We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
Book now, pay at stay
US$323
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$248/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$259/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Lodge Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (613)
Filter reviews
613 results
Traveller rating
398
160
34
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
398
160
34
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose gardenmews roomchalet stylethe main housebalcony overlookingfresh fruitpatio doorscumbrian breakfastlake districtevening mealfew minutes walkexcellent hotelroom was largewet roomvenisonmodern bathroomeggs benedict
Filter
Updating list...
356 - 361 of 613 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The room was comfy and big with a double bed and a single bed. There was a complementary tea and coffee facilities available in the room and ironing facilities. The bathroom was large and clean. The window view opened to a garden. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ILOINENPARI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay and of the hotel facilities, we hope you will visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just back from our 1 night stay at this 3 star hotel. On arrival my husband did comment that the hotel looked a bit dated from the outside but once inside reception the main building which includes the bar,restaurant and lounge area we were pleasantly surprised. Our room, room 13, which was based just behind reception in a separate building was lovely, it had its own patio was spacious and had a wet room style bathroom, very modern comfortable and clean. We ate in the restaurant, for our anniversary and enjoyed a brilliant meal with service which was second to none. A nice touch was that the hotel had placed an anniversary card on the table ready for our arrival. The lay out of the hotel is like a small village of its own, with the rooms all located with in pleasant gardens, a short walk one way and you reach the lake, the otherway takes you to the village within minutes. All in all we've had a lovely anniversary weekend in our 3 star hotel and as I said before I dont know what you have to do to get at least 4 star accreditation?

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacolin1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

We all enjoyed reading your review of your anniversary stay and all your lovely comments about the hotel and area.
It is always nice to be able to pass these on to the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Lovely welcoming staff. Large clean family room (a little dated) with bathroom which was all immaculately clean. Super location just a few minutes walk from the lake. Fantastic breakfast best we have had in any hotel for a long time!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 372rachel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for letting us know that you had an enjoyable stay and good breakfast, we hope that you will be able to return in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here on a driving holiday around North England and it was the most comfortable place we stayed (all the hotels cost about 75 pounds per night). Everything was provided in the room, the bed was very comfortable, the room large and well-maintained and the breakfast was fantastic. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank for your recommendation and taking the time to place your review, we hope that you will vist this way again and come back to stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Recently stayed here after several return visits over the past 10 years. Was disappointed to see standards had fallen. While our room was comfortable, it could have been cleaner especially the bathroom and the floors creaked dreadfully- we could here everything going on in the room next door ! The furniture was old fashioned and worn, as was the decor. We were looking forward to the breakfast but again this was not as good as we had remembered- the overall portion size had decreased considerably, our eggs were missed off the first day and on the second day my omelette was overcooked and did not taste good, while my husbands breakfast was burnt. We didn't complain as we prefer not to but I doubt we will be back.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

It sadden us to read your review and that you thought that standards had dropped.
It is disappointing that you did not mention this during your stay and had given us an opportunity to rectify any problems especially since you have visited before. We hope that you will come back to visit us again and experience a better stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews