We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A three day relaxing stay at Burn How Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A three day relaxing stay at Burn How Hotel!”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We really enjoyed a three day stay at the Burn How Hotel in May. The staff are very kind, friendly and helpful and want to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The hotel is spotloessly clean, the food excellent and the Chef to be commended. I would definitely go and visit again. - Oh and the gardens are beautiful!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renault44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
I have passed on your comments to the chef, which are always appreciated, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Burn How and our gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    150
    32
    13
    8
See reviews for
110
332
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed on a Thurs/Fri break so got a very good deal at £41 per person per night for a triple room. Our room had a disabled bathroom which was really good for mum. The surrounding gardens were beautiful and the breakfasts were excellent. The road to the hotel was on a bit of a hill, but then most on Bowness is! Staff were friendly and service excellent. We would stay again and recommend Burn Hows to others.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skimandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
We hope to welcome your return to the Burn How and thank you for your comments, we do have a variety of rooms to suit certain needs and we are always happy to discuss this with our guests for them to be able to escape, relax and unwind with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Lovely hotel. Big comfy rooms set around the gardens, chalet-style. Freindly, competant staff. Excellent food. What more can I say!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank felicia333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the hotel, it is nice to receive feedback from our guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

My husband booked the Burn How as a surprise for our 23rd wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived we were treated as special guests. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was lovely and our evening meal was supurb. Waiting for us at breakfast the next morning was a beautiful anniversary card from the staff at the hotel! No pomp and ceremony just a card. I will never forget this kindness. The staff are amazing and super friendly without fuss. We had two night at the hotel and neither of us wanted to leave. We will be going back very soon. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lipgloss26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review, it is so nice to know that you had an enjoyable anniversary and that you would like to return.
We look forward to seeing you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My room at the Burn How was separated from the main hotel and this appeared to be the norm for most rooms. It was clean and tidy with a dedicated parking space. Plus points include a nice location, clean room, pleasant staff and a lovely breakfast. Minus points for me include variable luck with getting hot water in the shower and too much noise from the neighbouring rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay with us as it is nice to receive feedback from our guests.
As you comment all of our rooms are situated within the grounds of the hotel, the main building housing the reception, lounge, restaurant and bar, we find that this gives our guests more privacy, it was unfortunate that you found that you had noisy neighbours during your stay as we were not made aware of this, we did not have the opportunity to deal with this for you. We were also sorry to read that you had problems with the shower in your room which will be looked into now that it has been brought to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2012

My stay at burn how was probably the best in a long time. The staff were polite and friendly with good knowledge of the area. The hotel is brilliantly situated just outside of the town with a short walk to lake windamere. The rooms were beautiful and the food magnificent. If anything could be changed I would say a bigger bath in the en-suite, as they were a little short. It was very quiet even though they had a band playing during the Bownes Blues Festival. Included in the price was breakfast with a wide variety to choose from. Definitely worth the cost.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alhoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
It is nice to read that you not only enjoyed the hotel, the good food and the surrounding area but that you were able to take part in the first Bowness Blues Festival.
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, and we hope it won't be too long until we can welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

No real complaints about this hotel or the service we received but for the cost we expected more. Having paid £290 for two nights in a 'Superior Double Room' we were disappointed. The rooms are a little like chalets and the small 'private patio' attached to our room on the ground floor was a bare concrete slab furnished with two plastic chairs but no table. We left the hotel feeling that for the same amount or less we could have got a better deal. Although it was perfectly pleasant it did not live up to other reviews we had read on Tripadvisor and would recommend comparing the alternatives before making a booking.

Room Tip: Don't pay a lot extra for a 'superior' room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
We were surprised to read your comments because you had originally booked a superior double room with an open balcony on the first floor, but after your telephone call and conversation we moved you to a ground floor room with covered patio on your request, which also leads directly onto the rose garden area, where there are three sets of wooden garden tables and chairs a few steps away.
We do as you say have 2 garden chairs on each of the private areas of the patios, and would have been happy to move a table next to the room as many guests request.
We do try to manage and exceed guests expectations as other reviews indicate, but sadly on this occasion this does not seem to have been the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burn How Garden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Property: The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Address: Back Belsfield Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burn How Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Lake District hotel only two minutes stroll from Lake Windermere and the village of Bowness, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Burn How's unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available. Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £35.00 Per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 Gradients - but the views are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Burn How Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn How Hotel
Best Western Bowness On Windermere
Bowness-On-Windermere Best Western
The Burn How Garden House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing