We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$419
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$301
US$291
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$240
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
White Lodge Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (607)
Filter reviews
607 results
Traveller rating
393
159
34
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
393
159
34
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose gardenmews roomchalet stylethe main housebalcony overlookingfresh fruitpatio doorscumbrian breakfastlake districtevening mealfew minutes walkexcellent hotelroom was largewet roomvenisonmodern bathroomeggs benedict
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
371 - 376 of 607 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

My partner recently booked this hotel for a weekend break.
The staff were very helpful and friendly and showed us to our room and where to park our car.
Our room (superior rose garden) was lovely, very spacious with good facilities and easy to access.
Breakfast was great, a large selection of fresh fruit and cereal as well as a choice of freshly cooked options.
All in all a brilliant hotel with very friendly staff situated in a great location about 3 minutes walk into Bowness!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurakhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for letting us know that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and for your lovely comments which have been passed on to the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We have not stayed in the lakes for many years and wanted a hotel only a short walk from the lake and Bowness.. We stayed at this hotel for four nights and what a good choice of hotel. The large room we had overlooked the gardens and the autumn colours, with private parking for each room, a gentle 5 mins stroll into Bowness .The cooked breakfast and fresh fruits make it the best ever whilst watching the birds in the garden. Staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We would recommend a stay here .A good location to explore the lakes and the coast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave-cartmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for your recommendation and for taking the time to send our review.
We hope that you will visit us again when exploring the Lake District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We've just returned from a most enjoyable two-night stay at the Burn How. We stayed in one of the Lodge Rooms which was very clean and warm. This hotel is a lovely peaceful retreat and only a short walk into Bowness. We were looked after very well by the staff. We dined both nights at the hotel and couldn't fault the choice nor quality of the food. There was an excellent choice for breakfast. If you enjoy a hearty breakfast, I recommend you try the cooked breakfast - you certainly won't need lunch afterwards!
If I had any niggles at all it would be to say that the dining room was a little chilly but I do tend to feel the cold!
All in all we had a very pleasant time in lovely surroundings.
We look forward to a return visit in the New Year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for your review of your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Burn How in the New Year, please mention if you feel chilly as we can soon arrange to turn the heating up for you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I would like to thank the staff of this nice hotel, for thier politeness and thier cleanliness, this hotel is very very nice, even the customers were very nice, my first visit to the lake area, and this hotel made it just perfect, it was very close to the lake and the centre of windermere, just 4 minutes walk from the hotel, the breakfast of this hotel is excellent, really award winning breakfast. parking is very easy, just beside the room, very good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

I have passed your thanks on to all the staff, and it is so ice that you have reviewed your stay with us.
We hope that since you enjoyed your stay in the lakes that you will visit us once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here many years ago and thought we would give it another try. We booked at short notice when we decided to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary away from home. The staff were really pleasant and helpful during the week we stayed. The room was a good size with plenty of cupboard space. The gardens are really nice and well kept, we took loads of photographs just of the gardens.I thought the price for our stay was a little high and I did manage to talk it down a bit while booking, but we stayed during the school half term which usually means higher prices anyway. Having said that, a pleasant stay at a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stingray888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for letting us know that you had enjoyed your stay with us, and that you came back to visit us for your wedding anniversary. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews