We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You couldn.t get a lovelier place to stay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandown Guest House
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Me and my Partner spent a weekend back in March at the Sandown Guest House. We couldn't fault it. The location is great, the room was lovely and the family who run it couldn't be more friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and overtall we had a really good stay and would recommend it highly to anyone. I am sorry I didn't get round to reviewing it earlier.

We look forward to returning.

Tom and Sophie from London

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Thank you for your kind review it is really appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Georgeene & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

This B and B was a wonderful place with friendly service, clean and comfortable rooms, great breakfast and fantastic location. Georgee the host was able to recommend a wonderful walk through the local mountains and lakes.
Recommend to anyone visiting the Lakes District.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Rebekah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Hi and thanks for your review, it was nice to meet all the family and glad you enjoyed Claiffe Heights and Hill Top. Hope your trip back home to Austraila goes well. Regards Georgeene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Found this guest house after looking at a few others and we are so glad we did. Georgie was very friendly and welcoming and we felt like we were in the company of a friend. Our room was spotless, clean and beautifully decorated. It was like a home away from home. Great location and Georgie was full of information which we were grateful for. definitely would recommend. price was the best around by far. Mandy and Ste. Liverpool

Room Tip: Perfect in every way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Hi you two and thanks for the great review, glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon. PS Hope your car was OK?! Georgeene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I made my booking last minute and from the start the owners were so helpful and friendly. The location is spectacular and my room was beautiful. Travelling on my own meant I was grateful to be greeted and treated like an old friend. All my questions in terms of where to go and eat were answered with pleasure and I instantly felt at home. The food was delicous and I can't wait to go back. If your visiting the lakes, this is where you want to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beccahankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Many thanks for your great review we really appreciate it and we enjoyed meeting you too. Good luck with the exams and we hope to see you again soon to celebrate! Warm regards Georgeene & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Arrived last minute to a warm welcome. Great location, rooms with modern decor, good breakfast. Everyone was friendly, recommended good restaurants and had a good knowledge of the area. Would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Many thanks for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look foward to seeing you again soon. Enjoy the sunshine! Georgeene & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Me and my partner had a lovely stay at the Sandown Guest House. Smiling faces, comfortable beds, practical rooms, great breakfast, flexible staff - and right in the middle of town. Definately a place I would return to, if I am ever near Windermere again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdelbergDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Just arrived back from a weekend stay at Sandown. The 6 of us had all the 3 double bedrooms so we had the place to ourselves which was great. The owners Georgeene & Mark are very heplful and friendly from the e-mails, booking, arriving and departing. They recommended eating at Villa Positana an Italian in the centre so there's no need to drive which is a bonus, the food was excellent but booking is essencial as it's very busy. To sum it up if you want to stay somewhere local within walking distance to shops, pubs and restraunts, comfortable, modern and clean, great breatfast and value for money then Sandown is the place for you. My only negative feedback which is only small and would not put me off booking again was our matress was too hard for us as we are so used to our soft one! We all came away saying the same thing "When are we booking again?" Thank you once again to you both for making our weekend a really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Many thanks for adding a review for Sandown. We enjoyed meeting you all and hope you can escape again soon!! Kindest regards Georgeene & Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.3 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,038 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
736 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,456 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandown Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandown Guest House

Address: Lake Road | Bowness-on-Windermere, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £50 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandown is located in Bowness-on-Windermere. Guest rooms have shower en-suite, flat screen TV & free Wi-Fi. Located just a 5 minute stroll to the Lake Windermere and Bowness. Private free parking are provided. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandown Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing