We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A VERY PLEASANT SURPRISE.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013

more by accident than design we found ourselves at the Burn HOW [STREAM ON THE HILL] House Hotel on the week end of 26 and 27 july.What a delightfully hidden oasis of peace and tranquility.Because we got the last available room we didn;t mind walking up two flights of stairs to find a spacious room and a even more spacious king size bed.The en -suite was spotless and there was adequate wardrobe space.At breakfast the following morning we were escorted into the most beautifully furnished dining room and seated beside a very large window from where we watched a variety of small birds feeding. They were joined by a squirrel and a woodpecker but now on to breakfast. It was the best in terms of variety and quality that we have ever had.So impressed were we that we booked for dinner on the following evening.[it was excellent] Dorothy and Michael seemed to run the show and on leaving i told him that i would recommend his splendid hotel to every one in county Down.

Room Tip: If possible look at it before accepting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarsfield1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

It is with pleasure that we read your lovely review, and thank you in advance for the recommendations in County Down. We look forward to being able to welcome you back to visit us and enjoy so more breakfasts and dinners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

just arrived home from a fantastic short break. room was delightful everything amazing also had a balcony over looking rose garden. food 10/10 breakfast choice amazing. staff very friendly and helpful.should be a 4 star hotel ! would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: room 16 overlooking rose garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

We hope that we can welcome you back to visit us again, thank you for your lovely review and taking the time to send this

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Just arrived home from a fantastic weekend. Large suite with such a huge comfortable bed the Shower and bath huge. Private outdoor patio....this is the ideal venue for a romantic break with privacy. Great choice of breakfasts. Enjoyed a beautiful meal on saturday night, hubby had an amazing steak, I had the venison which was perfect.Service fantastic and not rushed. Can't recommend this place enough. It may not be the ultra modern boutique but who needs gimmicks when you have quality.

Room Tip: Booked through late rooms but better deals can be booked directly through hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for letting us know that you not only enjoyed the stay, and the food, but you have given such a lovely recommendation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed in the excellent Mews suite which was a large room with a separate sitting area & a large modern bathroom. Outside was a lovely garden with tables & chairs. We enjoyed dinner which was very reasonably priced & breakfast was lovely with a choice of cooked meals as well a selection of fruit, cerials etc. The staff were very attentive & obliging. Altogether a delightful hotel in which to stay.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 4Harvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

It is so nice to receive your review, thank you for taking the time and we hope to welcome you back soon to enjoy some more of our breakfasts and dinners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My first stay at this hotel and it wont be my last! Lovely hotel with various rooms ranging from the two bungalows Mews and Bay, I stayed in the Mews which is a large room with a separate TV area, room looks onto a private patio area, there are also rooms in the Lodge and also Chalets, all rooms are lovely. The breakfast is marvellous, plenty choices of hot and cold dishes, loved the fruit selection including melon and strawberries, yoghurts, Danish pastries and good selection of hot dishes with traditional full English or you can have scrambled egg on a toasted muffin plus other options. The restaurant looks onto the garden area and you can watch up close the birds and squirrels feeding! Staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very handy for the lake being just a few minutes walk and further up for various shops including Tesco Express and Coop and various fish and chips shops and ice cream stores. Very handy for getting the boat to either Ambleside or Lakeside and plenty buses and a taxi service by the lake.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank royaltraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you for your delightful review, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Got a deal with Travelzoo, otherwise would not have thought of staying here, as I know Bowness quite well. Again the deal was for DB&B so would more likely have gone out to dine as we know many good restaurants in Bowness and Windermere. Arrived and wended our way through chalets and various buildings and some lovely tended grounds. Met with a smile and said I would need a guide to find the room for me. Taken to a house some 50 yds from reception, and led to a room on the first floor. Given the keys to Room no 20 and told enjoy your stay. Opened the door and met with a wonderful view of rhodendron shrubs in full flower through a lovely large sash window. Then looked around only to find the bed was not made, rubbish was in the bin, the bathroom was a mess. Rang reception, and immediately profusely apologised and said we would be moved. Receptionist was at our door in 2 minutes, but we said we wanted to stay as we liked the room, but we were assured the other room was better. Taken to yet another building this time into a private courtyard and this time escorted into the room. Wow ! It is called the Mews. Spacious suite decorated in a traditional style,spacious bathroom with bath and separate shower, large bed and so comfortable. We're staying !!!
To keep this review short I will only say dinner was superb, and served by ever so friendly staff especially a lady who had been there for some 30 years I think she said. A choice of house wines were included and I recognised Casa Lapostelle ( a beautiful silky carmenere) could not believe it, house wine.! Then came breakfast. Led to our table with yet another sincere smile overlooking the garden, and the finest specimes of japanese acers you are ever likely to see. Now the food. Suffice to say I have never come across such a fine array of fresh fruit with berries galore. Strawberries, raspberries, blackberries fruits of the forest. No a forest of fruits !! The cooked breakfast with perfectly poached eggs, was as good as it gets.
We were on a deal, but were treated like you were VIPs with so many friendly smiles.
I could only do but one thing and that is recommend the Burn How to anyone who asked. The only downside is that they do not have any lake views, but then again that may be the reason they do everything else so well. If you do not stay here try out the restaurant anyway. Oh nearly forgot breakfast and the William Tell overture do not go together, but hey the food.

Room Tip: Room 20, beautiful view of rhodedendrons or for a special occasion the Mews Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmck01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you for your recommendation, and apologies that you found your first room had been serviced for your arrival.
We hope that since you have found us and enjoyed your stay, that you will visit us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Family run and it shows, the Gardens are beautifully kept and are a credit to them.
Our chalet room (no 9) was very comfortable and provided a good nights sleep for both my wife and I.
Dinner was exceptional with service to match,breakfast was also as expected.
The Hotel is situated a short walk (5 mins ) from the tourist bank of lake Windermere.
All in all a perfect place to stay in Windermere area.

Room Tip: For free wifi provided in you room,choose a room near to reception for the best signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

I have passed you lovely comments on to the chef and her team, and we thank you for taking the time to send in a review, we hope we can welcome you back to see us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,912 reviews
1.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,442 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burn How Garden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Address: Back Belsfield Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £102 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burn How Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Lake District hotel only two minutes stroll from Lake Windermere and the village of Bowness, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Burn How's unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available. Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £35.00 Per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 Gradients - but the views are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Burn How Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn How Hotel
Best Western Bowness On Windermere
Bowness-On-Windermere Best Western
The Burn How Garden House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing