We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandown Guest House
Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Nice place”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

A lovely guest house. Georgeene and staff were very helpful. Rooms very clean and cosy. Great breakfast. Hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Many thanks for your comments and great to meet you, maybe next time on a new motorbike!! Georgeene & Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
52
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Mark and Georgene were very friendly and welcoming. Rooms were good, but on the small side, especially for my parents who probably spent more time in their room than most of guests as they are elderly and the weather was very cold. The bathroom in Mum and Dad's room was particularly small.

The lake is indeed a five minute walk, but be aware it's at the bottom of a steep hill which may challenge older people and the unfit. Wi-fi didn't work in my room at all, but did on the second story. Room radiators are centrally controlled and go off during the night.

Breakfast is only served between 9-9.30am, which was a bit late for us, and is up a flight of stairs. Parking was good and essential.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnPat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
It is always great to receive reviews and likewise we are always happy to listen to constructive feedback, however it is also better, in the interests of reviewing, for a rating to be given which is actually representational of the visit. So we were quite shocked to see that Ms Paterson had given us an ‘Average’ score, although we have seen that she has also rated everywhere else stayed the same rating and with some of the same comments. But I feel we should probably just add to the above some of the extra things we did for this family which have not been mentioned: We knew on enquiry that the mother could not climb our internal 10 stairs to the breakfast room so we had already suggested and pre-arranged to provide breakfast trays’ in the guestroom for both mother and father (so he could keep mother company!). Out of our kindness we also did all the family’s washing for them on 2 separate days (day one we offered, day 2 they found more washing and asked us so we happily obliged, I am unaware of even 5 star hotels offering to do this). We were not asked for a earlier breakfast time and Ms Paterson usually came up to breakfast after 9am anyway for tea and toast only likewise if the family had wanted the central heating on in the middle of night in May they only had to ask, neither of these things were mentioned to us. The whole guesthouse has WI-Fi and the signal is usually good in all our guestrooms but as this was obviously not good in single room we are now installing a better router so the signal is improved in that room. The weather and the short stroll (down) to the Lake, very unfortunately, is not within our control; but we were a little surprised each evening when the whole family chose to walk to the village given that the mother could not even climb our 10 internal stairs, and when there is parking all the way down the hill and at the Lake. Sorry that all our efforts only warranted us an Average, but we will try harder ….. Mark & Georgeene!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlette, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on 9th and 10th April. We were warmly welcomed by Georgeene and Mark into their very comfortable and beautifully furnished B&B and felt at home straight away. They gave us lots of helpful tips about places to visit and information about restaurants close by. It's in a great location and easy walking distance down to the lake and the shops in Bowness and Windermere. We would highly recommend Sandown Guest House and would love to return one day. Thanks Georgeene and Mark for making our stay so pleasant..we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Phil & Jenny great to meet you and share your travel stories. Really glad you enjoyed your quick trip to the Lakes and many thanks for posting a review on Sandown. We are now saving so we have afford to sit around that famous infinity pool at the top of the world!! Happy travels Georgeene & Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I had wanted to visit Lake District for some time and stayed at Sandown for a couple of nights. Sandown is a great place to stay. It is comfortable and has excellent location to see the Lake district from. The hosts are warm, friendly and helpful. I am glad I took their advice on the places I should see.. I hope to return to Sandown with my Family.
- Vijay

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Vijay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Good to meet you & glad you enjoyed the 1/2 day trip and the walk too. Good luck with the project in Leeds and you never know we may see you again with the family or we may even make it out to India at some point soon!!! Kind regards Georgeene & Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymm, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We were warmly welcomed by mine host Georgeene who put us at ease straightaway.

The room was very comfortable, nice and warm.

All the facilities were to hand so we wanted for nothing.

The longe/dining area was very comfortable with a wide screen TV, books and magazines etc.

The breakfast was superb and served piping hot.

The location was ideal being just 5 minutes walk away from the centre of Windermere and the same in the other direction to Bowness and the lake and all that it had to offer.

All in all we had a very pleasant stay and would recommend the Sandown to anyone wanting to visit that area of the Lake Disrict.

Room Tip: Rooms are very quiet so a good nights sleep is assured.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARNOLD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
It was lovely meeting you both and thank you for your kind words. Hope you enjoyed the beer horace!! We all look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best Georgeene & Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2012

A very modern yet homely B & B. We wanted a couple of night s away at the end of the school Easter Holidays and found Sandown at the last minute. For a last minute B & B I wasn't expecting very much. Well what a surprise. It was in a great location and the room was a good size for myself, my husband and our Golden Retriever. Our dog was made most welcome and that is important to us when we choose our accomodation. You could tell the house had been recently renovated and was very fresh and welcoming. The breakfast in the morning was great even the dog got some goodies for his breakfast. Both Georgene and her husband were very friendly and chatty. We would recommend this B & B and we will be back again.

Room Tip: We were given a slightly larger room because we had a big dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thank you for your kind review it is really appreciated, we really enjoyed spoiling Baise, she was beautiful, and we look forward to seeing you all again soon. Georgeene & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Had a lovely night here over Easter, the location is ideal, being just a stroll from all the shops in Bowness. Our room was lovely, and the hosts were so helpful and friendly making our short stay perfect. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheadleHulmeSmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thank you for your review it is appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Georgeene & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#18 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monties Bed and Breakfast
Monties Bed and Breakfast
#48 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holly Cottages Guest House
Holly Cottages Guest House
#49 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elim House
Elim House
#38 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandown Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandown Guest House

Property: Sandown Guest House
Address: Lake Road | Bowness-on-Windermere, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandown is a newly refurbished Guesthouse in Bowness-on-Windermere. Guest rooms have shower en-suite, flat screen TV & free Wi-Fi. Located just a 5 minute stroll to the Lake Windermere and Bowness. Private parking and breakfast locally sourced. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandown Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing