We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visitors not disappointed!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandown Guest House
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Return visitors not disappointed!”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Sandown was every bit as good as we remember it from past stays there. It is a while since we have had a chance to return to the Lake District, but ownership of this delightful bed and breakfast guest house has stayed in the same family and it is great to see that past high standards have been maintained with the younger generation. We were made to feel very welcome by Georgeene and Mark and they were keen to help out with any local information we needed about the Lakes and Side in Turkey....but that's another story!! We would recommend Sandown to all who appreciate great hospitality, comfort and a friendly welcome...all within a few minutes walk of Bowness Marina. Thanks for a lovely weekend! Graeme & Eilish, Manchester.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a lovely review, we are just chuffed to bits that you feel we have done a good job as we know we had a hard double act to follow with Irene & George!! We really hope that you are able to get escape a little more often now and we look forward very much to welcoming you back. Thanks again Georgeene & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
52
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I booked one night at the sandown guesthouse for my husbands birthday, and absolutely loved it!! georgenne and mark were very so friendly! From the minute we arrived we were made to feel very welcome, with georgenne giving us lots of advice about where to visit and where to eat, which is very useful when you only have a limited amount of time!! The rooms were spotless, although if I could give one small criticism it would be that the air fresheners that are dotted all over the room were slightly overpowering, the breakfast was fantastic we opted for the full English which was lovely, especially the sausage! all in all a fantastic little guesthouse which I would highly reccomend!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrslanglands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words and honesty, and point noted on the air freshner! It is so nice when our guests take the time to leave reviews and we are very grateful and very much look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regrds Georgeene & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Sandown is ideally placed within walking distance of lake Windermere, Windermere itself and bowness. Plenty of wonderful places to eat within 5-10mins walk. Georgenne & Mark, the owners, are very welcoming and provide excellent knowledge of the surrounding area. Delicious breakfasts too.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review, it was nice to meet you and glad you have a good few days in thge Lakes. Hope to see you again. Regards Mark & Georgeene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed in Sandown for 5 days in July. It was great time although it way raining for 4 days. We and our little dog felt very welcome. Breakfast was good and service very professional.
Definately reccomend and come back in the future.

Monika, Mariusz and Rex

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11Monika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thanks Monika for your comments, we are glad Alex looked after you I just wish the weather could have been better for you but maybe 3rd time lucky next time! Hope Rex is feeling better soon. Regards Georgeene & Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Had a great stay at the Sandown over a weekend in June. The owners were very friendly, and made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived. The bedroom was well decorated, clean and the bed was very comfortable too.

The breakfast in the morning was great with Juice,Cereal,Full English,Toast,Jam and Tea and Coffee.

The walk into to Bowness was literally minutes so its very near to all amenities.

We had a great weekend there and would highly recommend this for your stay in the lakes

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneMac1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Many thanks Jane for your comments, we are glad you chose to stay with us Sandown and it was a pleasure to meet you both. Hope to see you again soon. Georgeene & Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We would highly recommend staying here, we stayed for three nights as a break from the city. It was an excellent location, walking distance to the lake and nearby lots of good restaurants. Mark and Georgene were very friendly and provided us with very helpful advice on the area and they even lent us maps to go walking and books on the lakes district. The room was excellent, very clean and well decorated. The breakfasts were also excellent. Thank you for a great holiday, we will be recommending to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments Laura; it was nice to meet you and we are glad that you enjoyed exploring the Lake District and your stay at Sandown. Georgeene & Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2012

A lovely guest house. Georgeene and staff were very helpful. Rooms very clean and cosy. Great breakfast. Hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Many thanks for your comments and great to meet you, maybe next time on a new motorbike!! Georgeene & Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Monties Bed and Breakfast
Monties Bed and Breakfast
#48 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Garden Guest House
Fairfield Garden Guest House
#27 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lonsdale House
Lonsdale House
#12 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oakbank House
Oakbank House
#30 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#16 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandown Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandown Guest House

Property: Sandown Guest House
Address: Lake Road | Bowness-on-Windermere, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandown is located in Bowness-on-Windermere. Guest rooms have shower en-suite, flat screen TV & free Wi-Fi. Located just a 5 minute stroll to the Lake Windermere and Bowness. Private free parking are provided. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandown Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing