We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed in a very spacious, family garden room, quite old but immaculately kept with a modern white bathroom. Stayed for evening meal with silver service- the attention to detail was amazing with nothing being too much trouble. Our meals were fantastic, totally delicious and using locally produced foods where possible. Came back later in the evening with my mum and dad and were treated exceptionally again: children had hot chocolate and because there was a little left over in the jug they brought it for them to share; my dad was offered liquor chocolates with his coffee, etc. Breakfast was smashing: a whole range of fresh and dried fruits, cereals and amazing locally sourced cooked options. Will definitely return again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahqemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, which I have passed on to the staff especially the kitchen.
We look forward to your return in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
There are newer reviews for The Burn How Garden House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 299 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just recently stayed at the hotel after booking via travelzoo. What a superb example of how service and quality should be experienced. The food was second to none, I recommend the fillet steak, it was exceptional. The setting for your meals is so peaceful and calming you would not believe you were only a 2 minute stroll from the center of Windermere. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff here, not that we had anything to complain about because we didn't. I strongly recommend that you try and stay here, especially if you have children, lovely garden area for them to play safely in. Breakfasts are to die for!
We will certainly be returning to this little gem!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6, right at the end, lovely views.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for your wonderful recommendation, and your review of your stay.
We look forward to seeing again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Excellent location near the lake and the shops. Our room in the lodge was lovely, the bedroom had an older feel to it, but the bathroom was very modern. Very clean room with toiletries, very good drink making facilities. Plenty of parking space. Evening meal was delicious, good choice of food, and the staff were really lovely, nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was amazing, there was so much choice, everything very fresh. (I can understand why it has an award for their breakfast). Very enjoyable stay, will definitely go back, and will stay longer. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

We would like to thank you for your review of the hotel and your stay with us, we are still working hard to to keep our breakfast award, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed only one night but wished we could have stayed longer! We had a garden room(room 11) which although dated was lovely- we had the advantage of good weather and could open the patio door from our room and sit out on the veranda in the sun!! Very pleasant!! Bathroom has obviously just been refurbished- lovely! The evening meal was delicious, presentation and service fabulous! Great staff work here! Bed very comfortable! Breakfast next morning- amazing! can't think of anything that wasn't on offer- we will be back! The lovely Jean is a treasure- she could teach a lot of younger people what the hospitality business is all about!

Room Tip: Garden rooms although dated are lovely (when the sun is out), can sit out and relax
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluebell51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

It is always nice to be able to pass on lovely comments to staff which I have passed on to Jean, thank you for taking the time to post your review, and we hope that you will return and be able to stay with us for longer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is in a great location, just a short walk to the lake, boat trips, shops, crazy golf etc with parking on site, but it was very quiet. The staff were lovely & breakfast was fantastic, lots of choice and the fruit was very fresh.
The room we stayed is in need of refurbishment, quite dated, needed regrouting in the bathroom but was clean & beds comfortable.
Unfortunately we noticed our heating wasn't working on the 1 st night and although we were given a heater it wasn't big enough to heat the room, they got it going the next afternoon but we awoke the following morning at 6 (we have a 3 year old!) and it wasn't working again, we rang reception to be told by someone that reception didn't open til 7 and was finally given a heater again about 7.30, which again didn't produce much heat. The hotel did knock money off our bill, which we appreciated but we feel it should have been dealt with quicker and have larger heaters available.
It's a shame this happened, if it hadn't and the room was refurbished I wouldn't hesitate to give the hotel an excellent rating.

Room Tip: Not chalet 7!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoniaFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for your review and all your comments regarding your stay, and apologies
again due to the lack of heating, especially as the boiler broke down twice with 2 different problems which were unforeseen, we have taken on board your thoughts regarding the size of heater given to you, the room that you had is on our list to be refurbished at the end of the year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

An enjoyable stay at Burn How. Dinner was good and the staff friendly and informal. The dining room had a 1970's feel which was quite appealing. Our bedroom was a little dark and felt dated although it had obviously been decorated recently. Breakfast was excellent with a fantastic selection of fresh fruit. Burn How is very close to Bowness village and Lake Windermere which is an added bonus.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarrieGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for reviewing you stay with us and letting us know that you had enjoyed your meals, we hope that you will visit us again since you enjoyed the location as well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

we are a family of 2 adults and 3 kids ages 10,7and a 4 month old.we have just come back from 4 nights at BurnHow,and it was quite relaxing.burnhow is ideally located if you prefer to stay near the town n lake.you could easily walk down to the town ,walks and lakes withing few minutes,this was the reason we stayed here as paying for parking everyday could be another expense.we stayed in a chalet style room no.10,it was spacious and everything was provided along with the baby cot.our little girl is 4 months old and this room was good for us as with her pram and carry cot we didnt had to do any struggle carrying it up and down ,but next time i would prefer having a room with garden views unlike this room which windows open towards the other chalets.so had to keep the curtain drawn as didnt want to disturb other people.decor is definitley dated and needs some tlc,as for the bathroom ,it was very small for us.our kids are not used to a small bathroom so it was a hassle when they wanted to take a shower .
the staff is marvelous ,take cares of you very well.our room was cleaned everyday and it was such a relieve to return to a clean room with fresh towels everyday.breakfast was lovely and quite a selection of fresh fruits ,juices.all in all breakfast is great .had dinner in the restaurant and i would rate it 10/10,it was lovely .we only ate there once as our baby use to make noises during meal time ,and it was uncomfortable for most of the people staying there.the noticeble thing is most of the guests were over sixties.
next time will definitely be coming but would like to have a room with a view.i recommend eating at the restaurant if you are staying there as its delecious,well presented and compared to the other restaurants in town is resonably priced.we wanted the kids to have a experience of an old style hotel so it was.

Room Tip: stayed at room 10 ,a big window which opens in the parking and other small window towards the other...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nazia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

It is so nice to receive your review of your stay, unfortunately the family rooms that accommodate 3 children do not look look directly over the gardens. These rooms are next to be updated hopefully at the end of the year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,896 reviews
1.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
981 reviews
1.6 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
698 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burn How Garden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Address: Back Belsfield Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £106 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burn How Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Lake District hotel only two minutes stroll from Lake Windermere and the village of Bowness, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Burn How's unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available. Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £35.00 Per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 Gradients - but the views are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Burn How Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn How Hotel
Best Western Bowness On Windermere
Bowness-On-Windermere Best Western
The Burn How Garden House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing