We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandown Guest House
Nearby Hotels
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$321
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$274
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
78
8
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
8
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfew minutes walkgreat locationshops restaurantsa lovely stayhome from homelakes
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2012

A lovely guest house. Georgeene and staff were very helpful. Rooms very clean and cosy. Great breakfast. Hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Many thanks for your comments and great to meet you, maybe next time on a new motorbike!! Georgeene & Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Mark and Georgene were very friendly and welcoming. Rooms were good, but on the small side, especially for my parents who probably spent more time in their room than most of guests as they are elderly and the weather was very cold. The bathroom in Mum and Dad's room was particularly small.

The lake is indeed a five minute walk, but be aware it's at the bottom of a steep hill which may challenge older people and the unfit. Wi-fi didn't work in my room at all, but did on the second story. Room radiators are centrally controlled and go off during the night.

Breakfast is only served between 9-9.30am, which was a bit late for us, and is up a flight of stairs. Parking was good and essential.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnPat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

It is always great to receive reviews and likewise we are always happy to listen to constructive feedback, however it is also better, in the interests of reviewing, for a rating to be given which is actually representational of the visit. So we were quite shocked to see that Ms Paterson had given us an ‘Average’ score, although we have seen that she has also rated everywhere else stayed the same rating and with some of the same comments. But I feel we should probably just add to the above some of the extra things we did for this family which have not been mentioned: We knew on enquiry that the mother could not climb our internal 10 stairs to the breakfast room so we had already suggested and pre-arranged to provide breakfast trays’ in the guestroom for both mother and father (so he could keep mother company!). Out of our kindness we also did all the family’s washing for them on 2 separate days (day one we offered, day 2 they found more washing and asked us so we happily obliged, I am unaware of even 5 star hotels offering to do this). We were not asked for a earlier breakfast time and Ms Paterson usually came up to breakfast after 9am anyway for tea and toast only likewise if the family had wanted the central heating on in the middle of night in May they only had to ask, neither of these things were mentioned to us. The whole guesthouse has WI-Fi and the signal is usually good in all our guestrooms but as this was obviously not good in single room we are now installing a better router so the signal is improved in that room. The weather and the short stroll (down) to the Lake, very unfortunately, is not within our control; but we were a little surprised each evening when the whole family chose to walk to the village given that the mother could not even climb our 10 internal stairs, and when there is parking all the way down the hill and at the Lake. Sorry that all our efforts only warranted us an Average, but we will try harder ….. Mark & Georgeene!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on 9th and 10th April. We were warmly welcomed by Georgeene and Mark into their very comfortable and beautifully furnished B&B and felt at home straight away. They gave us lots of helpful tips about places to visit and information about restaurants close by. It's in a great location and easy walking distance down to the lake and the shops in Bowness and Windermere. We would highly recommend Sandown Guest House and would love to return one day. Thanks Georgeene and Mark for making our stay so pleasant..we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Phil & Jenny great to meet you and share your travel stories. Really glad you enjoyed your quick trip to the Lakes and many thanks for posting a review on Sandown. We are now saving so we have afford to sit around that famous infinity pool at the top of the world!! Happy travels Georgeene & Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I had wanted to visit Lake District for some time and stayed at Sandown for a couple of nights. Sandown is a great place to stay. It is comfortable and has excellent location to see the Lake district from. The hosts are warm, friendly and helpful. I am glad I took their advice on the places I should see.. I hope to return to Sandown with my Family.
- Vijay

Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
Thank Vijay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Good to meet you & glad you enjoyed the 1/2 day trip and the walk too. Good luck with the project in Leeds and you never know we may see you again with the family or we may even make it out to India at some point soon!!! Kind regards Georgeene & Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We were warmly welcomed by mine host Georgeene who put us at ease straightaway.

The room was very comfortable, nice and warm.

All the facilities were to hand so we wanted for nothing.

The longe/dining area was very comfortable with a wide screen TV, books and magazines etc.

The breakfast was superb and served piping hot.

The location was ideal being just 5 minutes walk away from the centre of Windermere and the same in the other direction to Bowness and the lake and all that it had to offer.

All in all we had a very pleasant stay and would recommend the Sandown to anyone wanting to visit that area of the Lake Disrict.

Room Tip: Rooms are very quiet so a good nights sleep is assured.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ARNOLD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

It was lovely meeting you both and thank you for your kind words. Hope you enjoyed the beer horace!! We all look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best Georgeene & Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews