We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Low Fell

Low Fell
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Low Fell
Bristol
Level Contributor
217 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

In an attempt not to add too much to other reviews, I can reiterate that Low Fell is to be recommended. Low Fell is located within a few minutes walk of Bowness and has parking. The owners are friendly and very helpful and the beds are very comfortable. A very good b+b in an excellent location.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mew20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rugby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2010

Stayed at Low Fell for Valentines 2010, couldn't wish for more. Stayed in the 'snug' which is the top level of the house which makes it very private and quiet.
House is immaculate and so is the service, Steve, Louise & Granny are all very helpful and can't do enough for you.
Breakfast is great with freshly baked bread and croissants each morning accompanied by Granny with a weather report!
Great location just 5 mins (if that) from Windemere and Bowness town centre.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danchidlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2009

We were recommended Low Fell by a friend and after reading some positive reviews on Tripadvisor booked a two night stay.

Our stay was like staying with family, it was very relaxed and had everything you needed for exploring Central Lake District and beyond.

The owners (Louise and Steve) were very helpful but not overbearing, which we found just the right mix.

Breakfast was gorgeous, fresh and home cooked with specials on each day.

Special mention to Becky, their gorgeous dog and this review would not be complete without mentioning Louise's Mum who was wonderful and who we wanted to take home with us, every home should have one!

Would most definitely recommend Low Fell to anyone considering a visit to the Lake District because of the above and also as you can walk into Bowness in 5 minutes, for shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wisc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2009

My husband and I stayed in April and thoroughly enjoyed our time at Low-Fell as we were made to feel very welcome by the family. Louise offers a great breakfast menu and the food was delicious!!! We stayed in the 'hideaway' at the top of the house and we loved it up there, very comfortable, roomy, cosy and clean. Louise gave us lots of tips and advice as well as the loan of several maps and this was very helpful in choosing what to do as this was our first visit to the Lake District. We have no hesitation in recommending this lovely B&B and the warmth and generosity of the owners - Louise and Steve, and we would go back!!
Thank you for making our time so memorable- S & V

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunlightDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

We stayed for 2 nights and wish we could have stayed longer, Louise and her family are the perfect hosts. The room was perfect ,very clean and well presented. The B & B is in a perfect location ,quiet and peacful but just a short walk to pubs and restaurants.
The breakfast was excellent and plentiful. This B & B in our view has to be the best we have stayed in the UK ,and would definitely recommend a stay here when visiting the Lakes.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macgac_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffs
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2008

Wow! we recently had the good fortune to stay here for a couple of nights and were most definately delighted with our choice. Frrom the first contact with the hotel I knew I had made a good choice as Louise was so friendly from the offset. I was supplied with lots of useful information about the hotel and places to visit whilst so we could make the most of the time there.

On arrival we were immediately made to feel at home and were really impressed with the lovely 'hideaway' in the attic, with its luxurious bathroom, 6ft bed, sumptuous soft furnishings, relaxing corner with CD/radio, fridge, and the extra space of the additional double room. All with lovely touches like the fresh milk for drinks, the soft fluffy bathrobe and towels etc etc.

Breakfast was a very sociable affair with the guests eating at one big table which was really nice and we certainly met some lovely fellow guests. The food was absolutely devine - my only regret was we only stayed 2 night as I would have loved to sample more. The full breakfasts, freshly baked bread, tasty pancakes were all out of this world, all served in the lovely dining room overlooking the garden.

During our stay we had lots of suggestions and recommendations from Louise which helped us to make the most of our stay including places to eat, where to visit, best routes etc. etc

Thanks for a fantastic break.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank StaffsRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2008

If you ever want to stay in a special place around Windermere then try this one, I stayed here for a few days to walk and relax and was not disappointed, fantastic scenary, the food was exquisite and served on a large circular round table, the welcome warm and friendly and the "at home" atmosphere 2nd to none.
Most of what I think has already been said ... recommended...completely.

  • Liked — The position of the guest house and the welcome
  • Disliked — The last day.
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank McClint0ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel & Spa
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel ...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lingwood Lodge
Lingwood Lodge
#8 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Nagoya Country House
The Nagoya Country House
#20 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holmlea Guest House
Holmlea Guest House
#28 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.2 mi away
May Cottage
May Cottage
#13 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#1 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Fell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Fell

Property: Low Fell
Address: Ferney Green, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful and immaculately kept old lakeland house ideally located just a five minute walk from the lakeshore and from Bowness. Bowness is the only village actually on the edge of Lake Windermere - beware of confusing Bowness with Windermere village which is a 25 minute walk from the lake! Leave your car in our roomy private drive and catch a boat bus or ferry for the day, or simply hike the glorious fells on our doorstep. Acre of sunny secluded garden, huge heavenly beds, delicious aga breakfasts and really nice people! (Please no smoking in the house - puffers in the bushes no problem!) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Low Fell Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing