We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandown Guest House
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We booked a two night stay direct with the owners, it was a lovely stay and both myself and my wife agree we had a lovely stay and will be returning, great hosts and great breakfast. You would not be disapointed if you stayed here.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

A beautiful setting and a really friendly and helpful owner.
The B&B is on the road leading between Bowness and Windemere. We went for a meal in Windermere and walked the distance in about 20 minutes, so a great location!
There was plenty of parking, and the owner came straight to the door to welcome us, show us to our room and give us some restaurant advice!
The room was small, but we didn't need anything more and were perfectly comfortable and happy. It was decorated nicely, seeming pretty new. Breakfast was also great, with lots of options and especially tasty sausages. Thanks for having us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TessBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

After staying at other hotels and guesthouses in the local area, this is by far the best value for money.

The room was warm and cosy, the owners friendly, plenty of parking and the breakfasts... well I would love to wake up to them every morning!

Location is perfect as it's only a short walk down to the heart of Bowness/the edge of the lake and the Sandown provides printed sheets with details of local works (really useful)!

This is a gem of a place and we will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rossbr71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The weekend break was booked by our children, not really children anymore, as part of our Christmas present. And what a great find! Couldn't fault it. Accomodation immaculate. Breakfast superb. Great location. Hosts and staff friendly and very helpful although they weren't able to provide us with good weather. It didn't matter though we had a thoroughly enjoyable couple of days.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pj001w5865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review, we enjoy reading our guest comments and we are so pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Georgeene & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Greeted by Mark on the Friday went through everything with us, then he recommended places to eat,in Bowness. Breakfast was very filling, Both Mark and Georgeene are a awesome couple, the rooms are absolutely immaculate, hospitality is second to none.On the business cards the 1st 3 words are Relax,Unwind,& enjoy and that's EXACTLY what you do. The wife and i will definatley be going back.

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet, and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g_teasdale72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for you review. It was a pleasure for us and so nice to meet you all. We are really pleased you had a good little break in Bowness and we look forward to welcoming you back anytime! Mark & Georgie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely owners, very helpful. Even have typed out sheets of paper with local walks on and directions. Offered to help change a flat tyre we acquired en route. Great breakfast, comfy bed, perfect location. Shower wasn't very powerful - a better shower would be a good investment but that is my only criticism!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Many thanks for your comments which we value and take on board. We hope you got home OK and got the car sorted! Good luck with all the studying!! Regards Georgeene & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed at this lovely guest house for two nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We arrived later on in the evening and was greeted by Georgeene who made us feel very welcome. She asked if we had visited the Lakes before and recommended places to eat in the area. Our room was very comfortable, nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. The whole of the place made you feel at home. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and served in a lovely room by Mark who couldn't do enough for you, thank you so much. We have stayed in some lovely places in the Lakes but this little gem has to be the best, beautiful rooms, lovely food and fantastic host what more could you ask for. This guest house is a credit to it's owners Georgeene and Mark, we will recommend it to anyone and definitely be back

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monicamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandownGuestHouse, Owner at Sandown Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review, it is so nice to read guest comments and we are very glad you had a good stay with us. We hope to see you back at Sandown in the near future. Georgeene & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,996 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
760 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cranleigh Boutique
Cranleigh Boutique
#1 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandown Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandown Guest House

Address: Lake Road | Bowness-on-Windermere, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £50 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandown is located in Bowness-on-Windermere. Guest rooms have shower en-suite, flat screen TV & free Wi-Fi. Located just a 5 minute stroll to the Lake Windermere and Bowness. Private free parking are provided. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandown Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing