We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic quiet location and excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic quiet location and excellent staff”
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We arrived in Windemere without accommodation. We drove past Burn How and dropped in to ask if there was any accommodation available. Melissa was excellent and arranged a room for us. The room was very clean and quiet with nice thick curtains to block out the Summer night light. Breakfast was fabulous with the best fresh raspberries and blueberries I have ever tasted. The lounge and dining facilities were very clam and serene and a beautiful quiet haven to relax after a busy day sight seeing. We will recommend Burn How to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tanya_liddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Thank you for your review, It is always nice to receive praise for a staff member, I have passed on your review to Melissa. It is also nice to know that you found the the hotel calm and serene, and that you enjoyed the fresh fruits that we provide on buffett for breakfast.
We look forward to meeting your friends if they venture this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    150
    33
    13
    8
See reviews for
111
337
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kurrajong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

This was the only accommodation left as we arrived late. The room was musty, dirty and smelt of dampness. The mattress was uncomfortable. Would have gone elsewhere if anything else was available. Paid 125 pounds, and was the worst accommodation we stayed in throughout our 3 weeks travel in the UK.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Orchards9900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
We were sorry to receive your review and read that you had found that the room was not to your liking. We have followed up your complaints and looked at the problems that you have highlighted
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

The Burn How was an excellent choice of hotel for us as it is very well situated for all amenities and is close to the lake.The breakfast is unbeatable and the dinners were sumptious.The garden chalet (No 3) was spacious and comfortable. It was clean and towels etc were renewed every day. It is possibly in need of a freshen up decor wise but overall we have no complaints at all, following our five day stay.

Room Tip: the garden chalets are very good value for one to four people and there is ample room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billy211248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
It is nice to receive your review, and appreciate feed back from the guests, we do have a programme for updating the rooms and decor and we are working on a section at a time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

As a fairly well travelled couple in our seventies we so enjoyed our stay at this hotel that we resolved to revisit as soon as possible. The whole experience was first class in every respect, from reservation to departure the entire staff were most helpful, pleasantly friendly and considerate without being overattentive. A small problem was dealt with in such a manner as to appear to have not been a problem at all. Requests were dealt with promptly and without demur.
The restaurant is well appointed with a comfortable adjoining lounge both providing a pleasant ambience. The food is of the highest quality, well presented and and served with quiet efficiency.
Because of a desire to have a particular room which was not available for our whole visit, we stayed in two rooms (Mews and Bay) both were exceptionally comfortable, clean and well equipped. We preferred the latter but don't ask me why.
This well run and beutifully located hotel is not inexpensive but in my opinion good vale for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
We were all delighted to receive such a wonderful review on all the aspects of the hotel Thank you from us all here at the Burn How. We hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Bay room soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

During our recent stay in the Lake District we dined at The Burn How Restaurant on several consecutive evenings. We were greeted, made very welcome, and directed to the lounge where we chose from a menu which was imaginative, changed every day and was very reasonably priced. The dining room is in a lovely position overlooking the garden with floor to ceiling windows giving it a conservatory feel. The food was of an excellent quality, well presented and was cooked to perfection. The meal was served by efficient and attentive staff. Nothing was too much trouble. After the meal we retired to the lounge and were able to take our time and enjoy the view of the beautiful gardens. We felt relaxed, at ease and unhurried. We shall certainly dine there again on our next visit to the lakes

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royshereturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
Thank you for your review on your dining experience with us, and we are pleased that you enjoyed not only the meal and service but the ambiance of the restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We had a meal here on a quiet Saturday night. There were no draught beers, nor any chilled Budweiser ! The restaurant was pleasant enough ,but there was no atmosphere, very dated and more suited to the older diner.
Service was good enough,but the food was dissapointing, my partner dislikes mushrooms,and made a point of mentioning this when ordering his steak, low and behold, it arrived with mushrooms. there are a lot of good restaurants in Bowness, for what we payed it needs to up its game.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank suebham28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
We are sorry that you felt that you had a bad experience when dining with us, and that you were served with mushrooms when not requested, and that you felt that the service was "only good enough."
We do offer over five different types of bottled beer and four of bottled lager to give guests a greater choice rather than have only one on draught, as we only have a small bar area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Many thanks to all the staff at the Burn How Hotel who helped to make my 50th Birthday a very special occassion. The Hotel was fantastic, spacious comfortable rooms; friendly nothing to much trouble staff; fabulous food; lovely grounds and only a short walk in to the centre of Bowness. We were a well behaved but noisy fun loving party of 20 all my family and friends were made to feel very welcome and very much at home they all had a great time. Much respect to the Chef who catered for our large party plus other guests to a very high standard the meals were excellent. Breakfast was plentiful with lots to choose from, a great start to the day. A special thanks also for being so kind and accomodating to my husband and guests who arrived unavoidably late.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelS_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
We were so pleased that you had a good birthday and enjoyed your stay with us here at the Burn How, and that your husband was able to join you for your celebration.
We have passed on your very nice comments to the Chef and her staff who greatly appreciated your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,857 reviews
1.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
968 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
994 reviews
1.6 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burn How Garden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Property: The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Address: Back Belsfield Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burn How Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Lake District hotel only two minutes stroll from Lake Windermere and the village of Bowness, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Burn How's unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available. Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £35.00 Per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 Gradients - but the views are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Burn How Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn How Hotel
Best Western Bowness On Windermere
Bowness-On-Windermere Best Western
The Burn How Garden House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing