We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service but disappointing rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner had stayed at this hotel over 10 years ago when it was a best western. so we choose to return again but this time with our daughter.

I believe in giving a honest view after all this is what this site is for.

The location of the hotel is perfect for Bowness it was 10 mins walk to the resturants we used on both the Friday and Saturday evening.

Staff - faultless and could not do enough both reception, breakfast and general manger were helpful and polite

Breakfast was great, especially the fresh fruit which my daughter loved.

Unfortunately I feel the rooms are in much need of decoration/ updating. When we arrived on the Friday evening we were shown to our chalet room, which was a family room the bed was in a terrible condition I laid on it and there was no support at all we just sunk when we mentioned this to the receptionist we was instantly moved to another room (again the staff was very helpful and dealt with the matter ) the new room smelt foisty and damp and had wallpaper peeling from the walls, I thought the smell would go over time But it didn't the damp smelt the worse near the bedside table and no heating nor opening of windows would not clear the smell.

The next morning I approached the matter with the general manager who offered to moved us to another room. (Again I cannot stress the helpfulness ) When we returned from our day out this had been done the room was clean ( abeit a massive stain on the carpet ) but it did not smell which was good and the bed was comfy. And we had a far better nights sleep.

I recognise the bathrooms have been updated but I can't help but think that if the same applied to bedroom parts of the garden and chalet rooms then it would make the burn Howe perfect. We paid £300 for 2 nights stay which we feel was overpriced considering the state of the rooms

Once again cannot fault any of the staff.

Unfortunately I would not recommend this hotel (unless it has a big refurb)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AIMEEB_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

We were sorry that you had a disappointing start to your stay, and that we had to move your room.
We do have a programme of refurbishing the rooms and this is on going. We appreciate all feedback from the guests and we thank you for your nice comments which we passed on to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

383 - 389 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

We have just had a fantastic week here . Stayed in the mews room . Great room . Comfortable clean . And good facility's . Staff very helpful cant fault them . Thanx to them all . And looking forward to our next stay . Highly recommend a visit !!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for your review of your stay, It is nice to have feedback from the guests and to hear that you will return to see us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed for four nights at the hotel and found the accommodation, food and service were all excellent. Our room was large and nicely decorated and we had a French window that gave us excess to the garden. The meals were first class, I inadvertently ordered a meal which included mussels to which I'm allergic , this I didn't realize until it arrived, however, they straight away offered an alternative meal. The breakfasts are particularly good, certainly amongst the best we've ever had at a hotel . The staff were without fail all very helpful. I have seen a comment about the parking being difficult, however, we didn't find this the case as each room had its own parking area, and a normal driver would have no problem getting into it. We used the small gym and it was well equipped for our needs.
Should we visit the area again then we would certainly stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

It is good to read that you tried out the gym during your stay, and that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful, thank you for taking the time to review your stay and for all the lovely comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you are in the area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

8 Swiss people, students and teacher, spent one night in this lovely area. The rooms were pretty and spacious. The service was excellent and the staff were very friendly. The breakfast was just great, a big variety of fresh fruit is offered.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

It is good to know that you all had an enjoyable stay with us, we hope the rest of your trip went well.
Thank you for taking the time to make a review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Highly misleading website shows lush, private gardens surrounding large victorian house. In reality every spare inch of the grounds has been given over to 2 story flat roofed buildings, obviously designed in the 1970s. Exceptionally ugly, using unsympathetc materials (lots of concrete and painted metal). Parking a nightmare. Breakfast good but slow. Too few staff. Large comfortable bed let down by bedlinen a good 6 inches too small for the size of mattress. A shortage of lavatory paper in rooms and in conveniences in public areas. A dirty towel left on the floor to be replaced was put back on the towel rail, wet, over clean towels. Price charged at check out was £10 greater than that quoted at booking. Overall impression is that they are running on a financial shoe string. Wouldn't stay again. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

We read with sadness your review.
Our website does show the main house from the front garden, but it also shows the garden chalets and the rose garden block where you stayed and does not show just one image which could be misleading, all of the rooms are surrounded by gardens so we have to disagree with your statement. All of the rooms have numbered parking spaces and we have to rely on the guests to use these fairly and correctly.
Most of our guests do not want to feel that they are being rushed at breakfast, thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed our award winning breakfast. As for the remainder of your comments, if you had let us know during your stay these could have easily been rectified. Your remark at check out was resolved straight away, before you settled your bill.
We are sorry that you did not enjoy much of your stay, and it saddens us that you have had to wait to let us know via this medium.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed for another lovely weekend at the Burn How Hotel. We had a garden chalet which was spacious, comfortable and well appointed with parking just outside. Ate dinner in the excellent restaurant on Friday and Saturday - delicious, with local ingredients. The breakfasts are simply outstanding, and the welcome is always very warm and friendly. Bowness is a good spot from which to explore the Lake District. Will definitely be returning for another stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattLappin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

It was nice to be able to welcome you back for another stay with us, and another thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We have just stayed at the burn how garden hotel and we loved it....the only down side was we only stayed for one night. We stayed in the lodge,the room was large with two armchairs to sit in,bathroom was very clean with good selection of toiletries and lovely white thick towels,the tea tray was fully stocked which we really like with fab biscuits too.The gardens are beautiful and well looked after.The location if the hotel was great,right in the middle of things so easy to walk back and drop off the shopping.BREAKFAST well it was a banquet! There was so much to choose from and very polite staff topping up coffee and toast.I don't know what they could do to make it any better..it's not a boutique hotel but it wouldn't suit that look anyway...it just an honest lovely place to stay,we are already planning our next visit.WELL DONE

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

We hope that on your next visit you will be able to stay with us longer. Thank you for reviewing your stay with us and giving such a lovely description of the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3,039 reviews
1.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
772 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,076 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burn How Garden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Address: Back Belsfield Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £112 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burn How Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Lake District hotel only two minutes stroll from Lake Windermere and the village of Bowness, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Burn How's unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available. Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £35.00 Per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 Gradients - but the views are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Burn How Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn How Hotel
Best Western Bowness On Windermere
Bowness-On-Windermere Best Western
The Burn How Garden House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing