We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We stayed at this hotel recently and were very unimpressed by pretty much everything. Where to start! First off the staff were very unhelpfull, and didnt give a welcoming feel to us as guests. The hotel, is actually a bunch of outbuildings and not all contained in the one building, which makes it more of a motel than a proper hotel. Really this place is more like an overdone B&B rather than a hotel, and that makes it overpriced. The rooms were cold, damp and had a musty smell, although the rooms was quite large. The internet is provided via Wifi and it doesnt reach most of the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeh501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

565 - 571 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2009

I stayed at the hotel for four days: I had a bedroom overlooking the garden; it was very quiet. the food in the hotel is of a very high standard and the stay was very enjoyable.
Its only a short walk to Bowness and the lake.
The hotel advertises wireless internet but this did not seem to be available: that would be my only small criticism.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

We stayed in this hotel a couple of years ago and returned only because of its location - a short walk into Bowness - a lovely town. Hotel also has a free car park.
We were reluctant to return because of the disappointment we experienced on our first visit - the room was small with nothing special about it at all to warrant the hefty price.
But we returned this year, as we weren't sure of any other hotels in the area. Again we were disappointed with the room. Top floor of the main house. En-suite - but the washbasin wasn't even in the bathroom. They have obviously tried to fit in as much as possible in as little space as possible.
The staff were very pleasant. Breakfast was good - although if you ask for beans with your full breakfast don't expect any more than a teaspoonful. Ask for mixed toast and you only get one round of white and brown. Between 2 people? Cost cutting obviously. Although you could always ask for more.
The younger female waitresses hung around the table the whole time we were eating, waiting to take our plates - very annoying. We never ate an evening meal there due to the prices.
A pleasant hotel - but very pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainbowcymraeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

we arrived at the burn how at about 7.30 on a friday night and were given the keys to a chalet. The room stunk of foist and we requested a change of room. we were then changed to a room within the old converted house on site, we ended up with a lovely room. Dont book a room that might be a chalet , they stink and they expect 130 pounds a night for the use of it.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
4  Thank arniebudgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We chose to stay in the Burn How as a last minute break during the holidays. The room was quite expensive for a four night stay, however, it was worth it as the location of the hotel is brilliant - set just behind the Belsfield Hotel, close enough to the 'main' part of Bowness of restaurants and bars, but far enough away to be unbothered by the hustle and bustle that surrounded the holiday weekend.

The staff were friendly and attentive to our needs, and gave a warm and friendly atmosphere to the hotel that meant we new straight away we would be catered for in the hotel aptly. We enjoyed our stay at the Burn How thoroughly, however, some points made our stay a little less enjoyable than we would have liked.

Our shower had a strange habit of turning itself on in the middle of the night (the shower was brilliant to actually shower in) and being high powered, it made a large noise that kept us awake. This was often at around midnight, and kept me awake for quite a while. It was also impossible to switch off, as the dial did not actually move but the shower was turned on.

The cleaner had a habit of leaving the window open - we were situated on the bottom floor of the lodge- and was quite disconcerting considering our room had my partner's laptop in worth +1k, and various other items of value sentimentally as well as money wise.

On the whole, the experience was made as enjoyable as possible by the staff at the Burn How, and was an overall good hotel and brilliant location.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malli123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2009

This was a last minute booking so we took a chance and booked without doing our usual research and we were pleasantly surprised.

Our initial phone call was answered by a very friendly welcoming lady that remembered us when we arrived and even showed us to our room.

The hotel is unusual in that it has accommodation blocks on site all with allocated parking and a lodge house a bit like a motel. The main hotel building has the reception, bar and restaurant.

Our room had a four poster, patio doors and a balcony with a pleasant view. The room was large with a lounge area and included a table chairs and very well appointed with a range of teas, coffees, biscuits. It had an iron (kept her happy), ironing board, trouser press etc.

The room was starting to look a little dated in décor but this did not spoil our stay in the slightest.

All of the staff were friendly and professional. The breakfast was first class and we would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RocketIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2009

Having stayed here a number of years ago we returned for a one night break and were not disappointed. Our very spacious room was set upstairs in a seperate block with patio doors opening onto a small balcony with uninterupted views over the adjacent hills.
The staff are very friendly and attentive (without being intrusive). We ate in and have no complaints about the high quality and delivery of the evening meal.
I had the impression that upgrading work may be taking place as the carpet in our room was obviously new and the bathroom looked newly refurbished.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tr250man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3,037 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,508 reviews
1.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,073 reviews
1.6 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
769 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burn How Garden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Address: Back Belsfield Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £105 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burn How Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Lake District hotel only two minutes stroll from Lake Windermere and the village of Bowness, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Burn How's unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available. Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £35.00 Per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 Gradients - but the views are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Burn How Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn How Hotel
Best Western Bowness On Windermere
Bowness-On-Windermere Best Western
The Burn How Garden House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing