We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Year Break- one or two minor issues but would return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great New Year Break- one or two minor issues but would return”
Reviewed 4 January 2011

stayed for a 4 night break over New Year and it proved great value for money. The rooms, food and especially the service from the staff was beyond reproach. A couple of issues could have enhanced our stay but these would not put us off from returning: there was no firework display at New Year as there have been on previous years, despite the reasons given by staff this was purely down to cost cutting- this proved a talking point by many guests, quite simply a hotel of that standing and hoping to compete for the lucrative New Year market must have a display, the decision not to hold one was a gross error and will be subject to a rethink for next year: on the last evening there was a first class buffet but no vegetarian option for the hot main course, most surprising!! Some retruning guests did state that they had noticed other cost cutting issues as well as the lack of firework display, eg, the champagne flowed more freely last time at the reception, the guided walk on day 1 was no longer available etc. A great stay but the smaller issues need to be monitored in order to attract new guests and not just rely on returning customers.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyclist100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindeth_Howe_CHH, General Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Dear cyclist100,

Thank you very much for your review of Lindeth Howe. We do keep our packages great value for money for all our guests, especially those who return year after year. Our New Years Package at Lindeth Howe is a celebratory occasion, which is very successful over the years and this year we decided to enhance the New Years Package. Under no circumstances have we ever tried to cut costs, in fact we look at ways to improve our guest experience. We did decide this year not to hold a firework display as over the years we have listened to our guests and understood how we can improve the flow of New Years Eve. Going outside in what has usually been inclement weather has disjointed the whole evening. We are also more aware that we are in a residential area and that exploding fireworks in the middle of the night is not appreciated. We as a team have always given a complimentary glass of champagne cocktail for Reception Drinks on New Years Eve. We always review and improve our package and this has reflected the positive guests comments that we have received year after year from all our guests new and returning.

Regards,

Alison,
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    227
    71
    22
    21
See reviews for
133
612
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clanfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2010

We had a lovely 2 night break at the hotel, staff were excellent especially Sarah and Dave. Dave helped us dig our car out of the hotel drive and transported us to the hotel on our first day when it was stuck. Food was fabulous, very good quality as was the decently priced wine, the Shiraz was lovely.
The position of the hotel is great for exploring and you can walk through the gardens in 10 minutes to join the road to Bowness. Having stayed at various hotels over the past year in the lakes this is definitely our favourite and we have already booked again for April.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portreathboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindeth_Howe_CHH, General Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2011
Hi Portreathboy,

Thank you very much for your excellent review of Lindeth Howe. I am so pleased you were able to make it to the hotel in the snow and you enjoyed your stay at Lindeth Howe. I have passed your lovely compliments to Sarah and Dave. We would never see our guests stuck and Dave is the perfect solution, he will be thrilled to bits.

We are really looking forward to you returning in April and I am sure you will enjoy much better weather at this time of year, you may even be lucky enough to see our magnificent Magnolia Tree in bloom.

Thank you again and see you in April.

Alison,
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribble Valley
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2010

We have just enjoyed 3 nights dinner bed and breakfast at this lovely hotel and our stay couldnt have been better.Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by Sarah who showed us to our beautiful room (107) having given us an upgrade as due to the snow and time of year the hotel was unusually quiet.The room was spacious,pristine and boasted spectacular views of the lake and gardens as well as a huge window seat. Dinner and breakfast were delicious and the service second to none,friendly and unobtrusive.All the staff appear friendly,courteous and expertly trained.We will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindeth_Howe_CHH, General Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2011
Hi Moka,

Thank you very much for your excellent review of Lindeth Howe. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Lindeth Howe and Sarah was able to upgrade you to one of our Deluxe Lake View rooms.

I have passed on your lovely comments to the team and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe soon.

Kindest Regards,

Alison,
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

My husband and I have just spent a relaxing two days at Lindeth Howe, and we are already looking forward to returning!

We took advantage of one of the hotel's autumn offers, which represented the most amazing value for money. We upgraded to a deluxe room, which was incredibly spacious and well appointed. The super-king sized bed was very comfortable and we slept very well indeed after the amazing dinners...

The food at Lindeth Howe was just delicious. With an extensive choice ranging from seafood to game (with several vegetarian options too) it was difficult to decide what to have! There were several nice touches, including an amuse bouche and a refreshing sorbet between the starter and main course. The meals were exceptionally well executed and beautifully presented and the breakfast hit the spot too. Also, it's worth mentioning the wine list. It was extensive enough, but most notably the prices were great. Most of the wines averaged around £20 - £30 a bottle (I think we paid an average of £23 a bottle) which is great.

Lindeth Howe also benefits from a small pool and sauna, which were most welcome when we returned from a wind-swept, rainy day touring around the lakes. The hotel also offers massage and treatments, however, we didn't book in advance so missed out on this. Two people we met recommended the therapist, so we'd probably book treatments in advance when we return.

The staff were helpful and friendly, and did whatever they could to ensure you enjoyed your stay. With so many hotels to choose from in the Lakes competition has to be high, and we would certainly go back to Lindeth Howe without giving it a second thought.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edinburgh_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindeth_Howe_CHH, General Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2011
Hi Edinburgh_Lady,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review of Lindeth Howe. I am thrilled to bits you both enjoyed your stay at Lindeth Howe. Certainly is always a great idea to keep an eye out on our website for any last minute or future offers we may be running, especially as Timmy Tiptoes is celebrating his 100th Birthday this year.

We are very proud of our food here and pleased you enjoyed the extensive choice we offer. The wine list is very good value for money and is personally chosen by our team at the hotel.

It is such a shame you were not able to reserve a massage as Sara our therapist is excellent and I would recommend in future making a reservation in advance to avoid disappointment.

I have passed on your very kind comments to the team and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe soon.

Kindest Regards,

Alison,
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
147 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed at Lindeth Howe with our young son. The location in the Lake District was wonderful! The breakfast was good and included a lot of options. They were wonderful hosts even bringing tea to my husband who was reading by the fire in the early morning hours while he suffered from jet lag. The room was good size. The bathroom was large for England. The indoor pool was great especially as an option on rainy days. My only comment would be the mattresses were very poor. We had a double and twin bed in our room. My husband's back really hurt after sleeping on the double so fortunately he could move to the twin which was slightly better, but for the price the mattresses and linens should be changed. The blankets looked like they might have been used for a good number of years. The staff was nice, but with so many options we probably would try another hotel in the lake district for this price next time.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighlandMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindeth_Howe_CHH, General Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2011
Dear HighlandMommy,

Thank you very much for your review of Lindeth Howe. I am pleased your husband enjoyed his tea by the fire in the early mornings whilst he was suffering with jet lag. At present we are upgrading all our rooms to duvets rather than the blankets and we constantly quality check our beds to ensure our guests have a great night’s sleep, although some guests do prefer very firm mattresses, which we are always happy to accommodate.

I do hope we can convince you to stay at Lindeth Howe again in the future and I would be grateful if you would contact either Tony – Deputy Manager or myself direct to make your reservation.

Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe soon.

Kindest Regards,

Alison,
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south queensferry
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We booked this hotel for our friend's 50th birthday on the recommendation of the reviews on tripadvisor. The whole hotel is spotless and well kept. Our rooms were lovely(205 & 209) and the views made it the relaxing weekend we were looking for. Thanks to the receptionist who selected our rooms. The robes and slippers in the room a great addition.
Food in the restaurant lovely and presented well. Good wine list. The full English Breakfast is not a huge plate but still plenty to keep you going.
We booked the GO GREEN with the Great Explorer. Unfortunately, on the Saturday morning our packed lunch was not available as we had not completed the forms which should have been left in our rooms! The receptionist was a bit reluctant to venture into the kitchen and request our lunches. However, this was resolved.
The only negative (and I say this reluctantly) is that we felt the restaurant waiting staff did rush us through our meals. Desperate to take away your plate as you were placing down your cutlery. As soon as one course was finished the next appeared. Would have prefered a more relaxing atmosphere which the rest of the hotel offers.
We all loved our stay and will be back in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theandrews031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindeth_Howe_CHH, General Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2011
Dear theandrews031,

Thank you very much for your great review of Lindeth Howe. I am so sorry we missed placing packed lunch forms in your bedroom compendium and highlighting the packed lunch forms on arrival for the Great Explorer package. I am unsure why the Receptionist was reluctant to go into the Kitchen, given the close relationship between all of our team. From your comments, we have addressed the efficiency of our Dining Room team who ensure all our guests have a relaxing and excellent dining experience.

Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe soon.

Best Wishes,

Alison,
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

My wife and I stayed for one night on Thursday 2nd September 2010. Our room on the third floor was fabulous with a view of Lake Windermere and a comfortable canopy bed. The small ensuite bathroom was of a good standard, fresh and clean. The indoor swimming pool and sauna were welcome after our long drive to the Lake District. We enjoyed tea in the garden in the afternoon as the weather was sunny and warm for the time of year. Our dinner could not have been better. The staff were professional, caring and saw to all of our needs without fuss. My overriding memory was sitting on the elevated bed watching the sun go down over the lake with a drink before dinner. Breakfast the following morning was, again, just right, served at the table rather than ‘fetch it yourself’.

Our stay at Lindeth Howe was the first night of a week’s holiday and was the highlight of the whole week. It is a small intimate comfortable hotel with a history which we enjoyed. We will certainly be back at some time in the future and stay longer next time.

Any criticisms? Though we didn’t, some may find the lack of a lift a problem if a view of the lake is important.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank standleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindeth_Howe_CHH, General Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2011
Hi Standleo,

Thank you very much for your lovely review of Lindeth Howe. It is perfect when the weather is warm and sunny to sit in our extensive peaceful gardens and enjoy afternoon tea. I am so pleased your night stay at Lindeth Howe was the highlight of your week holiday, and I certainly recommend you staying for extra nights next time. I have passed on your kind and generous comments to the team and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe soon.

Kindest Regards,

Alison,
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,831 reviews
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
980 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,356 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Property: Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Address: Longtail Hill Lindeth Drive, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. Guests are also invited to relax by our indoor pool, sauna, fitness room and indulge themselves in various body treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing