We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight Stay in February”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay in February”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Just returned after one night stay at Burn How Hotel with friends - lovely friendly welcome, each room has it's own parking space. Hotel looks a little tired on the outside but once inside, the room decor itself could not be faulted and the bathroom was spotless with a wonderful shower. Did not have an evening meal but breakfast was excellent with a large selection from cooked Cumbrian breakfast, omelettes, poached eggs to croissants, cereal, fresh fruit, yogurts etc. The only thing that spoilt our trip was the bed itself, very lumpy mattress and pillows but to be fair that may have been our particular room. This resulted in a night of no sleep and despite all the good points above, would probably result in us not stopping here in the future.

The hotel was in an excellent location for walking in to Bowness and I can recommend the Mela Indian Restaurant for an evening meal.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firecon28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
We were sorry to hear that you found you bed uncomfortable and that it spoilt your trip, we will certainly be looking into this, we are pleased that you enjoyed other points that you gave and thank you for taking the time to let us know .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    150
    32
    13
    8
See reviews for
110
332
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We booked a Garden room because it had accommodation suitable for limited mobility guests; with a wet room, level access & parking right outside it was perfect. We had a wonderful meal in the restaurant on the Saturday evening & breakfast on Sunday exceeded expectations. Very comfortable rooms, a little dated in fixtures & fittings but the decor was bright & modern. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for your recommendation, and all you lovely comments, it is especially good to have feedback on our rooms which are suitable for our guests with limited mobility. We hope that you will visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Great value break during the kids 1/2 term holidays. Staff very helpful and good with kids. Breakfast great with large selection of hot and cold food. Location very handy for lake and close to centre of Bowness but not to close. Stayed in Chalet type family room which was a good size for the 4 of us but view not great . The hotel however has rooms with better views over garden. The bar and restaurant area in the main house are very pleasant . We will come again

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alister O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
It will be nice to welcome you back when you visit Bowness again.
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, as it is good to receive our guests feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed her over valentines weekend it was a surprise trip away and I absolutely loved it I felt like I wax treated like a princess they couldn't do anymore for us the breakfast was outstanding lots of choices the location was perfect right near the lake excellent accommodation very clean and lots of space would deffinatly stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah_beckham1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you for your review, we are delighted to receive such a lovely review.
We hope that you will have another surprise weekend away orgainised for you soon and that it will be back with us at the Burn How
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My wife and i have just returned from short stay at the Burn How hotel (Jan 2013). We booked through Trivargo and got a good deal for the time of year. Our accommodation was away from the main part of the hotel but only a few yards from reception and the restaurant with lots of car parking available. The room was a good size and considering the weather nice and warm. The bathroom was spotless with both a bath and shower. The breakfast as previously mentioned on here was first class. A good selection of continental and the cooked English really set you up for a day exploring the lakes. The staff were extremely friendly and any problems or questions were addressed promptly and with a smile. The location was perfect just far from the centre that you can walk in without any problems but far enough away your from the crowds that i'm sure there are in the spring and summer months. We didn't try the restaurant in the evening so can't comment but the menu looked nice and if the breakfast is anything to go by i'm sure will be first class. I can recommend the Albert for food in the centre of Bowness and for a quiet nice drink in a local the Royal Oak a short walk from the hotel is very nice. All in all a lovely few days and i hope to be back soon. Thanks again for a lovely time.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
It is so nice to receive your review thank you for taking the time and letting us know that you had enjoyed your stay
We hope that you will try an evening meal with us on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at burn Howe from 30th dec to 2nd January. Many reviewers did comment that the hotel is in need of renovation, if this hotel was renovated like some of the more modern hotels in bowness then it would take away all the character and lakeside charm it holds - leave it be!! As specified by other reviews it was the best hotel breakfast we have ever had (we have been staying in the lakes for over ten years) fresh berries , a generous variety of cereals with a delicious full English or basically what ever you could wish for, no request was too much trouble. Dinner menu was good, food was fantastic, the best we have ever had in the lakes, a good wine menu too, compliments to the chef and also to the staff who were friendly, efficient and very hard working. We wouldn't think twice about staying at burn howe again, this was our second visit and won't be the last.

Room Tip: We stayed in a rose garden room superior. The bed was large and extremely comfortable. We had own pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenj1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, which I have passed on to all the staff.
It is so nice to have feedback and a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back later in the year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Chose to stay at the Burn How hotel for a short overnight break between Christmas and New Year. The B&B rate was reasonable considering the time of year.

We were pleasantly surprised by the standard and unique layout of the hotel. There is a choice of rooms, or family chalet type accommodation. There is a good selection of rooms, and we chose the 4-poster, which has a lot of character and a balcony overlooking lake windemere, through the trees - would be great in the summer.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and we were shown to our room.

We did not eat in the restaurant, but did have breakfast which was excellent in terms of quality / choice of foos, and the standard of service.

Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grizzly147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Thank you for your recommendation and for taking the time to let us know that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Burn How. We hope that we will see you again and that you will try the restaurant in the evening.
We wish you all the best for the New Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burn How Garden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Property: The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Address: Back Belsfield Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burn How Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Lake District hotel only two minutes stroll from Lake Windermere and the village of Bowness, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Burn How's unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available. Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £35.00 Per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 Gradients - but the views are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The Burn How Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn How Hotel
Best Western Bowness On Windermere
Bowness-On-Windermere Best Western
The Burn How Garden House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing