps when we can book on a dinner / bed breakfast basis.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryJohn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Spotless & Comfortable Hotel, Very Friendly Staff and breakfast and good as it gets. We did stay on Dinner, Bed & Breakfast although it seemed that at least 50 per cent of the guests stayed on Bed & Breakfast. Thoroughly enjoyed the Hotel the only problem was some of the starters and deserts at dinner was served not on plates but on slates approximately 10cms by 25cms. Our bedroom, as indicated by the red arrow in the attached photograph, was immediately over the dining room and being on a corner we had a side and front view of the garden. We did, however, have a slight problem with the shower over the bath when trying to adjust the temperature. Immediately outside the entrance to the room was an open air balcony, with a bench and small table, that could also be used by any of the other bedrooms on that corridor. The second photograph was taken from our bedroom and the third from the open air balcony and Lake Windermere can just be seen through the trees.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderer74Wigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

this beautiful elegant country house is lakeland hospitality at its best a truly lovely hotel set in its own pretty garden grounds with fabulous views out to windemere the staff make you feel welcome and are all very attentive and friendly.

location
great location lots to do in the area 10mins from the little town of bowness and lake windemere were you can take boat trips on the lake (a must) nice shops resturants and pubs here to lots to see and do.

hotel and rooms

very english and decorated to a high standard cosy fires and comfy lounges terrace area in the garden were you can enjoy a drink overlooking fabulous countyside. we had a fantastic room overlooking the lake huge bed flat screen tv and large bathroom very luxurious.

Resturant
is stylish and elegant and the food is just devine we has a 5 course dinner and it was a real treat. Breakfast is fresh produce cooked to order which is a refreshing change than lining up for buffet breakfast!!!!

i would definately recommend this hotel it delivers warm hospitality a high level of service and fabulous food and really is good value for money enjoy !!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
725 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,032 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,447 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Address: Longtail Hill Lindeth Drive, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £124 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. Guests are also invited to relax by our indoor pool, sauna, fitness room and indulge themselves in various body treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing