We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
White Lodge Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (607)
Filter reviews
607 results
Traveller rating
393
159
34
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
393
159
34
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose gardenmews roomchalet stylethe main housebalcony overlookingfresh fruitpatio doorscumbrian breakfastlake districtevening mealfew minutes walkexcellent hotelroom was largewet roomvenisonmodern bathroomeggs benedict
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
316 - 321 of 607 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

we stayed here for 3 nights after staying last year. We were a little disappointed as we had hoped for one of the chalet rooms that we had last year, but as we were a fairly late booking I assumed they were all full. The room we had was in the lodge - room 22, and although it was a lovely room, it was on the small side. The bathroom didnt leave much room for manoeuvre! That aside, it was very private and had a nice view. The staff were excellent and friendly (as last year) and the breakfast was the best breakfast I have ever had. Personally I am a lover of fresh fruit at breakfast - and the choice of fresh fruits was vast - lovely and fresh - simply wonderful. there is also a really good choice of cooked breakfasts - (in additon to a full english) - and it was nice to have that choice. The Burn How is a lovely central location - only a few minutes walk to the Lake. We will definitely be going back to this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bev E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for your review and the lovely comments given. When you make your booking if you mention that you prefer a chalet room we will always try to accommodate a request for a certain room. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Don't be put off by any negative reviews!
From booking to departing we found the staff welcoming and helpful.
Stayed in room 20 in the main house with view of beautiful magnolia tree.
Very clean with comfortable king size bed.
Food was superb!! Well done to the chef and his team.
The staff were a good mix of ages and nationalities and this only added to the overall experience!
A very relaxing break. We hope to return soon.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank HearnClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for sending your lovely review, we hope t welcome you back soon.
It is always a pleasure to pass on such nice comments to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights recently for a break to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Excellent location and easy to find. We were given a chalet room which was large but dated and needed a face lift. Room large and beds comfy with plenty of storage and Bathroom basic but clean and tea tray was well stocked. Lovely location and gardens well kept. Some of the other chalet rooms overlooked the gardens and all had balconys's and as I informed them that it was our anniversary I thought we may have got a nicer outlook rather than opposite the hotel door. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice and good service however all in all I think it was expensive for what we got. The room pictures on the site all appear to be of the upgraded rooms and not the chalets.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam32Middlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

We have looked at your comments and your review and thank you for taking the time to send this in. In the gallery we have all the rooms shown, we do try to upgrade our guest if possible if they are celebrating a special occasion but this is not always possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

This little inn is so pretty, we are reluctant to leave for the day to sightsee. We have a spectacular view of rhododendrons from our groundfloor window. The breakfast has won well- deserved awards. Mmmmm! And the dinners are for the gourmand to rave about. The staff is really friendly. We will return to this garden hotel many times in the future as the guests we have met have done--one couple every year for over 30 years. Romantic, idyllic little gem of a place.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindymiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments and letting us know how much you have enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Burn How

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel in mid-April for two nights on a Travelzoo offer. The staff were generally very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent - both the evening meal and the breakfast with its vast selection of fruit. Service was variable at both meals, with tea and toast taking a very long time one morning. We stayed on the first floor in the big house, rather than in the chalets, which we were pleased about (note some rooms are quite a bit smaller than others). The accommodation was good, but could do with a bit of a face lift. Only 5 minutes walk to the lake.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElTelDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay and we have taken on board your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews