We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good hotel, excellent food”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel in mid-April for two nights on a Travelzoo offer. The staff were generally very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent - both the evening meal and the breakfast with its vast selection of fruit. Service was variable at both meals, with tea and toast taking a very long time one morning. We stayed on the first floor in the big house, rather than in the chalets, which we were pleased about (note some rooms are quite a bit smaller than others). The accommodation was good, but could do with a bit of a face lift. Only 5 minutes walk to the lake.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElTelDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay and we have taken on board your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    150
    32
    13
    8
See reviews for
110
333
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Web spent 4 days here. we stayed here some years ago and thoroughly enjoyed it. However, this time we felt that the garden chalet rooms are in need of a facelift. Breakfast was very tasty and staff were very friendly and helpful. some problems with car parking beside the chalets.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eilish_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay. We have noted your thoughts on a facelift for your room. We hope you will return to see us soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Hi just spent a night here , we stayed In room 6 could not complain room was clean and very spacious , beds very comfy, staff helpful and very friendly... Breakfast was very nice to, spoilt for choice , great location , as for a review about plastic cups surly that not s bad thing at least you know there clean

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Monki007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your taking the time to review your stay and giving us your feedback which is always helpful, we hope that you will be able to come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We spent a Saturday night at this hotel.
It is like stepping back to the 8's. The lounge area is full of old fashioned furniture. Similarly,our room,in a block designed a bit like a holiday camp,was in dire need of an update. The bathroom was large but nowhere to put toilet bags etc. There was shower curtain across the bath.
The beds had reached the end of their life.
At £130 a night,I felt that I could expect a proper glass,not a disposable one wrapped in a plastic bag.
The room had a nice outside seating area,but this was a bit tatty and not too clean.
We had intended to have dinner,but when we discovered that only one other couple was expected,we declined. The close proximity to Bowness and it's restaurants is a plus point.
The staff were pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was good but in a hotel of this size I do not expect to be asked the day before,what time we would like breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay, which we have noted and taken on aboard.
We were sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My husband and I spend a lovely three night break at this hotel. I am disabled so have to have ground floor accommodation, I can honestly say I haven't come across such a friendly place in all our years of holidaying (we are in our mid sixties)we just wanted to relax so had our meals brought to us in our room, polite and friendly, they just couldn't do enough to please. The only downside was the bed, it was too hard for my old bones but we had a family room so I slept in the softer single bed. I would highly recommend this hotel, we will be going back over and over again. The food was beautifully cooked, presented and served, what a treat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and letting us know that you had enjoyed your time with us
We were sorry to read that you found the bed too hard for you, but hope that you had a good rest in the single one
We do look forward to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed in a very spacious, family garden room, quite old but immaculately kept with a modern white bathroom. Stayed for evening meal with silver service- the attention to detail was amazing with nothing being too much trouble. Our meals were fantastic, totally delicious and using locally produced foods where possible. Came back later in the evening with my mum and dad and were treated exceptionally again: children had hot chocolate and because there was a little left over in the jug they brought it for them to share; my dad was offered liquor chocolates with his coffee, etc. Breakfast was smashing: a whole range of fresh and dried fruits, cereals and amazing locally sourced cooked options. Will definitely return again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahqemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, which I have passed on to the staff especially the kitchen.
We look forward to your return in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just recently stayed at the hotel after booking via travelzoo. What a superb example of how service and quality should be experienced. The food was second to none, I recommend the fillet steak, it was exceptional. The setting for your meals is so peaceful and calming you would not believe you were only a 2 minute stroll from the center of Windermere. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff here, not that we had anything to complain about because we didn't. I strongly recommend that you try and stay here, especially if you have children, lovely garden area for them to play safely in. Breakfasts are to die for!
We will certainly be returning to this little gem!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6, right at the end, lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your wonderful recommendation, and your review of your stay.
We look forward to seeing again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burn How Garden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Property: The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Address: Back Belsfield Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burn How Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Lake District hotel only two minutes stroll from Lake Windermere and the village of Bowness, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Burn How's unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available. Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £35.00 Per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 Gradients - but the views are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Burn How Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn How Hotel
Best Western Bowness On Windermere
Bowness-On-Windermere Best Western
The Burn How Garden House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing