We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break in the Lake District”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This Hotel provides unusual accommodation in the fact that all the rooms are away from the main house, which provides all the other facilities. The up side to this is the extra space given and individual outside space, and although we had perfect weather, if it was raining one would have to carry an umbrella for the walk to the main building. But to me the advantages of the accommodation at this hotel far out way the dis-advantages. Its only a short walk to the lakeside, and the village, which is a bonus, and is mainly flat another advantage.

Room Tip: A courtyard room is particularly nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maurice a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us and letting us know your thoughts on the layout of the hotel we always appreciate guests view on the unusual layout of the rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

281 - 287 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

A family gathering of 20 or so ages 6 months to 71 were accommodated and made very welcome. The rooms were excellent as were the staff (Dorothy and Linda in particular).Food was very good although the bar was a tad expensive and with-out any draught ales. Car parking was good and free and a very short walk into Windermere.

Room Tip: Our room 21 was excellent but other rooms on ground floor had terraces ideal for children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and celebration, We have passed on your lovely comments to Dorothy and Linda.
We hope that you and your family will visit us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed here 5/6 July and found the rooms comfortable and clean. Parking was available outside our rooms which was very convenient. The hangers in the wardrobe were much too high for us so we had to live out of the suitcase which wasn't a problem for 2 days but would have been a trial for longer. Near to all the amenities. Breakfast was excellent with the main course freshly cooked and piping hot. As far as the complaints about small portions was concerned many people went back to the buffet for seconds and for the cooked breakfast you could choose as much or as little as you wanted. Perfectly adequate for us. One slight problem with a telephone message about anti allergy bedding not being passed on but this was rectified within a few minutes. On the whole a most enjoyable weekend.

Room Tip: We had room 13 which had a wet room with a seat and an outside patio with garden furniture
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

We were sorry to read that your message had not been passed on so your room was not ready as expected for your arrival.
Thank you for your comments on your stay and letting us know that you had enjoyed your weekend.
We are looking at your comment concerning the hangers in the wardrobe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Me my wife and 2 children stayed in a garden chalet and it was everything we needed , absolutely spotless and very comfy beds . Plenty of choice for breakfast and all of us enjoyed it , we enjoyed our stay so much we've booked again for the end of august

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay, we look forward to welcoming you back in August

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

It was our first time in the lakes and after a lot of internet searching finally decided on the Burn How and what a lovely hotel this is the breakfasts were plentiful evening meal was fab,the staff were warm and friendly and to top it all was a 2minute stroll to the lake.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for letting us know that you have enjoyed your anniversary stay with us and that you found your first trip the lakes enjoyable

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Kind and supportive Staff in the tradition of yester year where the customer counts--absolutely lovely, excellent food and exceptional breakfasts.
Room was well furnished with all mod cons in a refreshing style.

Room Tip: If you are a romantic they have a four poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jonnoGrantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
I have passed on your kind remarks to the staff
We hope that you will be able visit us again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Chose this hotel from booking.com site. We were pleasantly suprised on arrival. Excellent situation - only a few minutes walk from lake but quiet and secluded. fab food - so much choice for breakfast. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and all our requests were met with smiles. Would certainly vixit again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lynda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future, thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,947 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
738 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burn How Garden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Address: Back Belsfield Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £70 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burn How Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Lake District hotel only two minutes stroll from Lake Windermere and the village of Bowness, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Burn How's unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available. Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £35.00 Per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 Gradients - but the views are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Burn How Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn How Hotel
Best Western Bowness On Windermere
Bowness-On-Windermere Best Western
The Burn How Garden House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing