We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights recently for a break to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Excellent location and easy to find. We were given a chalet room which was large but dated and needed a face lift. Room large and beds comfy with plenty of storage and Bathroom basic but clean and tea tray was well stocked. Lovely location and gardens well kept. Some of the other chalet rooms overlooked the gardens and all had balconys's and as I informed them that it was our anniversary I thought we may have got a nicer outlook rather than opposite the hotel door. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice and good service however all in all I think it was expensive for what we got. The room pictures on the site all appear to be of the upgraded rooms and not the chalets.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam32Middlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

We have looked at your comments and your review and thank you for taking the time to send this in. In the gallery we have all the rooms shown, we do try to upgrade our guest if possible if they are celebrating a special occasion but this is not always possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
There are newer reviews for The Burn How Garden House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

This little inn is so pretty, we are reluctant to leave for the day to sightsee. We have a spectacular view of rhododendrons from our groundfloor window. The breakfast has won well- deserved awards. Mmmmm! And the dinners are for the gourmand to rave about. The staff is really friendly. We will return to this garden hotel many times in the future as the guests we have met have done--one couple every year for over 30 years. Romantic, idyllic little gem of a place.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindymiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments and letting us know how much you have enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Burn How

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel in mid-April for two nights on a Travelzoo offer. The staff were generally very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent - both the evening meal and the breakfast with its vast selection of fruit. Service was variable at both meals, with tea and toast taking a very long time one morning. We stayed on the first floor in the big house, rather than in the chalets, which we were pleased about (note some rooms are quite a bit smaller than others). The accommodation was good, but could do with a bit of a face lift. Only 5 minutes walk to the lake.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElTelDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay and we have taken on board your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Web spent 4 days here. we stayed here some years ago and thoroughly enjoyed it. However, this time we felt that the garden chalet rooms are in need of a facelift. Breakfast was very tasty and staff were very friendly and helpful. some problems with car parking beside the chalets.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eilish_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay. We have noted your thoughts on a facelift for your room. We hope you will return to see us soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Hi just spent a night here , we stayed In room 6 could not complain room was clean and very spacious , beds very comfy, staff helpful and very friendly... Breakfast was very nice to, spoilt for choice , great location , as for a review about plastic cups surly that not s bad thing at least you know there clean

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Monki007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your taking the time to review your stay and giving us your feedback which is always helpful, we hope that you will be able to come back and see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We spent a Saturday night at this hotel.
It is like stepping back to the 8's. The lounge area is full of old fashioned furniture. Similarly,our room,in a block designed a bit like a holiday camp,was in dire need of an update. The bathroom was large but nowhere to put toilet bags etc. There was shower curtain across the bath.
The beds had reached the end of their life.
At £130 a night,I felt that I could expect a proper glass,not a disposable one wrapped in a plastic bag.
The room had a nice outside seating area,but this was a bit tatty and not too clean.
We had intended to have dinner,but when we discovered that only one other couple was expected,we declined. The close proximity to Bowness and it's restaurants is a plus point.
The staff were pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was good but in a hotel of this size I do not expect to be asked the day before,what time we would like breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay, which we have noted and taken on aboard.
We were sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My husband and I spend a lovely three night break at this hotel. I am disabled so have to have ground floor accommodation, I can honestly say I haven't come across such a friendly place in all our years of holidaying (we are in our mid sixties)we just wanted to relax so had our meals brought to us in our room, polite and friendly, they just couldn't do enough to please. The only downside was the bed, it was too hard for my old bones but we had a family room so I slept in the softer single bed. I would highly recommend this hotel, we will be going back over and over again. The food was beautifully cooked, presented and served, what a treat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and letting us know that you had enjoyed your time with us
We were sorry to read that you found the bed too hard for you, but hope that you had a good rest in the single one
We do look forward to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,898 reviews
1.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
981 reviews
1.6 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
701 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burn How Garden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Address: Back Belsfield Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £106 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burn How Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Lake District hotel only two minutes stroll from Lake Windermere and the village of Bowness, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Burn How's unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available. Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £35.00 Per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 Gradients - but the views are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Burn How Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn How Hotel
Best Western Bowness On Windermere
Bowness-On-Windermere Best Western
The Burn How Garden House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing