We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel. Great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed here for two night break, the first being at a special offer rate, including dinner with wine.

The food was quite simply superb and the breakfast fare hard to beat.

The 3 course dinner was effectively four, with the extra nibbles provided, and the wine offered matched the high quality of the food.

The breakfast buffet options included an excellent array of fresh fruit with the local blackberries being especially delicious. This was followed by a well cooked breakfast with good options if you can't manage a full English.

The accommodation was also very comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkNorthernLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to send your review it is nice to read that you enjoyed the package that we offered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

403 - 409 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

My partner, my teenage son and myself stayed here for 1 night as we had a wedding across the road. Now I like to write reviews as being a non complainer and I like to give a proper honest review. We booked this last minute after reading reviews in 1 already booked and being put off. So we cancelled and booked this having fantastic reviews.

We got there a little early for check in but our room was not ready as we expected. we were allowed to park outside our challet ready though. And the lovely cleaning guys did offer to clean our room imediately si we could get in but we were in no rush.
Location is great. Rooms very big where you can sleep a family of 5 in proper beds. 1 double, 1 single and bunk beds. Beds so comfy where I didn't want to get up in the morning.

Now for the negative part :( which I don't like to write. I was looking forward in the morning for the so called award winning breakfast. We all ordered the same breakfast (which shouldn't be difficult). 1 of us was missing sausage another was missing bacon 1 was missing fried bread and 1 of us got 1 egg while others got 2 eggs. Was almost like 1 breakfast and they split it between 3. Then you feel bad saying where's my sausage oh and where's my bread etc etc. (well i do anyway as i said i hate to complain and have people rally riund after me feeling like a nuisance).
I understand people like there eggs cooked differently especially being an ex chef myself but my egg was raw. Oh I like my egg runny but the white was Like jelly and I just couldn't eat it! My bacon was so crispy it snapped when I cut it (very over cooked) mushrooms a little tasteless. Was very upset after hearing it had won an award. Again I barely ever complain and love my food when others complain.
The fruit juice was nice and so was the tea. There seemed to be a good selection of fruit available and some cinnamon swirls to choose from.
My partner enjoyed but then he was enjoying the sausage that myself and son didn't get to try. I'm sorry but my breakfast was pants!

The waiters and waitresses were very nice and brought you extra toast if needed.
Overall all its a great place to stay and I probably will stay here again due to the nice spacious clean rooms and location. If I'd have had a good breakfast I'd say the price was good for 1 night.
So please don't be put off by my review, I only wanted to be honest. I just hope next time I can give it an excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherined78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

It was with disappointment that we have read your review concerning your breakfast, and feel it is a great shame that although you felt you didn't want to put anyone out, that you had not mentioned this to any of the staff so we could have had a chance to rectify this at the time.
Thank you for taking the time to make your review and it was nice to read that you will visit us again, where you will hopefully enjoy the breakfast that so many other guests have have given good reviews for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here for a relaxing two night break. This hotel fully met that objective. However the visit did not start very well. We were under the impression that we were to by given a disabled chalet (I am disabled). On arrival we were told that this was not possible but we would be given a ground floor room in another building. As we entered this room I was ready to have a good old moan with mutterings of what I was going to say on my tripadvisor review. These feeling immediately melted away. The room was large, well decorated, with a lovely view over what seemed to be 'our' garden. The bathroom looked very new and was equipped with a walk-in shower. There was plenty of storage space and two very comfortable chairs. All-in-all a very acceptable room.
We had dinner included in the price on our first night. The food was superb, We would not hesitate to recommend dinning at this hotel. In fact we took our own recommendation and booked dinner for the second night of our stay. Again this was an altogether excellent dinning experience.
The staff were very friendly and nothing seemed to much trouble for them.
The weather was beautiful whilst we were there and we had pre-dinner drinks on the terrace in the early evening sunshine (something of a novelty for the lake district in our experience). The terrace needed work on the flags as many of them were uneven and some were loose.
The guests were of an age where late nights and discos were not required and the bar was empty by 1015pm so if early nights are not your style - be warned!
This hotel is a gem in an area where there are many good/very good hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

We apologise that the start of your stay with us had a hiccup, and it is was so nice read that the ground floor room that had been allocated to you was suitable, and that you found the rest of your stay and the meals enjoyable. Thank you for your feedback concerning the patio and we certainly be looking at this. Thank you for taking the time to send us the review and we hope you will return in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Here at the moment.beautiful gardens, lovely rooms . Smashing breakfast.staff very eager to please. Mostly elder guests here which is fine they are quiet and well manored with great story's to tell.if you want a few days to chill out with lovely scenery and good service then you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suziepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Breakfast like a king watching the birds on the bird table. Fresh fruit to kippers. Very nice small gardens to look over from your balcony. Short walk to the lake or a restaurants. Over all a nice place to stay. The average age of the guest is over 80 with stories to tell. my wife was impressed by the rose themed loo. I liked the small range of whiskey.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunter1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

It is nice to read that you enjoyed your breakfast, and the choice of whisky, and that your wife was impressed with our rose loo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

This was our 2nd visit to Burn How and it was every good as the first. This visit was for our 24th wedding anniversary and once again we were made to feel special. The room we had (the rose garden) was amazing,ultra stylish and super clean. The restaurant is wonderful as is the food and service. Altogether a fabulous stay. We will be returning again next year.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lipgloss26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

We do try to make all our guests to feel special but we make it extra on a special occasion. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We managed to get a last minute room having looked and found no other suitable places in Bowness. The few we found had a minimum 2 night stay and where quite expensive so we were very pleased to get a room for a single night at a very reasonable price. It included all the basics you would expect of a 3* AA rated hotel, clear room, comfy bed etc. The room included breakfast which was good and had quite a few choices to suit everyone. The hotel is located 5 minutes walk from the town center and the lake so was an idea location.
Would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for something basic and not expensive. Note, even though the hotel website did not show any availability, we still managed to get a room after giving them a call so would recommend you do the same!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vishal p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

It is best to contact the hotel direct because things can change quite quickly. Usually it is a two night minimum stay but we try our best to accommodate people. Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3,039 reviews
1.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
772 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,076 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burn How Garden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Address: Back Belsfield Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £112 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burn How Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Lake District hotel only two minutes stroll from Lake Windermere and the village of Bowness, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Burn How's unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available. Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £35.00 Per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 Gradients - but the views are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Burn How Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn How Hotel
Best Western Bowness On Windermere
Bowness-On-Windermere Best Western
The Burn How Garden House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing