We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfectly situated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The hotel is idealy situated in the village of Bowness on Windermere. We arrived by train at Windermere and took a bus to Bowness, it stopped just two minutes walk from the hotel, just in front of the ferry pier. The hotel is in the center of the village wich makes it easy to go to restaurants.
Our beautiful room was in the lodge, on the second floor. It was clean an very roomy. We had a big window with a view on the hills on the other side of the laken and a good sized modern bathroom.
The breakfast in served in the main house, in a vey lovely and big room. Large choice of english dishes and also non english. Delicious!
The restaurant in the evening is also very good, lots of meat. You can also have sandwitches for lunch.
The staff was very helpful and professional.
We spend a wonderful time there and would be delighted to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

It is good to know that your return visit to us was enjoyed again. It can be difficult to always have a mattress to a guests taste, but please call us and the reception team will arrange a room with a firmer mattress for you when you are able to return to the lakes again, we look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights and delighted to find its as good as ever!
We've always stayed at the Burn How over the years, when in the Lake District, and it's a real find!
Back off the main road around the lake, so nice and quiet, with great spacey rooms and very friendly professional service - yet it's only a stroll into Bowness itself!
Lovely spacious chalet room, overlooking the garden, which was spotlessly clean. The chalet rooms have a double bed, single bed and a fold-down bed, so are great family rooms although there were only two of us.
Have to admit the double bed was way too low and soft for our taste, so we'll definitely need to check on that the next time we stay!
We had a beautiful meal in the restaurant on our first evening and the breakfasts are fantastic too!
As it was December it was quiet, but we expected that.
The staff were all lovely - very chatty, but not in your face, attentive, professional and couldn't do enough for you. Excellent!
Great to find that the Burn How has continued to maintain its excellent standard and service!
We'll definitely be returning!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the Burn How for another visit, thank you for your review of your last stay and letting us know how much you enjoyed it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel was very clean, the staff were very welcoming and so polite. The food was amazing. My husband booked this hotel online for a surprise romantic long weekend break. Boy did he pick a a little cracker. From the time we arrived, we were made to feel special, every little thing had been thought about, lovely items supplied in the room from biscuits and drinks to shampoo, soaps, sewing kits etc. Lovely little touches!!!! As for the food, it was amazing, lovely extensive, adventurous menu, and all cooked to perfection, and served with a smile from the polite waitresses. This hotel delivers a wonderful relaxing break in every way. I am disabled, and this hotel caters very well for disabled guests, as there are no steps, and the room had a well equiped wet room and plenty of space for wheelchairs etc, even an extra single bed if more sleeping space is needed. They have really put some thought into catering for guests with special needs. I cannot thank them enough for making our break such an enjoyable and joyous occasion. This hotel delivers a 5 star service, you will certainly not regret booking your getaway with them. My only regret is that we had to leave such a friendly, relaxed, welcoming place. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room which caters for disabled guests, as I myself am disabled. The disabled guest i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marley297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

I have passed all your wonderful comments onto the staff, thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and your feedback on your room, service and meals.
We look forward to being able to give you another warm welcome in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

the b&b we would use were having refurbishment, so wanted somewhere close to the lake, easy walking etc, just for a short break.
booked this through an 'online' agency and got a fantastic rate which for a hotel rather than b&b rates for the area made this choice even better!
we stayed in the Lodge, 1st floor room, and overall it was excellent. like some other comments, perhaps slightly older/dated decor but absolutely not an issue. the only niggle was the bed/mattress was a touch on the soft side [bit of roll together!] for us, but we still had a good sleep.
rooms were warm and the heating adjustable, and for a bonus for me is the ability to open the windows - even in cold weather I like my fresh air.
there was a bath, with a shower attachment, and there was plenty of hot water.
breakfast was a treat - with lots of fresh fruit and cereal choices, as well as a continental selection, and freshly squeezed orange juice. cooked breakfast was good and hot.
breakfast room staff were really helpful without being intrusive. we asked for a window seat both mornings and it was no trouble [even though they needed to re-set after the previous users].
the dining room is in the main reception building - so a short walk from the various accommodations on offer. there is also a bar/lounge area and being a hotel they offer evening meals.

overall i would say that this hotel isn't trying to be pretentious; its not 'boutique' or 'trendy' - its comfortable in its own traditional style - and if it isnt broken, don't fix it !!!
overall due to the rate we paid we were extremely lucky and got great value for money; in fact we were spoiled really compared to our usual b&b.

would certainly stay again if got another great rate !!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Burn How, thank you for your review and lovely comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We recently stayed for 2 nights and was attracted in the first place by favourable reviews on Trip Advisor.We only live about 35 miles from Bowness so know the area well,i am 6'7'' so opted for a King Size bed,understandably this was only available in a deluxe room.The hotel is a series of small buildings which makes it feel more relaxing and countryfide,it was also quiet although only a few minutes walk from Bowness centre.Our room was large with a seating area in one corner,we are both quite big so appreciate the space,nicely furnished,the bathroom featured a walk in shower which again is an advantage,some times the small shower cubicles you come across aren't big enough for me.
We only had breakfast but there was plenty of choice,the variety of fruits was particularly good,staff were friendly and have worked there a long time which is encouraging,nice view from the restuarant across the gardens.
All in all we enjoyed the 2 nights and would recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tangerinelancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for your recommendation and letting us know that you have enjoyed your stay, and that you found the room to be suitable for your needs, we hope that you will visit us again if having a break in Bowness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Excellent location - in the heart of Bowness close to shops and lake - 3 mins walk. Superior room was decorated in a modern style, modern furniture with nice lighting, lovely clean king size bed, leather reclining chairs, big wardrobe. Hospitality tray, toiletries, bathrobes and slippers. Flat screen TV, iron and ironing board and hairdryer all supplied. Had a balcony overlooking nice gardens. Breakfast is served in the main building adjacent which was well cooked and served by pleasant staff. Plenty of choice with fruit, cereals and juices. Designated parking space which is a real bonus. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the superior room as it is worth it for the private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mad-Maz999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

It was a pleasure to receive your review of your stay, thank you for taking the time to do this.
We will look forward to being able to welcome you back for another stay in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My wife and I have just spent a weekend at this fantastic hotel.
We had a superior room and it had everything you could wish for in it.
The staff were great and the food excellent, we could not fault anything and will certainly go there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a superior room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

It was nice to receive your review of your stay and be able to pass on your lovely comments to the staff, thank you, we hope to see you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,916 reviews
1.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
726 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,447 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burn How Garden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Address: Back Belsfield Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £102 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burn How Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Lake District hotel only two minutes stroll from Lake Windermere and the village of Bowness, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Burn How's unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available. Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £35.00 Per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 Gradients - but the views are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Burn How Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn How Hotel
Best Western Bowness On Windermere
Bowness-On-Windermere Best Western
The Burn How Garden House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing