We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
White Lodge Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (607)
Filter reviews
607 results
Traveller rating
393
159
34
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
393
159
34
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose gardenmews roomchalet stylethe main housebalcony overlookingfresh fruitpatio doorscumbrian breakfastlake districtevening mealfew minutes walkexcellent hotelroom was largewet roomvenisonmodern bathroomeggs benedict
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
338 - 343 of 607 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had stayed at this hotel before in 1999. In fact this was the hotel we got engaged!

This time round and 15 years later we booked a Family room via the Burn How's own website and paid £110 on a B&B basis.

The hotel is ideally located in Bowness. Basically a stones throw from the centre, but quiet enough to get a very good nights sleep.

Check-in was very smooth and from arrival we were in our Garden Chalet family room within minutes. These rooms are disconnected from the main hotel building. You can park your car directly outside which is a huge plus when taking luggage to your room.

The room was very clean and had all the necessary amenities you need. The beds were comfortable and the general are was very quiet, so excellent for a good nights sleep.

The only downside to the room and this is the only reason I don't give the Burn How five star rating was the fact the it felt very dated. The decor/furniture was straight out of the 80's as was the rest of the hotel. In saying that the bathroom was in complete contrast to the bedroom. Very modern and bright with very plush tap fittings. I am sure at some stage the bedrooms will get a refurb as I cant see why the owners would go to the expense of fitting out fantastic bathrooms, then leave the bedrooms as it highlights the need to get the bedrooms up to spec even more. This was my only (minor) criticism of the whole hotel and it would be completely unfair to pick holes in every single detail of the room as for us the whole package represented excellent value for money. Just being honest and I'm sure the owners and other reviewers would agree.

Breakfast consisted of a few tables of buffet style cold foods/drinks (cereals, fruits, juices etc), then you could table service order cooked food/coffee/tea. The Cumbrian cooked breakfast comes highly recommended.

All the staff were very friendly and welcoming and we would not hesitate to return to the Burn How if and when we return to Bowness.

Thank you for another great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAUL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

We hope that you will return to visit us again if in the area, although with families it can be difficult to arrange. Thank you for your review and we have noted your comments on the room. We do have a programme for refurbishment which we are working through

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Have stayed in the Burn How many times and have always been 100% satisfied but have not visited for a number of years. My wife and I decided to take a 3 night D/BB break in March and opted to return to the Burn How. What we discovered was the same standard of rooms (we stayed in a garden chalet which are excellent) large, comfortable, warm and maintained to the highest standard of cleanliness. The staff are still excellent, cheerful, efficient and will do their very best to meet your every need. The food is so tasteful and served to the very best standard. Breakfast is still excellent with a huge selection of cereals, yogurts, pastries and fresh fruit salads. The choice of cooked meals is excellent and cooked to your choice, no buffets at this hotel. What is oustanding is that these standards have been maintained from our very first visit until now. What is so satisfying is that after many years you can still visit this hotel and be confident that from check-in to departure you will obtain a very high standard of service from the staff, clean comfortable accommodation and a very good dining experience, and all of this is set in lovely grounds just a few minutes walk from Lake Windermere and Bowness.

Room Tip: The garden chalets are excellent (they are stone built) with private parking and most have a private patio. They are excellent for a family as they have a double and single bed together with a Z bed.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magpie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and it is so nice to pass reviews on to the staff of this nature.
It is also good to know that our standards have stayed the same on your visits and we hope this will continue for future visits

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed in one of the Garden Chalets for a two night break. We are a couple in our twenties and did not see anyone else our own age at this hotel but we had a great time and the staff were very friendly and helpfully. The room was clean and had everything we needed including an iron and full size ironing board. The bed was comfy and we had a great nights sleep. The water pressure was very good in the bathroom and towels were changed daily. Breakfast was great with a good choice. Just a short walk into the centre of Bowness which has plenty of restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter6168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We hope that you will visit us again if you are in the area, thank you for taking the time to send a review of you stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The service and quality of the food served in the hotel was excellent. Equal to that of a 5 * star hotel but without the pomp and ceremony!.
The breakfast table included freshly prepared fruit salad, berries,nuts,seeds,cereal, yogurts and pastries. This was all in addition to toast, cooked breakfast or a choice from an egg menu which included smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and a choice of omelette. Amazing! Dinner was equally impressive and was cooked to perfection. We were offered a choice of luxury chocolates with our coffee. A lovely touch.
The hotel is in a nice quiet location but only a few minutes walk from Bowness. The rooms are very spacious and most over look a garden area and have their own patio which would be lovely to enjoy in the summer. We will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to stay with us in the future.
Thank you for taking the time to send in your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Bowness has far too much motorized traffic and the hotel reflects this. Parking a nightmare of dinged body panels and reversing blind for oncoming traffic. Hotel a bit strange. Stayed in 'the lodge' a kind of separate house with attic rooms, other on-site chalet type rooms and other bits of accommodation all over the place. Shower very dangerous and unpredictable, bed linen not very clean (disgusting), bed like sleeping on a very large uncomfortable table. Breakfast buffet excellent but evening meal quite expensive and not really as described or very good. Decor is very tired and quite depressing, accompanied by the obligatory, far too loud, Muzak; for all the clientele with a battery budget for their hearing aids but not for modern, clean and efficient hotels, with decent parking.

Room Tip: Can't say due to the variety if buildings on-site. Maybe better than mine or not.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We are sorry you didn't like your room and only wish you had told us when you were here and we would have endeavoured to change your room, and acted to try to correct your problems. All our rooms have a dedicated parking space within the quiet grounds so we cannot understand your description you have made

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews