We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We've just returned from a most enjoyable two-night stay at the Burn How. We stayed in one of the Lodge Rooms which was very clean and warm. This hotel is a lovely peaceful retreat and only a short walk into Bowness. We were looked after very well by the staff. We dined both nights at the hotel and couldn't fault the choice nor quality of the food. There was an excellent choice for breakfast. If you enjoy a hearty breakfast, I recommend you try the cooked breakfast - you certainly won't need lunch afterwards!
If I had any niggles at all it would be to say that the dining room was a little chilly but I do tend to feel the cold!
All in all we had a very pleasant time in lovely surroundings.
We look forward to a return visit in the New Year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Burn How in the New Year, please mention if you feel chilly as we can soon arrange to turn the heating up for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    149
    32
    13
    8
See reviews for
109
329
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I would like to thank the staff of this nice hotel, for thier politeness and thier cleanliness, this hotel is very very nice, even the customers were very nice, my first visit to the lake area, and this hotel made it just perfect, it was very close to the lake and the centre of windermere, just 4 minutes walk from the hotel, the breakfast of this hotel is excellent, really award winning breakfast. parking is very easy, just beside the room, very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
I have passed your thanks on to all the staff, and it is so ice that you have reviewed your stay with us.
We hope that since you enjoyed your stay in the lakes that you will visit us once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here many years ago and thought we would give it another try. We booked at short notice when we decided to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary away from home. The staff were really pleasant and helpful during the week we stayed. The room was a good size with plenty of cupboard space. The gardens are really nice and well kept, we took loads of photographs just of the gardens.I thought the price for our stay was a little high and I did manage to talk it down a bit while booking, but we stayed during the school half term which usually means higher prices anyway. Having said that, a pleasant stay at a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stingray888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for letting us know that you had enjoyed your stay with us, and that you came back to visit us for your wedding anniversary. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel in late October with my wife and teenage daughter. On booking I found that the best rates are obtained online through Booking agencies who were typically up to 10% cheaper than a telephone quote from the hotel. The hotel matched the online quote but it should have been able to better the quote considering the commission they pay booking agencies.

The hotel itself is, as other reviewers have commented, an oasis of calm in Bowness but it has a very dated feel and my daughter observed it felt a bit like a retirement home. Nonetheless it was clean and warm and the breakfast was generally good. If you prefer your breakfast beverages by the pot stick to tea as strangely coffee is served by the cup..

On the last morning, as it was raining, my daughter used her umbrella while walking from our garden chalet to the main hotel for breakfast leaving it in the umbrella stand at reception. On going to leave the umbrella had disappeared. When we reported this to reception there was little sympathy and the occurrence was simply added to a list of similar occurrences. There was in fact an umbrella from a previous guest which had been recovered the previous day behind reception

My daughter decided to visit the chalets to see if anyone had the umbrella and one resident had seen someone leaving the premises with it heading into Bowness, After half an hour around Bowness in the rain my daughter spotted her umbrella and on challenging the person holding it was informed that the hotel reception had told them they could take 'any' umbrella from the umbrella strand at reception. So just be warned and my advice is to bring your coats and umbrellas into the dining room no matter what.

Checking out some 30 minutes or so after reporting the umbrella missing to reception the same receptionist didn't enquire if we'd found the umbrella nor asked if we'd enjoyed our stay. Sad to say we won't be returning.

Room Tip: gardbe chalets are fine if unattractive
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
We were pleased to hear that you were reunited with your umbrella in the village, used by someone else.
It would have been helpful to have been told that it had been found before you left, as our receptionist was looking out for it all day as promised
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a great weekend away in Bowness staying at BurnHow. We stayed as a foursome in the lodge in rooms 20 & 21. The room was large enough and the heating was piping hot. A couple of wee gripes concerning very squeaky floorboards but more so for other guests who may be staying in rooms below! We ate in the hotel on two occasions for an evening meal and each time the quality of the meals were excellent. I recommend the venison and lamb and the rest of my party were equally impressed with their menu choices. Nice range of breakfast options available and it's great they serve from 8 till 10! Hotel bar area is a little quiet but it's probably in keeping with the hotel character as a relaxing quiet country hotel. Bowness town centre a mere 5 mins walk so it's not too far to go if you are looking for the traditional lakes pub. Would happily stay again.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jonny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel , we hope that you will come back again with your friends in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

To quickly summarize:

* Messed up our booking which luckily didn't affect our stay
* Tiny, smelly, musty rooms
* 'no kids allowed' in some room types so our families were split throughout the various buildings in the complex
* Adequate food but one of our group became violently ill after one of the meals, we suspect the hollandaise sauce.
* No TV remote in our room - to which they replied: "It will be in there somewhere, just look for it"

Avoid this place, though I suspect many hotels in the lake district suffer from the same sorts of things. Unless one hotel becomes standout, there is little incentive for hoteliers to improve anything in such a popular and busy destination.

Room Tip: Bay and Mews seem to be nice rooms that are twice the size of the family room areas, and little less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spharris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
It saddened us to receive such a “summarised review”
We believe from the comments made that your group was the party who arrived a DAY EARLIER than was booked on a very busy Saturday. This was your error not ours. However we managed to fit you all in but not in the rooms you had originally booked. We needed to rearrange accommodation to fit you in. Subsequently your group had to be spilt up to facilitate 6 adults and 5 children.
Two of your group were put into compact doubles because that was all we had left which are neither “smelly nor musty”. On the second day of the groups stay they were asked if they would like to move to different rooms but they said they were quite happy to stay in the rooms allocated
Due to security and health and safety, all the family rooms are located in the building near to the main house
Nothing was reported to us about a guest feeling ill.
We cannot believe that you were told to look for the remote control yourselves,
One of your guests was upgraded to one of our de-luxe rooms at no extra charge in the Mews.
None of these points were raised at check out, when all guests are asked how they enjoyed their stay before leaving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Just returned from another lovely weekend at the Burn How. Comfortable nights sleep in a quiet room. Breakfast was delicious and staff very attentive. Would definitely recommend as a good central location in picturesque peaceful surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your recommendation, we look forward to future visits
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Burnside Hotel & Spa
Burnside Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burn How Garden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Property: The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Address: Back Belsfield Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burn How Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Lake District hotel only two minutes stroll from Lake Windermere and the village of Bowness, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Burn How's unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available. Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £35.00 Per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 Gradients - but the views are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Burn How Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn How Hotel
Best Western Bowness On Windermere
Bowness-On-Windermere Best Western
The Burn How Garden House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing