We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 1 June 2008

Just returned from a memorable 3 night stay at this wonderful hotel.
Our room 1 had a great view of garden and was a graet size for 3 of us(2 adults +_12yo) there was also a roleaway bed for a 4th person if needed. We found the room very comfertable and clean as was the bathroom, it was also very quite apart from the song of the birds wonderful.
All the staff were so helpful and frindley and nothing was to much trouble for them, a credit to the hotel.
The lounge was also very relaxing at night great for a pleasent night cap,Dont worry about no draugh beer pleanty of botteled local choice to enjoy.
Unfortunatly didnt get chance to have a evening meal, but the breakfasts were great lots of choice and the fresh fruites selection brilliant..
Dont be put off by any negitive comments about this hotel, we found it a absolute pleasure, with no downside,

  • Liked — Location, Staff friendleness, comfort.
  • Disliked — Nothing I can think off.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waspie500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    150
    33
    13
    8
See reviews for
111
337
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2008

Having read the reviews I was confident enough that it would be a good hotel.I booked 3 nights for Mid May-a great time to visit the Lakes.Everything is open but not too crowded.
The hotel is excellent.We had a comfortable room across from reception in another building.
The owner Michael knows how to run a good hotel.The food is exceptionally good-especially the cooked breakfast! The staff are helpful and cheerful and make you very welcome.
There are one or two critical reviews of the hotel but I would say they say more about the reviewer than the hotel-certainly from what I experienced.I have no hesitation in recommending The Burn How.
It is less than 5 minutes from the centre of Bowness and makes a good base for touring-ample parking in the grounds.Ther is also a small ,cosy bar for a drink.

  • Liked — Relaxed and informal
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington (uk)
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2008

I had a two night stay at the Burn How whilst on a course in the Lake District. The hotel is in an excellent location in Bowness within walking distance of town, very close to Lake Windermere and about 10 minutes in a taxi from Windermere station.

The hotel is separated with some chalet style rooms and an annex with several rooms in. The reception area is very small and backs onto to the bar; straight away you get the feel of a small family hotel rather than a large brand hotel. I checked in with the manager who was very pleasant and promptly showed me to my room in the annex building. The room was a reasonable size and very clean but very dated.

The TV must have been ten years old and gave me 4 channels! The décor was very flowery and the room could do with re-decorating but it was comfy and did the job.

That evening I ate in the hotel and must say the food was excellent. It’s not cheap but the set menu had a good choice, definitely worth a try. The bar is tiny, and they do not serve anything on draft, just bottles and cans. Based on the location there are plenty of good pubs locally so give those a try.

Overall this is a reasonable hotel for a few days in the Lakes.

  • Liked — Excellent Location
  • Disliked — Dated Decor
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graemeboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hessle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2008

I booked this hotel through bestwestern.com at a rate of £81 per night including breakfast.
The hotel itself is walking distance into Windermere, so whilst there is a car park, the bonus is that a night out means you can drink because you won't need your car.
Upon arriving you are met with an unusual set up - the hotel is made up of what seems to be three sectors - the main reception and restaurant (and possibly some rooms). Then across the courtyard there is the main rooms building which is where we were and then there appears to be some chalet type rooms. Unusual for any hotel in the UK, but not unpleasant.
Our room (20), was fine. The decor, like the building, is fairly old so don't expect any refurbished accommodation because it most certainly isn't. But, the bed was huge and the television also a fair size. The bathroom was clean and well kept.
We ate in the restaurant for breakfast on both days of our stay and found the food to be above average. Try the salmon with egg - they present it in an unusual way but I found it the best I have ever had.
The staff at the hotel were super friendly and very welcoming - we didn't meet any curt staff at all and that can be a downside of any hotel in the Lakes.
Overall, if you are looking for reasonably priced accommodation in a pleasant environment, you wouldn't go wrong here. But, don't expect an ultra-modern room.

  • Liked — Nice people and free (yes FREE) wi-fi which actually worked!
  • Disliked — Rooms would be superb if they were brought up to modern decor standard
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank neilyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2007

When checking in at reception they didnt have us booked down at first then they found us but they had got the details wrong. The chalet had dirty towels, dirty cups, dirty saucers etc. At midnight the heating went off completely and as the weather has been not good we were freezing by 3.00am. I telephoned emergency but they were NOT bothered, they said maybe it will come back on in a few minutes. It didnt so I rang again at 4.00am as our whole family was up at this time COLD! They said they had nothing to say when I rang them again for help at reception and did NOTHING. We just had to put up with it being cold. IT WAS LIKE SLEEPING IN OUR GARAGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We immediately left the hotel asap when it was convenient for us to leave with our children and ruined my mothers 60TH as soon as we could! We stayed here being a 'Best Western' but obviously Best Western dont care about this one! They CUT CORNERS here alright. The service in the so called bar was rubbish too the night before. Its the foreign staff again, cheap labour who are crap.

  • Liked — NOTHING
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank beatrixp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn. Norfolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2007

My husband and self came for a 4 night stay in one of the 4 poster rooms. We had been before and enjoyed it so we returned! We had a lovely stay. The room was spotless and extremely comfortable and the bathroom was also very clean.
Loads of tea, coffee etc and well replenished every day.
The staff were most friendly and courteous and even took the trouble to show us the "Bay room" as it was unoccupied and we want to return later in the year and stay there.
The food was excellent and staff are prepared to vary what is on the menu if you prefer a simpler dish to the ones on offer.
The restaurant and lounge areas are cosy and delightfully furnished and make for a really relaxing atmosphere.
We are looking forward to going back and recommend this hotel very highly.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank TeechEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2007

My husband and I decided last minute to have a short break in the Lake District at New Year.We were given the name of the hotel by the Tourist Information Office as they had heard of a vacancy due to a prior cancellation.
It wasn't cheap but the whole experience from arrival to departure was wonderful.
We arrived on New Year's Eve and were given a good welcome We were shown to our room which had a four poster bed and had obviously been newly decorated with a new bathroom, new carpets and curtains.Coffee, tea, chocolate, water, fruit juice and biscuits were in plentiful supply.
The two day break had been well-organised by the hotel.New Year's Eve dinner comprised Bucks Fizz and canapes followed by a 6 course dinner, champagne and fireworks to celebrate the start of 2007. The tables were arranged to seat 4-6 people which encouraged everyone to socialize.
New Year's Day started off with a hearty breakfast, a free boat trip on Lake Windermere, afternoon tea and another 6 course evening dinner followed by by an optional game of charades. We left after a very tasty breakfast the following day.
What can we say about the food?!!- absolutely delicious- an excellent choice of menu, very well presented and served.
My husband and I regularly stay in hotels but there was something very special about the Burn How Hotel which many hotels fail to provide - pleasant staff who treat you personally, as if they care and can't do enough to make your stay memorable.
We can't compliment the hotel Manager and his staff enough.
I'm sure we shall return.

  • Liked — Beautifully clean room/ fantastic food/ good location
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewmartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,853 reviews
1.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
993 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
965 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burn How Garden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Property: The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Address: Back Belsfield Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burn How Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Lake District hotel only two minutes stroll from Lake Windermere and the village of Bowness, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Burn How's unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available. Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £35.00 Per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 Gradients - but the views are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Burn How Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn How Hotel
Best Western Bowness On Windermere
Bowness-On-Windermere Best Western
The Burn How Garden House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing