We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in the crown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Jewel in the crown”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This hotel and its staff are truely a jewel in the lake districts crown. My wife and i have just returned and we could not believe how everything was so proffesional,well done to all the staff and owners, there are not many hotels that come up to this standard. The food is to die for,pleasent staff, beautiful rooms, clean and everything in them you could wish for. Can,t wait to go back.

Room Tip: rooms15-18 all upper level with balcony over looking lake and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PETER P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send us your review, I have passed your lovely comments on the the staff and the chef, it is so nice to receive guest feedback. We look forward to your return to visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    150
    33
    13
    8
See reviews for
111
337
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Accrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed at Burn How for two nights at the end of April. First impressions not great, the hotel is more of a motel, chalet type rooms separate from the main building housing the reception, bar and restaurent. Rooms tidy, but tired looking. Hot water not consistant. Bar consisted of a chiller cabinet with a few bottles, no beers or soft drinks on tap, and prices were a good 50% more expensive than any other establishment in town. Breakfast was good. Overall poor standard of accomodation for price paid.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
We were sorry to read that you had not enjoyed your stay and that you thought that you were offered poor standard accommodation for the price, on your travel zoo offer.
We do have small bar which does offer varied local beers in bottles and a varied selection of soft drinks.
The hotel web site does describe that all of the rooms are within the grounds of the hotel for guests who have not stayed with us before, we are looking at your other comments you have left concerning the water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Just returned from a stay at the Burn Howe Hotel. The hotel is ideally situated for easy reach of Bowness. Our room was very clean and big. It was in a block of apartments just outside the hotel. A little bit noisy with apartments above as you could hear people walking about the breakfast was superb but we were a little bit disappointed with our evening meal. We had booked through Travelzoo and we felt were treated 2nd class in comparison to other people who had booked independently. They ordered from a bigger menu and my when my husbands steak arrived it was tiny in comparison to the gentle mans who was sitting next to us (he had ordered from the other menu). We had to send the steak back after all as it was smothered in a garlic sauce when we had ordered peppercorn. I had to eat my meal while my husband waited for his meal to com back. Coffee didn't arrive and after 15 minutes if waiting for it we left the table. The hotel did try to charge us for it when we left.

Room Tip: Top floor would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne_dixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
We were disappointed to read your review of your recent stay, however the guests book, doesn't alter how we treat them, all with curtesy and politeness. We are sorry that you felt that you were treat differently and that you had a bad experience with you meal. We have had glowing reports from other Travelzoo guests and we are sorry that your experience did not match your expectations on this occassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Travelzoo deal. Had a lovely large room, great shower, plenty of toiletries, warm fluffy well sized towels. Good selection of drinks on the hospitality tray, comfy bed. Food was fantastic, breakfast had an amazing selection of fresh fruit as well as the usual cereals and a diverse selection of cooked breakfast. All came complete with warm and friendly service. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you for your glowing review we hope to welcome you back to the Burn How
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Stayed here for two nights in April 2013, we had two rooms no 14 and 24. My room was 24 situated in the lodge, two flights of stairs but absolutely lovely. Loved the view from the window. Room 14 was a disabled access room. This had access to the terrace at the back.
Both rooms were spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was excellent, we didn't have an evening meal in the restaurant owing to them being fully booked.

The location is ideal for walking into Bowness were there are a wide selection of good restaurants to choose from.

This was my mum's 6th stay here and doesn't fail to tick all the boxes for her.

I think we will deffinatly visit again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boxmilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
We will look forward to welcoming you all back to visit us again. Thank you for reviewing both the rooms that you stayed in, and we hope that you will be able to try out the restaurant on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We took advantage of the travelzoo deal... we were shown to our room promptly on arrival and greeted very nicely..

Food was lovely the free bottle of wine was lovely during the evening meal.... breakfast was superb and staff were very pleasant...

Location was fantastic.... short walk to the shops and restaurants.....

We were given a family room very spacious and very comfortable....

A very pleasant stay a wonderful few days in the lake district.... id return if there was a reappearing offer..... fantastic value for money....

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gleneccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
We hope you will keep looking at the offers we have on our own site as well as the travel zoo site, we look forward to being able to welcome you back in the future for another visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Spent 1 night stay at the Burn How Hotel. Food beautiful, staff very friendly.
Well recommended. Probably one of the best and convenient places to stay while visiting the Lake District. Lovely gardens. We watched the birds feeding while enjoying a first class breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S1u2e3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Our guests certainly enjoy watching the birds on the feeders breakfasting at the same time, We are well placed for visits to the Lake District, where you can leave your car but still explore on the buses, boats or take a walk or bike ride
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,856 reviews
1.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
968 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
994 reviews
1.6 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burn How Garden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Property: The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Address: Back Belsfield Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burn How Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Lake District hotel only two minutes stroll from Lake Windermere and the village of Bowness, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Burn How's unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available. Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £35.00 Per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 Gradients - but the views are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Burn How Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn How Hotel
Best Western Bowness On Windermere
Bowness-On-Windermere Best Western
The Burn How Garden House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing