We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$321
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
White Lodge Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (613)
Filter reviews
613 results
Traveller rating
398
160
34
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
398
160
34
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose gardenmews roomchalet stylethe main housebalcony overlookingfresh fruitpatio doorscumbrian breakfastlake districtevening mealfew minutes walkexcellent hotelroom was largewet roomvenisonmodern bathroomeggs benedict
Filter
Updating list...
524 - 529 of 613 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We have just returned from a birthday celebration stay at the Burn How Windermere -a first class hotel located in a quiet spot within five minutes walk from the lake and blessed with large and very comfortable bedrooms.
The restaurant is warm and welcoming and the food excellent, imaginative and well presented.
The staff are all very helpful and pleasant.
Well worth a visit!

Room Tip: Rooms on the left side of the drive are spacious and have balconies overlooking the garden. They are also fairly quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Excellent room. Excellent service.
Having stayed at numerous hotels in the Lakes over the years, we have to say the food was without doubt the best ever. Each course of the evening dinner was wonderful - congratulations to the chef. Will be visiting again and would recommend the Burn How to any traveller.

February 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a such a lovely review on the hotel, passing on feedback like this gives all the staff a boost. A special thank you from the chef to be passed on to you.
We all look forward to seeing you back at the Burn How in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We have just arrived home after celebrating our Wedding Anniversary at the Burn How, what a lovely hotel! It felt like stepping back in time, the staff were so kind and polite, the food was excellent, and nothing was to much trouble.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katejohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to place a review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us for your anniversary, and hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Burn How soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

stayed here in november and loved it ! will be returning very soon! the food was amazing ! theres nothing else to say.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We have stayed at the Burn How several times, Breakfasts are great so are the Fillet steaks, close to all amenities, always enjoy our return.

Room Tip: My husband is disabled, so we request Rose Garden room with walk in shower, plenty of space in room for wheelchair or mobility scooter, ramps are provided.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

We look foward to your return, to enjoy the breakfasts and the fillet steaks.
We have 2 of the ground floor rose garden rooms with wet room bathrooms whicha re accessable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews