We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mostly Good”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My wife and I booked for 3 nights for our Anniversary.

The rooms are in separate outbuilding blocks surrounded by lush gardens . Our superior room was spacious, well decorated, with two comfortable lounger chairs and good facilities.

We enjoyed the restaurant food, which was beautifully cooked and served in a lovely dining area. We tried a meal there the first night, and enjoyed it so much we ate there the following night as well. The staff were friendly, attentive and responsive to individual requests.

There is adequate parking space and Bowness town is accessible within a five minute walk.

We had a lovely superior room overlooking gardens - #16. However, the walls of the bedroom units were not well insulated for sound. I was disturbed by noisy conversations from adjoining rooms which could be heard distinctly. The sound from TVs easily permeated the walls and could be heard even when your own TV was on.

There was an issue with the plumbing with noisy pipes at 6am in the morning as the hot water tried to get through, waking me each time.

The staff received my complaints sympathetically. No other rooms were available, so I left one day early with their apologies and a discount.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for your review and your lovely comments.
We have looked in to the problem with the pipes and we are looking into the noise problem.
We apologise that you had to leave us early and that this affected your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    152
    33
    13
    8
See reviews for
111
339
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, Northants
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Lovely service.
Clean spacious rooms.
Delicious breakfast.
Lovely gardens.

We recently had a lovely 2 night stay here. We were 2 couple on a weekend of recreational walks and drinking.
Not prefect, but not far off - Happily stay here again.
All in all very good.

Room Tip: We did not use the pool or gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
We hope you had lots of pleasant walks and beverages during your stay. Thank you for your review of your your stay with us, and we hope that we will see you againa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Our latest stay at the hotel was again fantastic
The Room was a great standard and the service was fantastic
This is a great family owned hotel that always comes up to the mark.
Dinner was exceptional and the breakfast had plenty of choices.
Nothing is too much trouble at this hotel with friendly staff always willing to help with trips and information

Room Tip: We have stayed in the Garden rooms previously and these are very spacious This time we had the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to send your review, and for the lovely comments that you have made, We hope that you will stay again and will sample the dinners and friendly staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Arrived early evening after a 2 hour drive, was shown to our room no 17 which was located up a flight of stairs rather like an apartment block off set from the main reception area, room was mediocre with magnolia anaglypta walls and deep red carpets, very dated, room could definitely do with a revamp, breakfast first morning was a bit of a fiasco, my partner ordered coffee and I ordered tea, coffee came immediately, tea took about 20 minutes to arrive along with the toast, I had asked on 2 separate occasions where the tea and toast was, we had all but finished breakfast by the time the tea and toast arrived. On the plus side the hotel is very central to the town, the surroundings are lovely, gardens are well kept.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fifitrixibelle62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
It is with regret that we have read your review, and that it seems that you have not enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted the points you have raised and for all tea and toast are freshly made in the kitchen 20 minutes wait is excessive and we apologise for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
county down ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

more by accident than design we found ourselves at the Burn HOW [STREAM ON THE HILL] House Hotel on the week end of 26 and 27 july.What a delightfully hidden oasis of peace and tranquility.Because we got the last available room we didn;t mind walking up two flights of stairs to find a spacious room and a even more spacious king size bed.The en -suite was spotless and there was adequate wardrobe space.At breakfast the following morning we were escorted into the most beautifully furnished dining room and seated beside a very large window from where we watched a variety of small birds feeding. They were joined by a squirrel and a woodpecker but now on to breakfast. It was the best in terms of variety and quality that we have ever had.So impressed were we that we booked for dinner on the following evening.[it was excellent] Dorothy and Michael seemed to run the show and on leaving i told him that i would recommend his splendid hotel to every one in county Down.

Room Tip: If possible look at it before accepting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarsfield1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
It is with pleasure that we read your lovely review, and thank you in advance for the recommendations in County Down. We look forward to being able to welcome you back to visit us and enjoy so more breakfasts and dinners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

just arrived home from a fantastic short break. room was delightful everything amazing also had a balcony over looking rose garden. food 10/10 breakfast choice amazing. staff very friendly and helpful.should be a 4 star hotel ! would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: room 16 overlooking rose garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
We hope that we can welcome you back to visit us again, thank you for your lovely review and taking the time to send this
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Just arrived home from a fantastic weekend. Large suite with such a huge comfortable bed the Shower and bath huge. Private outdoor patio....this is the ideal venue for a romantic break with privacy. Great choice of breakfasts. Enjoyed a beautiful meal on saturday night, hubby had an amazing steak, I had the venison which was perfect.Service fantastic and not rushed. Can't recommend this place enough. It may not be the ultra modern boutique but who needs gimmicks when you have quality.

Room Tip: Booked through late rooms but better deals can be booked directly through hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for letting us know that you not only enjoyed the stay, and the food, but you have given such a lovely recommendation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,880 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,004 reviews
1.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
380 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
972 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burn How Garden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Property: The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Address: Back Belsfield Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burn How Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Lake District hotel only two minutes stroll from Lake Windermere and the village of Bowness, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Burn How's unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available. Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £35.00 Per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 Gradients - but the views are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Burn How Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn How Hotel
Best Western Bowness On Windermere
Bowness-On-Windermere Best Western
The Burn How Garden House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing